2006 GX 470

Consumer Reviews

2006 Lexus GX 470

$6,790 - $17,974  MSRP Range
2006 Lexus GX 470

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

24 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Lexus GX 470?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A true luxury SUV!

by Bill from Madison, WI on Fri Dec 08 2006

Having owned multiple Mercedes-Benz ML models, I can't believe the difference in build quality and smoothness of this vehicle. Far surpasses the spotty quality of the European brands I have driven. I particularly appreciate the smooth accelaration and feeling of stability. The adjustable suspension allows me to enjoy my driving style while my wife can change it at the turn of a button. First class service to boot!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Jazz from Raleigh on Sat Nov 22 2008

Just a remarkable handling, comfortable,spacious, and performance oriented without being top heavy, or sluggish like some other full size Luv's. Lexus continues to set the benchmark for the pursuit of perfection.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What more could you ask for?

by two-wheeler from Des Moines, IA on Mon Oct 31 2011

I bought my 05 GX with approx 67K miles and it drives like a new car (even now with 81K miles). I've had it for a little over a year and have never had even the most minor hiccup. The ride is smoother and quieter than almost any other vehicle in it's class, and higher. The drivetrain is very sturdy and reliable, and if you're so inclined very easy to service as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best among the best

by aba15 from TN on Fri Aug 18 2006

This vehicle is a plesure to drive. accelerates with lots of power and authority. Inside is real luxury. If you are on the market for a luxury vehicle and would like to SPEND IN THAT RANGE , consider this vehicle. Poor gas mileage is the only thing you need to worry about.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

lexus gx 470

by dj from on Mon Feb 06 2012

price based between private and retail...great car for the money. like driving a new one.. makes you feel safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Car!

by Crestone1999 from Denver, CO on Wed Nov 15 2017

Car is beyond reliable, fantastic value for the money. Very poor gas mileage. Interior so comfortable and great products used. Still looks fairly new despite being 11 years old.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by 808993tt from Honolulu, HI on Tue May 27 2014

As an SUV, this truck is almost perfect. Tough body-on-frame with luxury interior and all wheel drive. Could use a bit more horsepower and a slightly sportier suspension, but comfort and capacity are all there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Dream car

by Miss T.C. from Nashville,TN on Wed Dec 12 2012

Rides like I'm floating on air! Has all the bells and whistels I wanted. Looks like I will get years of enjoyment :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Test Drive

by Test Driver from Oil City, PA on Sat Jan 05 2013

Just test drove it and put money down on it right away. Sweet. It is a smooth ride. Quiet inside. Handles well. So many buttons, I made sure the manual was in the car. Love the real wood, GPS, Blue Tooth, leather seats and seat warmers. Plenty of room for snowboarding equiptment. And my 75 year old mom can't wait for me to take her out to eat in it. The breaks are quick to react. Gotta get used to that. And I love the way the steering wheel retracts automatically to make it easy to exit the car. I hope I can pick it up on Monday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

aA very dependable car

by grateful Lexus owner from Houston,Texas on Mon Sep 25 2017

I inherited this car from my dad. It was sturdy, roomy, with very workable in its design and a great sound system!!! I added Satellite radio for a small sum so was able to enjoy the sound system throughout long road trips to New Mexico. I confidently and in great pleasure drove it around Houston knowing that I could see overcome most road problems with the rear view camera. I drove it to read 165,000 on the odometer when sadly, my car was flooded in the historic floods from Hurricane Harvey. Once lost, I looked for another, and found from other reviews that the Lexus GX 470 has a very long life, is dependable and can pull trailers which I had not yet needed. The Lexus GX 470 is an exceptional car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3