Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 GX 460

Consumer Reviews

2016 Lexus GX 460

$33,836 - $48,316  MSRP Range
2016 Lexus GX 460

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

14 Reviews
79% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Lexus GX 460?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

New to Lexus

by New to Lexus from Fort Worth on Sun Jan 17 2016

Growing up we always drove Fords. As an adult, I've only owned a couple a cars that weren't Fords. I still like my Fords (have 4 that I'm an original owner of & 2 of the are 15 yrs. old!) but am thoroughly enjoying my Lexus GX460. It's a perfect fit between my Excursion & Edge. I love the handling, style & comfort this car has. It's a pleasure to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4th Lexus I've owned

by GX460 from Kill Devil Hills, NC on Thu Mar 16 2017

I've owned over 30 vehicles. The Lexus' I've owned have proven to be about the best in terms of fit and finish and length of life. The service at the dealerships has proven to be the best at any dealership I've ever been to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Lexus GX 460 Awesome SUV

by ChaiC534803252 from Glen Ellyn IL on Wed Oct 04 2017

This SUV is the best SUV I have owned so far. I previously owned a 2013 X5 5.0 and this one is way more comfortable on long trips. Never had any issues and currently have 30,000 miles on it since I got it brand new. I put winter tires for the snow and it drives even better when the weather gets bad here in Chicago suburbs. I highly recommend this SUV. Lexus has done everything right with this model and it looks awesome too. Pearl White with the light tan interior. Sound system is great too. Mileage sucks but that is to be expected for a SUV. Dump your mini-van and get this ride. I really like the larger tires too. No rim damage like the other luxury SUV's with the low profile tires. We test drove the Land Rover Sport, the new X5, and the new Mercedes. and the Audi. This one was the best for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car with most value

by Brain doc from CT on Sat Jan 27 2018

This is by far the best suv that I owned. It feel solid like a tank but at the same time it feels that you are glyding in the sky. Very quiet and comfortable. You can drive 12 hours straight and don't feel tired or achy! The system is intuitive. I got the premium package which has all the technology and luxury needed. Very reliable with lower cost to own compared to BMW, Audi or Benz. I get mpg of 17-18, could be better but then again the car is heavy so a smaller engine will likely make it feel underpowered. I am planning to keep the car for at least 6-10 years unless they change the design drastically in few years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car but likely needs updating

by wwhuh from Houston, TX on Mon Jul 24 2017

Great family car with good fit and finish. Engine has slow acceleration curve but good power for passing on the highway. Use of the third row really limits cargo space availability. No problems after more than a year of daily use. While a great car, this generation of GX probably needs a refresh of the engine and some electronics upgrades.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Four and a half out of five stars

by Tjsidaho from Boise, idaho on Sun Aug 13 2017

The car is quiet, comfortable, and it rides really nice The only thing is it is a little underpowered

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Family car and Every day car!

by Alisal1234 from Grayson on Sun Aug 20 2017

This Car does have it's flaw but its things you can live with, space is a major one but it's not bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Handy, light ,an unwanted break intervention

by Brandon from Dallas on Mon Aug 13 2018

Car is good but scary self- braking intervention even as alone vehicle on the road. No technical solution to the self- braking mechanism activating without any due factor. How to turn it off?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus quality in truck form

by Gxic from Ontario, Canada on Wed Nov 28 2018

3rd Lexus I’ve owned and definitely a truck. I drive through terrible weather at times and this will cut through anything. Great for Canada. Comfort and reliability that you would expect from Lexus. Worth every penny if you’re looking for luxury in a truck, add the high resale value on this model and it’s a no brainer For high mileage drivers. The interior could use updating but it’s part of the appeal to me. Infotainment definitely needs updating but again, it’s hardly a concession considering everything else

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Big disappointment

by Zam from Wichita, ks on Fri Mar 24 2017

After having owned 3 different LS series lexus my expectations were founded on this experience. Unfortunately the qualityof my 2016 GX460 is not on the same level. I now have a little over 10000 miles on the car and I am seriously considering trading it in. Negatives are the really bad gas mileage, premium fuel, rear swinging door, interior noise on the highway. I noticed the driver seat bolster is collapsing already from getting in and out of the vehicle. This became noticeable at 5000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Lexus GX 460

The Verdict: Comfortable, quiet and nimbler than the larger and more expensive LX 570, the Lexus GX 460 is an old-school luxury SUV — with all the pros and cons that come along with that.

Versus the competition: The Lexus fits in well with competitors on price and electronic safety equipment, but its onboard multimedia tech, powertrain, packaging and driving dynamics have all been improved upon by others’ more modern offerings.

Luxury SUVs have been around for decades, replacing big luxury sedans as the ultimate in posh, all-weather transportation. Lexus wasn’t the first on the scene, but it didn’t wait long to capitalize on the craze; the GX 460 you see here dates... Read More