2012 GX 460

Consumer Reviews

2012 Lexus GX 460

$19,036 - $32,384  MSRP Range
2012 Lexus GX 460

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Lexus GX 460?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

All that I hoped for...

by Diesel from Chicago, IL on Mon May 07 2012

I somewhat reluctantly traded in a 2004 GX470 with 125,000 miles on it for this new 2012 GX460. My trade-in was near perfect in it's performance and when I did have problems Lexus took care of me. I'm extremely happy with my choice to stay in the same Lexus platform and can vouch for their improvements on the previous generation in almost every way. The only wish I have is that the engine/transmission on the new GX had a little more uumph...even though it's a 75 BHP improvement the new GX seems a little less responsive than my old 2004 friend. Otherwise I highly recommend the GX460 and look forward to many more years as a satisfied Lexus customer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Lexus GX 460

by SUV Convert from California on Fri Jun 08 2012

Simply put this is a great SUV that gives you all the comforts inside and the power you need outside. Great choice for families that are torn between a luxury vehicle and a utility vehicle. Why settle when you can have both!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible car, comfort, reliability and safety

by maggie from BR LA on Thu Jun 12 2014

I needed a safe medium size SUV for grandchildren and a nice luxurious car for myself. The Lexus GX 460 met those needs and many more. It is comfortable has lots of extras but not so complicated that I am not able to use them and the drive is so very comfortable, not like an suv. It is truly a beautiful car and from my previous experience with Lexus I will be driving this car for awhile, dependable and classy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Thought about it

by Babs 2015 from Sun Valley Idaho on Mon Sep 07 2015

I got to drive this car as a loaner for 5 days as I considered trading in my old car to buy it. I have owned the LX470 and the RX350 and strongly considered this in between size. However the handling was really mediocre. The car was slower than the LX and the handling mushier than the RX. I liked the size of the car, but not the way the rear opened like a door-it required quite a bit of room to open it & if someone parked behind me I couldn't open it. Plus the dealer was asking too much given the limitations of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best thing on 4 wheels

by GX Fan from Utah on Wed Oct 18 2017

We recently drove our GX from Chicago to Utah, it performed absolutely flawlessly. It is comfortable, smooth, quiet and fun to drive. We have the Premium edition of the GX. It's more like a computer with a steering wheel and four tires. Our last two days we drove 500 miles per day. The ride was great, although we were tired we didn't feel beat up from the ride. The inside of the cabin is quiet and very comfortable. The ventilated and heated seats are very nice and the inside is very roomy. We averaged about 21 MPG going about 75 MPH. The engine and transmission run strong and smooth. It feels like the most capable vehicle on the road. It feels safe, smooth, luxurious and rugged all at the same time. It firmly holds the road in all conditions and soaks up the bumps along the way. This is simply the best car we've owned. I would highly recommend the GX to anyone wanting a highly sophisticated vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by Danny from Dallas TX on Mon Nov 20 2017

Living to the reputation Lexus has in the brand. Very solid with very less problems. This is my second GX after I sold my GX470 after 6 years. Will upgrade once the new design is available.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good vehicle would reccomend

by J from Wilkesboro,NC on Sun Jan 14 2018

Very good quality, Just remember it is a truck and That is what I enjoy about it. Have owned 3 RX 350's and needed a little more room. Gas mileage not the greatest but i knew it was a truck based SUV and no complaints on that. Very high quality. It is pricy but you do get what you pay for on this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV! No regrets

by Vikings fan! from St. Cloud MN on Fri Dec 22 2017

This vehicle handles amazing, so many features and options that I’m still figuring out all the options. True luxury! Filled the gas tank and still driving on that same tank of gas... much better gas mileage than my Toyota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by JC from Macon, GA on Thu Mar 01 2018

Good car. It really is built for off-roading which is not what anyone I know uses it for. I would rather see Lexus make a full size SUV in this price range with a comparable size that is built for comfort and hauling the family.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by LexusReviewer on Fri Feb 16 2018

This is a good reliable car. In fact, I didn't want to part with it, but my family expanded and I needed more room. Otherwise we would still be driving it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2