2002 ES 300

Consumer Reviews

2002 Lexus ES 300

$2,110 - $8,430  MSRP Range
2002 Lexus ES 300

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

37 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Lexus ES 300?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Bill from NY, NY on Wed Nov 20 2013

What else can I say. I bought this car in 2003, used with 11k miles. The check engine light went on twice, once because of a sensor that needed replacing, covered by the warranty, the second time, no reason for the light to have been activated. Unfortunately they still charged me the basic fee to run a diagnostic, but fortunately there was no reason for the light to appear. Moving past that....if i told you the car drove as good today (119k miles) as it did the day I test drove it, would you believe me?Well it does.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Maine Ride

by Maineiac from Vacationland, ME on Mon Sep 08 2014

I bought my 2002 ES300 in 2004 and have driven it daily. At the time it had only 28,000 miles on it. I have not had to do anything to this awesome vehicle besides regular maintenance (oil changes, tires, brakes). It just keeps on running. I just changed my timing belt and water pump at 168,000 - not because anything was wrong, only because the mechanic that did the annual inspection for my sticker said it was recommended maintenance at 90k -100k. I probably could have driven it to 200k or more but didn't want to chance it. TO THE PERSON THAT SAID THE TRANSMISSIOINS ON THESE CARS WERE JUNK: You probably don't own this car. I've never had a transmission problem in 10 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car ever

by Kam from Chicago, IL. on Sun Jun 22 2014

Bought this car in 2009 with 50 k miles. still driving and didn't do except oil change, brakes and tires once. This car never breaks, very comfortable, very quiet, still get 29 MPG on highways, 24 combined. Wanted to buy a newer car, but figured I would loose a lot, not worth buying a smaller car and still make $250 + in car payment. Its a keeper, I know I can drive it for another several years with no worries.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hands down the best car I've owned.

by Dan from Ontario on Mon May 11 2015

I'm starting the process of replacing this car. I've had it for 10 years, its now at 340,000kms. The Cat just failed as did the muffler -both original equipment. Over the years, I've replaced front shocks but very little else other than brakes and tires. A few annoying things failed in the last few years - one of the spring loaded retractable cup holders broke and at $300 was too expensive to replace. Rust wasn't a problem until the last year - live in the north where salt is heavily used and the car finally started to show its age - had some serious bubbles develop on the front door frames. A headlight leveller failed and it wasn't worth replacing that. Mileage was always consistent and the car still drives likes it new. Seats have held up well. The features are great but I can't seem to find much use for the cassette deck any more! CD player has always worked well. So I'm shopping for another one - if its anything like this car - it could be the last car I own!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Its like I won the Lottery

by Richardfab from Van Nuys, Ca on Thu May 25 2017

I bought my 2002 ES300 in 10/2016 and it had 48,000 miles on it. What a steal and a gift from the car Gods. It is by far the best car I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and Reliable

by dpomano from Tyngsboro on Sat Mar 04 2017

The most reliable and the best looking car I've ever owned. No one does reliable like Lexus. A cross country road trip in one of these is heavenly. Has never gone out of style either.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dealer strong recommendation

by Tokyo Joe from Bellevue, WA on Wed Dec 02 2015

I bought the car new in February 1962. In November 2008, the dealer recommended the timing belt and water pump be changed (6 years or 70K). The car had 23,480 miles on the odometer. This service is listed in the Lexus owner's handbook. I had the service done in June 2009 with 25,150 miles on the odometer. In June 2015, this service was recommended again (6 years had passed). The car had 39,760 on the odometer. In 6 years the car had been driven 14,610 miles and they want to do the service again. No way I am going to get pressured into doing this again. I will drive the car until the belt fails or the water pump starts to leak.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the very best cars ever produced

by kareni33 from Arcadia,CA on Mon Oct 02 2017

Great vehicle all around, everyday drive or weekend. Super reliable, the best vehicle you can drive to a long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car with over 200,000 miles

by Robin Harris from Harper Woods on Wed Aug 16 2017

Great car, smooth luxury ride without the cost. Long as you keep update with maintenance on your vehicle you will have this car a long, long time. Holds up very well...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable for a 2002

by Lexus Fan from Lansing, MI on Sat Apr 22 2017

Bought this used at 150k miles. Once you hit about 160k issues start popping up and you will have to spend more money than its worth to fix the car. Reliable enough to commute with but not a car you would want to push to its limits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4