2001 GS 300

Consumer Reviews

2001 Lexus GS 300

$1,183 - $7,995  MSRP Range
2001 Lexus GS 300

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

7 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Lexus GS 300?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by LexOwnr from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Jan 05 2012

I purchased a 2001 used Lexus GS300 with about 50k miles on it. I purchased it about 7 years ago and I can honestly say it is the best car ever. It is super reliable. I give it the scheduled maintenance and I have not spent a dime on repairs. Gas mileage and ride comfort are great. You cant ask for a better car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Vlad from IL on Tue Nov 27 2007

A refined and elegant car since its early-1990s inception, the midsize Lexus GS 300 sedan always came up short in the personality department. Partly, this was a problem of perception. Lexus initially promoted the rear-wheel-drive GS as a legitimate competitor to the elite European sport sedans, but the car's soft suspension, over-assisted steering and sluggish powertrain said otherwise. The fact that it cost just as much as its German rivals certainly didn't do it any favors either. As a luxury sedan, the Lexus GS 300 was more convincing, particularly the third-generation model, which could be loaded with all the latest technology and upscale amenities. Cabin materials were typically of high quality, and everything was put together with exacting precision. Add in an outstanding reliability record and it's no surprise all three generations of the GS 300 proved popular with consumers, despite the fact that the automotive press never fully warmed to it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!!

by MzDi from Ca. on Wed Mar 23 2011

Wonderful car with very little problems. My car is going on 200,000 miles and no major repairs. Would recommend to anyone who wants a Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Lovin' Lexus from IN on Mon Jun 09 2008

One of the safest cars on the road and it is also a pleasure to drive. It is sporty, quiet, comfortable, sexy looking, dependable, and just one great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good luxury car

by Abz from DC on Sun May 10 2009

Everything about this car is great except a few items: Handling is not good; if you're driving 40~70 mph and want to miss an object in front of you (a hole/rock) or if the high way has deep turns, it won't be smooth! Other RWD vehicles handle it much better. But the ride is very very smooth and comfortable. HP / MPG ratio is close to V8 engine cars even though i have an I6. Even Avalon's V6 engine has more HP and yet better MPG despite close weight.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car very affordable

by bucsumthin from Dutchess county,NY on Sun May 16 2010

I purchased the car 2 years ago and the only major problem i've had was a waterpump. The heatsheild also rattles. I love the car mostly because it's so comfortable even with 20" wheels i can hardly tell if I hit a pothole. The suspention is a little high but I always prefer the luxury over the sport. The real wood nice touch. braking is a little hard because the weight. Handles nice but not as good as my 05 acura Tl. As long as you stay up with the scheduled oil changes and fluids this car will probably drive well into the 200k's. I currently have 134k and it drives better than any other car i've testdriven so I guess i'm keeping my lex. 1 last thing this car is a gas guzzler with the price of premium gas it's very hard to plan a road trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I Ever Owned

by Q. Washington from Atlanta on Tue Jun 26 2018

This car received the TLC that a car of this caliber deserves. This car never caused me stress and you will lucky to own it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1