2008 Spectra

Consumer Reviews

2008 Kia Spectra

$1,971 - $7,119  MSRP Range
2008 Kia Spectra

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

23 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Kia Spectra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Good car for the price

by Visitor from on Wed May 06 2009

I have rented and driven this car for almost two months. My experience was very positive. Considering the price of the car you get pretty much everything you get from more favourite brands. I had 27mpg in the city. I think the performance was very good as well. I had two long trips and although it is a small car the trips were very comfortable. This is a smart buyers car with good price, good performance and good reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car for my daughter

by Rex from Clayton on Fri Sep 25 2009

Bought the car for my daughter. She loves it. Great on gas, appears to be very safe and a good car for the money. Not a sports car by any means.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't beat the value here!

by Mechanic Scott from Charlotte, NC on Wed Jan 07 2009

Kia's quality is now close to Honda and Toyota. It's like buying a Toyota 15 years ago. Not as good as todays but good indeed. And considering the price for a Matrix or Vibe (same drive trane)there is no comparison, they package that Kia gives for the price can't be beat. Saving 4 thousand and the warranty is better than either of the other 2. This is a no brainer, get the Kia's while they are still value priced.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not so comfy beware lower back pain!!!

by would buy again...but!!! from Troy ,ny on Thu Mar 20 2014

I have had my kia spectra 2008 new and found it to be very reliable. HOWEVER, I have found the seats very hard on my lower back. The seats are TOO firm, and the edges of the front seats bulge out towards the front of the car, leaving little room for your actual back to make contact with the seat back, resulting in a void down by the lower back. The seat is also tipped at an weird angle, so there is no support behind your lower back, and your shoulder blades are pushed forward. RESULT: back pain, esp on long trips!!! The gas mileage is not too good, esp for such a small car. I get 24 mpg overall, and barely 30 (28-29) on the highway. I purchased this car new, it was only $1,000 less than a civic, My back hurt so much I went to trade it in after 4 months, but could not since the resale value on the car SUCKED! They wanted to give me $8,000-9,000 on a trade for a car that cost me $17,000 only 4 months before! The good news: the car has been very reliable. I have replaced the radiator, the battery, and the front struts, and 1 O2 sensor. That has been all , and I have just under 167,000 miles on the car. So to recap: Dependable car, unimpressive gas mileage, uncomfy seat esp on long trips, bad trade in value.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More dependable than a Honda by far

by jon from Henrietta, Tx on Tue Apr 01 2014

We own a 2006 Kia Spectra. Bought new. Nothing has gone wrong with it. We've only had to change oil and fluids. The clutch still works beautifully. It currently has 270,000 miles and gaining because of highway trips. It still runs like a brand new car. The downside is the cd player stopped working. And I will agree with the comfort of the seats. They could pose a problem with the lower back region. Personally, I use a pillow. I highly recommend this car for its value and overall dependability and options.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great bang for the buck

by MKPD from Long Island on Mon Feb 22 2010

Needed a car for my son. This car provided safety features found in much more expensive vehicles. The body style is contemporary, the inside is neat, useful and stylish for the price. Decent though not too quick acceleration, which is a good thing for a teen. Gas mileage is pretty good as well for commuting to college. MP3 aux. jack and CD/MP3 player is a plus for young drivers. Last thing is the mostly transferable warranty. Would definitely recommend

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value!

by NickelD24 from Cedar Rapids, IA on Tue May 24 2011

I bought the car with 12k miles so it still had the bumper-to-bumper. It's been great! Better mpg than rated - 33-36mpg. Fun to drive! Quiet, comfortable and zippy!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car owned to depend on hands down

by 70 year old driver from 1955 from New Mexaco on Mon Feb 15 2016

Bought new at less than 40 miles on OD. Started out w/28 MPG and increased to 35 MPG local city driving within 1500 miles. Have 108000 miles and still same MPG. Highway MPH at 70+, I get 50+ MPG. I have never had a car or PU to give these kind of mileages ! My last tire mileage was over 79000 Mi for 4 tires. I have replaced only three batteries in seven years. Several pair of windshield wipers (not cars fault). Have never had this kind of service from the many cars ever owned! (My MPG as reported was, with 4 adults and AC turned on at 70+ MPA for 150 Miles Driven two ways + 1/4 gas used) !

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 4th Kia and still buying them

by Ollld Dave from RI on Thu Jun 30 2011

This is my fourth Kia. They are a very good little cars and are very dependable. Just change the oil and go. I can't find anything about the car that I don't like. For the money, it is a great value. I will keep buying them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

REview your Kia Spectra

by A Dissaponted owner from Texas on Tue Jul 29 2008

I have owned this car for 7 months and I have been almost 8 times in the dealership always trying to fix something. Cheap is expensive......

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Kia Spectra


Kia has come an awfully long way in a short period, moving from a brand that was pretty much nobody's first choice -- you bought a Kia if you couldn't afford, or get a loan for, a Honda or a Toyota -- to a brand that is a genuine no-excuses alternative.

Like most of Kia's lineup, there's nothing spectacular about the Spectra, but there's nothing wanting, either. Handsome, if not particularly distinctive, the SX test car was dressed up with handsome alloy wheels, shod with wider-than-usual P205/50R-16 radials, rear spoiler and side body cladding.

Based on the same platform as the last-generation Hyundai Elantra, the Spectra is a right-sized car that's comfortable for four, passable for five, with a... Read More