NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2018 Kia Optima

$10,954 - $31,834  MSRP Range
2018 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

298 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent so far

by JonInAtl from Atlanta, Ga on Sat Mar 24 2018

After a disastrous experience with a new Honda, I traded it for a 2018 Optima. I couldn’t be more pleased. The gas mileage has been averaging 33mpg on my daily commute, it’s quiet, comfortable, and I’ve has exactly zero problems or complaints. I love the interior and exterior styling, it has plenty of power, and handling is just the right combination of comfort and control. Get over the Kia stigma- they’ve caught up with, and in many ways surpassed their Japanese counterparts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

61 out of 61 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in the world

by Love314 from San Antonio,TX on Sun Jan 14 2018

This vehicle is literally the best one I’ve had yet. It’s super gas efficient and I’m just in love with the style. The best feature is the panoramic sun roof! I’m so in loveeeee!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised

by Luckyguy3122 from Chicago on Sun May 06 2018

This car far exceeded my expectations, the seats very comfortable, the ride is just right and not soft, there is plenty of legroom and head room, the acceleration lags just a bit at take off though. In the mid trim and lower models, the seats are cloth and the stereo is not great. I purchased the New S. Trim, the exterior stying is great, it comes with a panoramic sunroof that makes the car look more expensive and sporty. This trim also came with 18’ wheels that make the car look great. I came out of a compact car called Chevy Cruze, so I was concerned about gas usage, only to discover that my trim comes with an economy mode for gas savings and I’m surprised at the mileage I’m getting with it. The only thing that I don’t like is that this trim doesn’t have automatic push start, remote starter, heated seats, Harmon radio like my Chevy Cruze. The upgraded EX models has those options for about $2700-3000 more. If you’re really looking for a luxury feeling reliable midsize vehicle that won’t hurt your bank account, then your family will love the new 2018 Optima S or Ex models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great, safe and stylish Car

by PaulL from Waxhaw,, NC on Wed Nov 29 2017

This car was exactly what I was looking for in a new car. The car drives great, with plenty of room for me and my family. The options that come on the base model is mind blowing. they come standard with all the options you had to pay extra for on the 2017 and less models. I am very happy with this 2018 Kia Optima.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY OPTIMA

by M.MONTOYA from RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA on Wed Feb 07 2018

I love my 2018 KIA Optima! classy, reliable, technology, and performance at a reasonable rate! what I love most is the gas mileage, I fill up every other week and I am good to go. I choose KIA not only because the optima's are sexy, but i love knowing my 10 yr or 10000 mile warranty has my back! Being a single woman with no mechanic skills, this is very reassuring.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my 3rd Optima and it is the best!

by Sandy from BRUNSWICK OH on Tue May 22 2018

Quality ride! Very comfortable. It has great gas mileage, I went to Buffalo NY and back and still had gas. I love the UVO system!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious Roomy and Economical

by JkiBlu from Salem, Oregon on Thu May 10 2018

1st; Power Kia in Salem was by far the best team I’ve ever worked with! 2nd; my Kia Optima Sport is a luxurious roomy fun to drive but economical best car ever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3 time KIA owner

by MicheleP from Salem, OR on Fri Mar 09 2018

This car gets great gas mileage and I have never had any mechanical issues with KIAs, period. I bought a new KIA in '08, '14, and '18 and will continue to do so.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Optima

by becka06078 from Suffield, CT on Mon Apr 23 2018

I traded in my 2012 Kia Optima to get into a new 2018. The 2012 was an SX Turbo and while I did downgrade somewhat with the Optima S (it doesn't have turbo), I didn't really need the Turbo anyway. This car is plenty fast without it! My new car is comfortable, quiet, rides smooth, has a great sound system and I love that it has Apple car play. No need for navigation. You just tell Maps where you want to go and it shows up on the screen and directs you where you need to go. There is even an app called UVO, so when I park, I open the app click on parking minder. It stores where I parked the car and will guide me back to it in case I forgot where I parked. I love this car and I got a great deal on it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great value for the cost of ownership

by ken in texas from Outside Austin on Fri Jul 20 2018

i was skeptical about purchasing a mid-sized sedan. I visited with a few people that have purchased the Optima and they highly recommended this car over the Camry. My wife has driven Camry's for nearly twenty years and she now likes this Optima over her 2016 Camry. Our next purchase will be a 2019 Optima for her.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 30