2002 Sedona

Consumer Reviews

2002 Kia Sedona

$1,172 - $4,440  MSRP Range
2002 Kia Sedona

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

12 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Kia Sedona?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Superb Van For A Busy Man

by Subabi from Oyster Bay, New York on Fri Apr 27 2012

I had always thought Kia cars were bland and unexciting. Not anymore! I had a limited budget when I bought my Sedona. My kids love this minivan. Reliability is E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T! The V6 engine is strong and the Kia is a lot of fun to drive. In my opinion, the original Sedona is MUCH BETTER than today's model. Quite impressive!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

last kia

by oklahoman from Oklahoma City, OK on Thu Aug 03 2006

bought my sedonna brand new - and had problems within just a few months - at first all the problems were fixed with no problem but the closer to the warranty ending the longer it began to take to get the van fixed. problems include bad cd player, broken sun visor, alternator, air coditioner compressor, gas pump and various engine problems regarding the gas intake and acceleration - stalling problems. there have been numerous recalls and patches this vehicle has required. I will never buy another first year model again - better to get a vehicle that has had the bugs worked out of it.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Least Reliable Car I Have Ever Owned

by sooner or bust from okc on Mon Jul 14 2008

leaked anti freeze all over the place and the radiator over heated and the engine block cracked plus the ac broke down a week earlier so i sold it and bought an new charger

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very good for growing family

by Family Guy from Memphis, TN on Mon Jan 15 2007

Bought with another child on the way and in desperate need of a SAFE vehicle with more room. Looked at the competition, but for the price and safety considerations the Sedona was the absolute best choice. Surprising power for a minivan, does not disappoint when in need of that little extra to get by.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

family van

by sedona2002 from va on Thu Jun 04 2009

i owned sedona from one year.we drove 8000 miles.i bought it beause very cheap to buy compare to other vans.since one year i have changed alternator and battery.sedona 2002 to 2005 good for short trips but not for long trips.gas mileage not good in city.cargo space not enough if your kids using stroller.driving and handling are good.but its worth of money as a used van.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

5 star safety rating

by joykol from Tucson, Arizona on Wed Aug 30 2006

One owner, clean, 43.000, 6 captain chairs, rear air, luggage rack, all power, keyless entry, dark tinted windows, new tires, good gas mileage, very comfortable family van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Buy, Very Reliable

by Sassy Chic from Independence, OR on Wed Jan 03 2007

After owning a Sedona for 3 years I find myself very sad to let mine go. It has been a wonderful car and I love driving it. One of the best cars I have owned. I am only parting with it because it can not be side converted for a wheelchair ramp access. Alas, much loved van.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

I used this car for 10 years.

by R. LaBelle from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Fri Dec 22 2017

It had great performance. Easy to drive. It was a real hauler. It has a trailer hitch which we used to haul our 25 ft I/O Boat.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned for 17 years. Great,reliable family van.

by Harmonious from LA on Sun Jul 29 2018

Great reliability, comfort, value and original warranty. Smooth ride like a sedan. Adequate power even to tow a small boat or trailer. Many long road trips with the family enjoyed over 17 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

don't buy a kia

by Kia Hater from Florida on Wed Jan 03 2007

As soon as it was out of warranty, it fell apart. The alternator went, the a/c had to have major work. It started leaking power steering fluid, leaking oil and leaking in the rack and pinion. A heater hose got a leak in it and they had to remove part of the engine to replace it. BIG BUCKS! Kia won't let anyone else make most of their parts so you have to buy it from them and they charge 3/4 times for the parts. Beware.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Kia Sedona

Tell folks your ride is a Kia, and they're likely to arch an eyebrow.

Then a faint glimmer of recognition - ah, the pint-sized SUV - Sportage. Nope. Oh, yeah, that new Optima sedan. Wrong again, weak link.

The last thing with which they're likely to associate the name is a minivan, for this is the first minivan to originate in South Korea, Kia's home, and was just introduced for the 2002 model year. It's not mini in the sense of tiny, either, but rather in the accepted sense of garageable, unlike those things that make runs to the airport.

In size, the Sedona lies between the standard-wheelbase Dodge Caravan and the extended wheel-base version of that archetypal soccer-mom mount.

To which, it... Read More