2003 GX 470

Consumer Reviews

2003 Lexus GX 470

$5,469 - $12,245  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Lexus GX 470?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV you can get

by SCJim from OC CA on Thu Apr 01 2010

Bought my GX470 w/ 105K miles on it. Spent some cash to replace the belts as preventative maintenance. My family and I love this car/truck. It is the most comfortable dependable ride you can get. Don't be affraid to buy with miles on it. Great mileage for a V8 vehicle that seats 8! - average 19 MPG. Looking to get another one for my wife to replace the Burb @ 8MPG.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

6 great years

by car-man from midwest on Mon Jun 01 2009

I purchased my gx470 new in 03, it was the best vehicle I have ever owned. I had 117k on this unit when someone pulled out in front of me. We hit at 55mph and my whole family walked away, wow what a suv. So we are looking for one to take the place of the old one, because any vehicle this good. We will not waste are time looking at other's lexus all the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car/Great buy

by blackjack from Wichita Kansas on Tue Nov 22 2011

I bought this car with 2 full warranty's, one being a lifetime on the engine and drivetrain. I've test driven X-5, and GL and there's absolutely no comparison. The Gx470 with air ride suspension is the most reliable and definitely the more comfortable car. This car had 83,000 miles when I purchased it, basically not even broke in yet. I purchased it from a local dealer after a week of negotiations, talked with the previous owner and did have a car fax. The previous owner tried to buy it back as well. I've replaced the tires with the correct size (Michelin 265's) and went with the LTX M/S2 preferring the mileage as well as the quietness and comfort over the cross terrains originally used by Lexus. At 22mpg highway, cruise set to 85....can't complain about fuel economy for a big V-8. I do have the Levinson sound system/Nav. and rear entertainment system as well, so for a trip, that is a plus! LOVE THIS CAR!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus once again

by Only Lexus For Me from Louisville Kentucky on Mon Apr 06 2009

Plush, smooth manly SUV for those who lead not follow. Excellent road manners and awesome power with better than i thought fuel economy. Not good for racing but who wants to race anyway? Plenty of power for responsible operation. Had to tear the RX330 away from the wife but now she appreciates the extra helpings of luxury and prestige. Do your self a favor and shop around and test drive competing models as you will return to the GX470 for certain as it is similar to a couch ride down the highway and is ultra reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best car out there

by happy owner from Chicago, IL. on Sat Mar 29 2008

this car drives smooth. great on the road and most of all.. it looks great!!! what a luxury!!!! this is our 4th lexus in the family....and we are not stopping here. we test drove all the other luxury cars and this doesn't compare. you can't go wrong with lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars we have ever had

by DJ from Houston on Thu Sep 09 2010

Bought used with 60,000 miles. Have put 20,000 on it no problems. Rides excellent. Very quiet and comfortable. Why drive anything else. Great value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Vehicle

by Car Buyer from on Mon Mar 12 2012

Overall I would recommend this vehicle to most buyers if you're in the market for a Luxury SUV... Not much to complain about except that it's not the greatest on Gas though I was already aware of that. All else rates good or great!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like all except one

by Love Lexus from Los Angeles on Mon Mar 26 2007

Brake seem to go out little faster than other car. But over all, this is the best car I've driven. Very comfortable, smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus is my 2nd Love my first was my Chevy Cruze.

by Lisa Ever from Burnsville, MN on Wed Dec 13 2017

This car was such a smooth drive and has great leg and head room. I would definitely buy this car if I had a chance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good SUV for our needs

by SW from Charlotte nc on Tue Apr 10 2018

this GX 470 meets my needs for some light hauling and city commuting and if needed --I feel confident taking it on a long trip

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2