Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 Optima Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2016 Kia Optima Hybrid

$12,533 - $21,221  MSRP Range
2016 Kia Optima Hybrid

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Kia Optima Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First Hybrid

by BlakeCB from Cocoa Beach on Thu Apr 06 2017

First hybrid that I have ever driven. I was worried about accelerating from a stop while on battery only, but it's so smooth and seamless. Gas mileage is awesome and it looks great too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Optima

by Deacon Nick from Gwinnett County, GA on Wed Dec 20 2017

This car packs a ton of features into a very good value price point. Heated and cooled seats, front and back. sun roof for the front seat complemented by a moon roof for the back seat!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort and reliability

by Desert Dweller from Tucson, AZ on Mon Feb 05 2018

You won't know you're driving a hybrid. This car accelerates well, is comfortable to drive and has a nice feeling ride. Roomy interior with good visibility. Gets great gas mileage and is rated for low emissions so it's good for the environment. Back seat is roomy enough for adults.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More Power Than You May Think

by Mike H from altoona, ia on Thu Mar 01 2018

When I began looking for a new car, I had to consider that this time around I'd need good gas mileage, a lengthy warranty, four doors and a low enough price as not to break the bank on something that loses value as soon as I sign the paperwork. The Kia Optima Hybrid was this car. I was impressed with the variety of features but in particular, the seamless way the motor and engine worked together to create pretty peppy car while delivering a lot of torque. It had me sold from the first test drive that I could take it on long trips to vacation or visit family without needing to stop for fuel on the way. With a full tank, my range states 561 after having driven normally and topping it off. The bells and whistles are many and I was fortunate to find a 2016 model being sold as "new". It was the dealer's loaner car. I had no issues with the already nearly 4000 miles on it due to such a long warranty. The car is just fun and it's nearly silent stops are still amazing to me. The tranny is as smooth as silk and the inline 4 cylinder (2.4L in this case) is plenty when coupled to the electric motor. The brakes are so amazing. They feel as though the car could instantly stop. This is the Premium model not the EX, the latter is the fully loaded one. Whether you buy the eco-hybrid or a gasoline powered Optima, you are getting a great car. The resale is a bit of a stinker but I don't buy a car only to sell it 3 or 4 years later - that's what a lease is for. The stereo - which I figured to be a letdown - isn't. It's average to above average quality and has plenty of sound as well as SiriusXM for those on the road trips. Very happy with it thus far but it's only been a little while. Driving a hybrid is a different animal but thankfully the learning curve isn't all that much. I'm not one to modify a car but in this case tinting the rear glass and maybe upgrading the 'bleh' REAR speakers outta do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome ride

by Teeguy from Palmdale Ca on Tue Mar 20 2018

The car meets all of my needs as of now looking forward to getting an a bigger car possibly the Sorrento Kia dealership is awesome as well as their service and parts department

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

it’s gone now

by RegiDC from Laurel, Maryland on Sun Jun 24 2018

After owning this vehicle for only a little over a year I sold it due to Kia’s poor quality. This vehicle always cracked and popped as if it were made from cheap materials. Also, it has defects the doors would randomly unlock themselves. It did get great gas miles and 200HP for a Hybrid is really decent.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kia Optima EX hybrid

by ScrappyOT from San Diego, CA on Sun Mar 19 2017

We previously had a 2013 Kia Optima LX hybrid and really wanted to have the navigation panel; so in 2016 we purchased the higher end model EX hybrid. It has many safety features and is comfortable car to sit in and just his week I was in the hospital for severe back pain and this is the only seat I found comfortable to sit in with no back spasms. We also just purchased the new 2017 Kia Niro Hybrid, as our primary car that we haven't driven that much (less than 100m miles) secondary to my going into the hospital and recuperating. But the additional safety features and being a little higher and easier to get into, was why we purchased it and I will review it after we have driven out a few hundred miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great fuel economy

by Green Tucson from Tucson, AZ on Thu Sep 28 2017

This is a comfortable car to drive. Better performance from a hybrid than I expected. Gets great mileage, about 39 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by jbruley from Minneapolis, MN on Sun Jul 16 2017

This car is a really good car for the money. While it doesn't have as much interior space as my Altima, it gets great gas mileage (being a hybrid), which is why I bought it. The styling is great, and the hybrid part of it is so flawlessly integrated into the design that you don't have to do anything. The one negative I have is that there's a very noticeable lag between the time you press down on the gas and the time the car finally reacts, which is about 1 second. This doesn't seem like much but when you're trying to pass someone it becomes somewhat annoying.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fancy

by superstar from Los Angeles on Thu Dec 03 2015

Beautiful car and what we used to pay for gas makes the payments. It's a no brainer. Way nicer than the Prius!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2