1999 ES 300

Consumer Reviews

1999 Lexus ES 300

$356 - $7,744  MSRP Range
1999 Lexus ES 300

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1999 Lexus ES 300?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A very good reliable car

by lexus owner from Virginia on Mon Nov 08 2010

I am still driving at 150,000 miles with no problems, orginal everything except tires and oil changes every 7,500 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car for the price

by matt from on Thu Dec 20 2012

very nice to drive to drive. reliable and easy to handle. clean and comfortable. it is worth every dollar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sought after body style and engine.

by ReviewMan on Tue Mar 13 2018

"The look, the feel, and the reliability of the ES 300..." This automobile is easily ranked in the 'Top 50' of all luxury cars that were mass produced. If you're ever in the market for a used dependable vehicle, purchase one of these. Disregard the mileage, they run forever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth and reliable-always.

by LexyLexus from PA on Tue Mar 01 2011

Everyone I have ever met has said the same thing. "Never had a bad Lexus" Anyone who has had one(bad), must not be a very smart buyer. As long as you get it from someone reputable, then you will never have any major problems with them. Had mine for three years, and only put the absolute minimum into it. Runs like new, and feels like new. It's runs so smooth and quiet, that there are times I forget the car is on. Amazing cars!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever bought

by Indy driver from Indianapolis on Fri Jun 04 2010

In 2009, I purchased this car; it was the first time I ever bought a 10-year old car! It's been one of the best I've ever owned. Drives like new. Always reliable. Plush interior, everything works well, with exception of squeak in steering column, which my mechanic lubes every six months. Lexus is everything is says it is!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus is a good car to owned

by Joe from philly on Thu Sep 23 2010

Lexus is the best car I ever had and runs really good. good body shape and when you have a Lexus, girls all come to you. It speed up fast and smooth, great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drove it to 272,000 miles

by Scam Buster from Scottsdale on Wed Sep 13 2017

Said I would drive this car into the ground, and I did. Only regret was power flushing the Transmission which turned out to be a huge mistake at Firestone Service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 Lexus ES300 which was the most reliable car o

by LEXUS 1999 ES300 PHANITIC from South jersey on Tue Mar 20 2018

I still to this day feel and do beleive that my 1999 Lexus ES300 was the most reliable vehicle that inhave ever owned. The vehicle had 210 horse power and back then that was alote of power coming from a 6 cylinder engine. The vehicle worked off variable times with intelligence which meant that the vehicle learned your driving style after driving the car for only about 5-15 miles. The engine along with electronics meaning computer systems helped maximize engine all the way down time brakes and.alsonthe transmission basically the vehiclenwlafter learning yourndricing habbits it actually helped make the engine not work as hard bc you 1 would not habe to ofnthe pedal to.the metal bc the vehicle helped you drive normally do out you having to push the vehicle to.its limits. Also the vehicle was the.best reliable normal oil changes every 5,000 miles along with tire rotations and every 30k you would habe more serious services but by doing so the vehicle did last over 200,000 miles. I ended up selling the vehicle to friend bc he knew how I services and treated my vehicle and he aactually still has the vehicle as. Run around vehicle and the vehicle does still look great bc when owned the vehicle I waxed and washed the vehicle religiously so cosmetically stilp looks great. The only issue he had with the vehiclenwasna rear main seal leak and Also a few o2 sensors which is normal ober time does go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Really disappointed

by marshman202 from Wilmington NC on Mon Nov 26 2012

At first, I was really excited about the vehicle. After all it is a Lexus. It was checked out by a trusted mechanic - said it looked great. I've replaced six coils, the transmission, the cat converter, evap issues, and still the CEL is on. Now, I've got to get the timing belt replaced, along with the cam sensors(?). I feel like I've paid for this twice now- and it wasn't cheap the first time. REALLY DISAPPOINTED.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worse car I've ever owned

by Average Joe from Mid-Willamette Valley Oregon on Thu Apr 29 2010

Can't keep it out of the repair shop. Mechanics cannot locate the electrical problem, including Lexus dealer. Styling is cooker cutter contemporary. Car is too small for a six foot driver. Why did I buy it? It was a quick emergency buy and made a wrong decision.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2