2017 Sorento

Consumer Reviews

2017 Kia Sorento

$12,110 - $27,386  MSRP Range
2017 Kia Sorento

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

474 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Kia Sorento?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 474 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy with my Kia 2017 Sorento Purchase

by kingeiwng from Waukegan, IL on Fri Mar 10 2017

Excellent vehicle. Exceptional value. With the upgraded leather interior you feel like you are inside a high end SUV. Sporty yo the eye, great performance, and comfortable ride with great technology options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very well made car.

by lewisakron from Martinez, ga on Wed Mar 29 2017

Six months old and not even one problem. Traded my 2014 Kia soul. It didn't have enough cargo space. Sorento has plenty. It sounds very solid when closing doors. Got the base engine, but it seems fast enough (see 2014 kia soul acceleration data).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb design execution on interior and exterior

by Endurance67 from Monument, Colorado on Tue Apr 04 2017

I was a very happy customer of 2015 Hyundai Santa Fe ( 3 rows ), with 36K miles. Didn't need the 3rd row anymore, yet wanted the same high quality SUV, in a slightly smaller package, and with same great warranty. It should be stated that none of this would have worked without high trade-in value for the 2015 Santa Fe. After considerable time spent exploring the many vehicle options, the 2017 Kia Sorento was the best overall choice. The fit and finish is remarkable; as good if not better than Toyota or Mercedes, and the four cylinder engine works just fine on the roads of Colorado. Finally, the interior and exterior design looks to have come from one of the Italian automotive design studios. Overall, terrific value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A value Proposition

by Eric S from Tampa, FL on Fri Apr 07 2017

The 2017 Sorento SXL is an amazing car for the money. I was all set to purchase a Lincoln MKX or Volvo XC90 until I saw their reliability ratings on Consumer Reports. The Kia Sorento SXL offered me 99% of the features/technology of those cars for approximately $15,000 less AND better than average reliability. All in a great looking car. It's a win win!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'17 Sorento

by Tony C from Milwaukee WI on Wed Apr 26 2017

No SUV can touch it for the price. You can get a 6 cylinder for the price of a 4 cylinder, plus you get 3rd row seating.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what I wanted

by Ldopester from Waukegan on Sun Apr 09 2017

Needed a 3rd row suv to fit our growing family. After reading reviews and consumer reports decided on the 2017 Sorento. Couldn't be happier with the decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I've owned

by TJones from Elizabethtown, PA on Mon Mar 27 2017

I've only had the vehicle for 2 weeks, but so far I LOVE it! It has so much power and drives so smoothly. The infotainment system is easy to use and the sound system is great, even though it's the standard package. Actual gas milage is has been 22/17 which is awesome for the V6 (For comparison, I traded in a 2015 Sportage with the 2.4l 4-cyl, it got 22/19). The headlights really should be HID or LED and the tail lights really should be LED, that's what kept it from a 5-star exterior. I'm really missing movable pedals to customize the driving experience and make it 5-star comfort.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love the car I hate the recalls.

by John B from Timonium,Md. on Fri Jan 18 2019

We love the car it sits us high seats are great.Lot of room front an back. On the road very comfortable MPG is not bad for the size of this vehocle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A really awesome vehicle for the money

by Sorento Joe from Lynchburg, Va. on Thu Sep 19 2019

This little SUV is amazing in its versatility and comfort. Exceptionally smooth ride and great road handling. The V6 is very strong and reliable. I tow a small trailer with ease. Awd performs well. 50K on it so far and no concerns. My family really enjoys this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Did Not Expect a Kia To Deliver This Much

by Victor J Massad from Hamburg, PA on Tue Feb 19 2019

We needed a vehicle with a third row seat and AWD because my wife hauls our teen's sports teams all over the region, sometimes in snow. After narrowing the choices down to the Hyandai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento, we went with the Kia. We have driven it about 30K miles so far with no problems. We find it sufficiently roomy, with plenty of pep when needed, and surprisingly reliable (we assumed it would be more finicky than the RAV4 we traded in, but so far find it far more reliable than the Toyota).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 48

Our Take on the 2017 Kia Sorento

The verdict:


The 2016 Kia Sorento is an all-star family-hauler with standout styling and a comfortable, feature-filled cabin; pleasant road manners are marred by minor imperfections.

Versus the competition:


The Sorento competes against two-row SUVs like the Ford Edge, Nissan Murano and Jeep Grand Cherokee; compare all four here. If you want a third row, compare the Sorento instead with the Chevrolet Traverse and Honda Pilot, though the Kia is smaller than those models.

Editor’s note: This review was written in April 2015 about the 2016 Sorento, but little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

When shopping for a large family vehicle, you have more options than there are germs in a preschool classroom, from two- or three-row SUVs to what’s likely the subject of many marital counseling sessions: the love-it-or-hate-it minivan. Kia’s newest SUV blends attributes of all these with versatile seating for five or seven, a generous cargo area and plenty of creature comforts for carpooling, road trips and everything in between.

... Read More