2004 Freelander

Consumer Reviews

2004 Land Rover Freelander

$2,900 - $2,900  MSRP Range
2004 Land Rover Freelander

Review Score

3.4 out of 5 stars

3.4

18 Reviews
61% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Land Rover Freelander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Underappreciated & rare SUV gem

by i95 from Washington DC on Tue Apr 26 2011

Among the rarest of the Land Rover's recent American offspring, the FreeLander (especially after the 2004 design update) is a greatly under-appreciated SUV. Timeless styling allows the 2004 FreeLander to remain looking as classy today as it did when it rolled out of the factory 7 years ago. This perfectly sized small SUV is very well built and feels solidly 'of-a-piece'. Materials are high quality and wear well; my 2004 still looks factory fresh (& never garaged). Gas mileage is OK (about 18 city/22 highway) and "get up & go" performance is only adequate. But once at speed, the Free Lander cruises solidly at high mph (75+) with a reserve of power still remaining. The only situation where I regularly off-road is driving on the beach and the FreeLander has always returned me to pavement without any drama. I've had zero mechanical problems with my Land Rover during the 7 years I've driven it. My only major complaints are (1) having to replace the brake pads every 17,000 miles (and I drive 'easy')...and (2) factory recommends belt replacements @ 72,000 miles that costs big $$$$. But I must end by re-emphasizing how pleased I've been with my FreeLander over 7 years of ownership. At the time of purchase, all the car reviews were at best, fair to poor. And if I knew how to spell the sound of giving someone a raspberry/bronx cheer, you'd be reading it now!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Ever

by Land Rover Rocks from Phoenix, AZ on Thu Mar 04 2010

I have so much fun with this vehicle. I drive it everywhere in the city and on the trails. I did have an engine replaced at 27k miles but it was all covered under warranty. 50k miles later and no problems ever. If you take moderate care of them it will take care of you. Some people got bad ones but my Freelander Rocks. Would buy it again in a heartbeat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Never again

by Ge from on Sun Jan 20 2013

I was so excited when I purchased my Freelander and I was quickly disappointed. The manifold had to be replaced and paid over $1,200. Six months after the engine over heated and had to fix it which was costly as well. The radiator fluid leaked constantly even after repairing it and I was afraid to drive it as I didn't want to be stranded. No dealer wanted it as a trade in. Never Again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

biggest piece of junk i've ever owned

by lee from canada on Sat Nov 25 2006

One electrical problem after another...good thing for warranty or i would be broke! It is comfortable driving and has great handling though...the rear window wiper button is in the wrong place as are the cupholders.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little suv

by smiler maker from Seattle, WA on Thu Nov 17 2011

great little suv! I am the original owner and hve gone off road once and was VERY surprised at how capable this little guy was. It's been on long trips and has always been comfortable on those veryt long drives. The only reason I have sold the truck is because I got the LR3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Land Rover Freelander

by MAC 101 from El Paso TX. on Fri Sep 03 2010

The SUV has a good comfort and the performance on highway is very good and the value of the SUV it worth it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent ride

by 4x4 lover from SAeattle, WA on Thu Nov 17 2011

This has been a very fun truck to drive. Always very capable in any driving condition. i have only taken it off road once and it performed exquisitely. I am the original owner and have had the truck for 7 years without a hitch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY

by DontBuy from on Sun Feb 28 2010

This car is terrible. If you are thinking of buying a Freelander, do your homework. A Web search will reveal all you need to know about coolant leaks, transmission problems, and engine replacements. I had a 2004 Freelander, it spent as much time in the shop as it did on the road. I traded it in as soon as the warrantee ran out.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Biggest rip-off for the money

by Mrs. B. from Paterson, NJ on Tue Jan 16 2007

If you want a headache, then buy a Land Rover Freelander. If you want to live in the service department, buy a Freelander. If you want to purchase an SUV that you will have to rebuild shortly after you purchase it, then yes, buy a Freelander. Hey there is nothing wrong with replacing, heating fans, speakers, sunroof control, wires and some other things a few times, hey there is surely nothing wrong with putting in a NEW TRANSMISSION, having the car towed at lease 2 times. Nothing wrong with not being able to put the SUV in gear (you know PARK) or surely nothing wrong with not being able to start the car. (Lets see, have transmission put in on Monday, pick it up on Thursday evening, back at shop on Friday (cant put in park) get car back on Friday evening, go on vacation, come back start car, move car, come back later to move car, wont start, have car towed on Monday). So dont for get these are warranty items so there will be no charge to you, but lets talk what you do have to pay for. Oil change once a year over $225.00 and dont forget the brakes that have to be changed every year along with the rotors so this too is over $250.00 and dont forget that even after the brakes are done, YOU STILL HAVE PROBLEMS with the brakes. So if you want a reliabe car, dont buy a FREELANDER, if you want good performance, dont buy a FREELANDER

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best offroad car i've owned

by offroad master from New York, NY on Sun Sep 19 2010

best car i've owned, its powerful and compacted. Its just like a small version of a Rang Rover. the only bad thing about the car is the fuel economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Land Rover Freelander

Regal and Still Rugged
2004 Land Rover Freelander

The 2002 Land Rover Freelander was a disappointment. The 2003 model was no better.

I feel sorry for the people who bought those vehicles, which -- for reasons of lackluster exterior design and econo-truck comfort -- were not up to snuff.

Consumers would have done better to wait for the 2004 Freelander, a compact sport-utility vehicle that is superior to its predecessor models in every way.

That includes superiority in value.

For example, the new Freelander HSE, the top of the Freelander line, has a price of $28,995, compared with $32,200 for the 2003 model. The base 2004 Freelander SE is priced at $25,995, compared with $28,400 for... Read More