2009 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews

2009 Jeep Wrangler

$10,814 - $22,582  MSRP Range
2009 Jeep Wrangler

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

35 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Jeep Wrangler?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Jeep Thing

by Jeeper from Florida on Wed Jun 01 2011

I have a 2009 Jeep Wrangler X and I've added a 3" Teraflex lift kit and 33" Pro Comp Xtreme M/T tires. Jeep has come a long way with the JK (2007-2011) wranglers in improving the driving experience for those who use this vehicle as their daily driver. The interior is much more spacious and the interior fixtures are nicer, but remember, this is a Jeep. If you are looking for something with good gas mileage, pick another car. My city milage is around 12-13 MPG (only 14 before I added the lift kit/ oversized tires) and I'm not an aggresive driver by any means. Highway, I've gotten around 15-16. As far as performance, you aren't going to beat many vehicles off the line but wander off the pavement and there isn't another vehicle on the market that performs at the level of this Jeep.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4dr Sahara 2007

by joe from Buffalo NY on Fri Jun 12 2009

I love this car. The looks that you get and the compliments. It feels great. I sold my 2000 ltd Cherokee and this was the perfect flip. Goods are the freedom top is easy the back seat works for adults. The 4x4 is amazing. Bad the freedom tops scratch really easy. Overall best car i have ever owned!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Jeep Wrangler

by Randy from Wilmington North Carolina on Tue May 05 2009

Just bought a 09 2 door x model with the up graded wheels,power door locks and windows.would recommend this up grade package for ever day use. Pros. you sit high and know you are in a 4x4, but the jeep does handle turns with less body role would be expected. handling is better then expected for me. i have had a number of 4x4. The ride is smooth on the open road, over bumps or hard inclines you will feel how stiff the frame and suspention is, rember it is an off road vehicle. The interior is simple and funtional,you will not have to read a manual to turn on the lights. The seats are confertible but the back one is hard to get to, I wish the front seat would travel a little more forward to let people in the back. The engine is smooth and around town with some hwy driving 16-17 mpg is reasonable for me. The soft top is much quiter then expected Cons. a little more interior storage to put the little things needed, getting into the back seats. I do not think for someone new to jeeps this is a hard comprimise, a fun vehicle to drive,good over all performance for a v6. I the wrangler is a great very good vehicleand the wife loves it, so much I do not get to dive it much

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My daughter's first vehicle and her dream vehicle.

by Jeepin from Hampton, NJ on Fri Jan 31 2020

It's a bouncy fun ride but that's what she wanted. She is very happy with it. I actually enjoy driving it as well and I'm an old man reliving childhood

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding find

by hobbin from Sparks, NV on Fri May 06 2011

I couldn't believe how clean the car was, it looked it came off of the showroom floor. Driving it home was so easy. Cars.com, did a great job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

outstanding in stock form

by bubba from florida on Thu Jun 25 2009

got my new base model X two months ago. wow! is all i can say. rides great on road and off road its hard to stop. amazing vehicle. great value. rear seat useless except for kids, but i drive it so who cares if you cant fit. lol

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Off - On road King, yet to be dethroned

by Twister & Turner from Portland, Oregon on Sun Jun 21 2020

You love these vehicles for reasons other than just owning a car. This is a statement, a ride, an experience. Its about challenge and off road ruggedness. Its about safety beyond most other cars. Its the look, the image, the all American status travelling symbol.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Runs great!

by Susanp from Keego Harbor, mi on Fri Apr 19 2019

Fun Jeep to drive! Soft top allows you to go topless in warm weather! Six speed runs great on expressways. I am only second owner. I took great care of Jeep.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best version yet

by snow jeep from Syracuse, NY on Mon Dec 15 2008

I've owned 2 previous jeeps: a '97 and an '01. This by far is the best version IMO. I opted for the sunrider soft top, and I am amazed at how much quieter it is at highway speeds as compared to the previous one. Outside, it just looks nice, with wide fenders and that famous grille. Inside, there is a noticeable increase in leg room and hip room, thanks to it's widened wheel base. The 6-speed manual is a lot of fun to drive, and there are ample nooks for storage. I can't comment yet on the operation of the soft top (winter here), but it doesn't look that different from the previous version (which was pretty easy). I traded my small, economical car in for this, and so far, am very happy with my decision. Shift-on-the-fly 4WD will be great for our Upstate NY winters, and the added Electronic Stability Program and Anti-Roll Mitigation provides improved security. Gas Mileage is pretty much in the toilet, but you have to expect that when driving a brick wall around! Overall, a beautiful vehicle and highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jeep Wrangler 2009

by Juan from Danbury CT on Sat Dec 06 2014

Make sure tires are ok, check soft top for any holes. Make sure you are ok getting into the back seat, it is a very tight space.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2009 Jeep Wrangler

Editor’s note: This review was written in July 2008 about the 2008 Jeep Wrangler. This year’s Wrangler gets standard Hill Start Assist. To see what else is new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Just as Jeep has expanded its lineup, it’s also expanded its classic Wrangler. It gains two more doors, better road manners and more creature comforts, but remains a capable offroad vehicle.

What’s good about the Jeep is its cargo area, offroad capability and Spartan interior, plus the fact that it’s unique. What’s bad about this Jeep is that it comes with a variety of interior features that might discourage some from... Read More