Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Rondo

Consumer Reviews

2008 Kia Rondo

$1,965 - $7,669  MSRP Range
2008 Kia Rondo

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Kia Rondo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

try it you'll like it

by cheapskate from kansas City, MO on Fri Jul 09 2010

the LX V-6 works for me. Plenty of power and automanual to boot. 23-25 mpg mixed driving. The best is the seat height...in and out without a fight. Not aloat of frills but priced accordingly. Best of all, plenty of room for my Labrador.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very nice

by davo from Chicago suburbs on Thu Jun 24 2010

have had the Odyssey and CRV for the wife. Just bought another CRV for her at upper end of budget. Did the comps on size and features and the Rondo was very close. Found a 2008 with 10,000 miles for low cost and swear its better than her CRV. Have driven the Rondo on long trips out west like Yellowstone and up in the mountains. Handled fine. One small problem, first thing in the morning the trans slips when going from low gear. Once warmed up the slipping stops. Had it checked out and they could find nothing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I really love this car

by Happy Hockey Mom from Winnipeg on Tue Apr 26 2011

Well I'm a believer.. I down sized from a Ford Windstar minivan. I pay less than 1/2 to fill the tank and I can go longer on a tank than I could with my windstar. I fit 3 kids all in separate rows & 3 hockey bags ( 1 adult goalie, & 2 player bags ). WOW! It really works. The engine is extemely quiet. Buying the Rondo is the best car buying decision I have ever made.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Steal of a Car

by Sold on Kia from Broussard,La on Sat Apr 18 2009

So far so good.Went on a trip in it and loved it.I have the LX V6 and plenty of power.For the amount I paid for it can't be beat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Little, Big Car

by Simpleton from Chicago, IL on Mon Dec 12 2011

Little on the outside, lots of room inside. Love that I have 3 rows of seats, I can have lots of people, or put down the 3rd row, and pile in the groceries. I only wish the 2nd row was movable, to give leg room to the 3rd seat. Otherwise, I wish they still made this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Never would have expected it!

by Al from Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh, PA on Sun Feb 08 2009

I was impressed with the size and room of the Kia Rondo. Traded in an 8 passenger 1998 Montana. I'm 6'3" and stiff with arthritis. No problems getting in and out of this Rondo. I got the V-6, EX, 7 passenger. It's a real fun car to drive. Handles real well in snow and has enough power on all the hills around Pittsburgh. I just hope the gas mileage improves. Maybe the 10 degree days we've been having have something to do with it. I only have 1300 miles on it so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So Comfortable, Great on Gas.

by Creepa from Macon, Ga on Sat Oct 11 2008

We rented this car and drove from Macon, Ga to Blue Ridge, Ga, and barely crossed a 1/4 of a tank. We drove around the city for a day and a half and for leaving we had a half tank still left. We filled up again and drove back towards Atlanta, Ga taking a detour through Conyers, Ga and back to Macon. We hit Macon with a little above a half tank. All told from Macon to Blue Ridge to Conyers to Macon it took $70. 400 +/- miles. And the thing is so comforable its amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing

by Smax from NYNY on Thu Sep 04 2008

great room, options and you can't beat the warranty or price, absolutly amazing third row seating and package

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for trip

by Traveler from Kingston, PA on Thu May 08 2008

Just returned from trip from PA to FL. Got 33mpg and had no trouble at all. Carried lots of luggage and had plenty of room. Seats were comfortable for long haul and never had driver fatigue. Perfect small family vehicle. Good on gas and easy to maneuver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wish Kia would reintroduce the Rondo

by tALLmAN from So. Weymouth, MA on Tue Mar 10 2015

Rented an '09 LX in Phoenix and loved it! 6'7" tall and I fit very comfortably. Have now owned a 2007 EX V6 for 3 years. Tons of pep. Averaging 22 mpg. Heated leather. Great stereo. Handles like a sports car. Just wish dome light would work when opening back hatch. I'd buy a brandy new one if they came back. Love this little vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Kia Rondo


A faltering economy and robust fuel prices are certainly taking their toll on the automotive environment. Everyone, from major car companies to local dealerships, are feeling the heat.

For average drivers, especially those with big families or young families, there's a whole new way of looking at their people movers. Money may be tight but they still favor a vehicle that has plenty of seats while also being inexpensive, fuel efficient, safe, reliable and comfortable. Not too ugly, either.

Tall order, and the void left by no-longer-desirable mammoth SUVs is hard to fill. For many people, even the standard-issue minivan is looking big and bulbous and wasteful.

Here's where Kia Rondo fits in with a... Read More