2017 Sorento

Consumer Reviews

2017 Kia Sorento

$14,489 - $39,858  MSRP Range
2017 Kia Sorento

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

417 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Kia Sorento?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 417 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Kia SXL AWD Limited

by dxz from Sevierville, TN on Mon Mar 13 2017

Every thing works excellently. The adaptive cruise control does an excellent job of maintaining the distance between me and the car in front of us, even as vehicles change lanes passing in front of me. We get the quiet smooth ride we prefer using the ECO mode all the time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy with my Kia 2017 Sorento Purchase

by kingeiwng from Waukegan, IL on Fri Mar 10 2017

Excellent vehicle. Exceptional value. With the upgraded leather interior you feel like you are inside a high end SUV. Sporty yo the eye, great performance, and comfortable ride with great technology options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very well made car.

by lewisakron from Martinez, ga on Wed Mar 29 2017

Six months old and not even one problem. Traded my 2014 Kia soul. It didn't have enough cargo space. Sorento has plenty. It sounds very solid when closing doors. Got the base engine, but it seems fast enough (see 2014 kia soul acceleration data).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb design execution on interior and exterior

by Endurance67 from Monument, Colorado on Tue Apr 04 2017

I was a very happy customer of 2015 Hyundai Santa Fe ( 3 rows ), with 36K miles. Didn't need the 3rd row anymore, yet wanted the same high quality SUV, in a slightly smaller package, and with same great warranty. It should be stated that none of this would have worked without high trade-in value for the 2015 Santa Fe. After considerable time spent exploring the many vehicle options, the 2017 Kia Sorento was the best overall choice. The fit and finish is remarkable; as good if not better than Toyota or Mercedes, and the four cylinder engine works just fine on the roads of Colorado. Finally, the interior and exterior design looks to have come from one of the Italian automotive design studios. Overall, terrific value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what I wanted

by Ldopester from Waukegan on Sun Apr 09 2017

Needed a 3rd row suv to fit our growing family. After reading reviews and consumer reports decided on the 2017 Sorento. Couldn't be happier with the decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'17 Sorento

by Tony C from Milwaukee WI on Wed Apr 26 2017

No SUV can touch it for the price. You can get a 6 cylinder for the price of a 4 cylinder, plus you get 3rd row seating.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A value Proposition

by Eric S from Tampa, FL on Fri Apr 07 2017

The 2017 Sorento SXL is an amazing car for the money. I was all set to purchase a Lincoln MKX or Volvo XC90 until I saw their reliability ratings on Consumer Reports. The Kia Sorento SXL offered me 99% of the features/technology of those cars for approximately $15,000 less AND better than average reliability. All in a great looking car. It's a win win!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I've owned

by TJones from Elizabethtown, PA on Mon Mar 27 2017

I've only had the vehicle for 2 weeks, but so far I LOVE it! It has so much power and drives so smoothly. The infotainment system is easy to use and the sound system is great, even though it's the standard package. Actual gas milage is has been 22/17 which is awesome for the V6 (For comparison, I traded in a 2015 Sportage with the 2.4l 4-cyl, it got 22/19). The headlights really should be HID or LED and the tail lights really should be LED, that's what kept it from a 5-star exterior. I'm really missing movable pedals to customize the driving experience and make it 5-star comfort.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by JoeDar72 from Davenport FL on Fri Mar 24 2017

Best car I have ever owned by far. We wanted a bigger car and wanted better gas mileage then getting a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome ! We love it!

by KIA fan!! from Buckeye, AZ on Wed Apr 05 2017

We are so glad we found this car!! We are so happy ! The sales representative was so nice -- our whole buying process was easy ! All the staff was great! Would recommend to all our friends!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 42

Our Take on the 2017 Kia Sorento

The verdict:

The 2016 Kia Sorento is an all-star family-hauler with standout styling and a comfortable, feature-filled cabin; pleasant road manners are marred by minor imperfections.

Versus the competition:

The Sorento competes against two-row SUVs like the Ford Edge, Nissan Murano and Jeep Grand Cherokee; compare all four here. If you want a third row, compare the Sorento instead with the Chevrolet Traverse and Honda Pilot, though the Kia is smaller than those models.

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2015 about the 2016 Sorento, but little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

When shopping for a large family vehicle, you have more options than there are germs in a preschool classroom, from two- or three-row SUVs to what's likely the subject of many marital counseling sessions: the love-it-or-hate-it minivan. Kia's newest SUV blends attributes of all these with versatile seating for five or seven, a generous cargo area and plenty of creature comforts for carpooling, road trips and everything in between.

For 2016... Read More