2010 HS 250h

Consumer Reviews

2010 Lexus HS 250h

$7,068 - $16,028  MSRP Range
2010 Lexus HS 250h

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

40 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Lexus HS 250h?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A luxary car that happens to be a hybrid

by Ken from Long Island, NY on Tue Nov 17 2009

I have owned this base model car for a month and have driven it on several long trips and in lots of local stop & go traffic. It is a very nice luxary car with good road handling on both dry and wet roads that is aided by water resistant windows and fog lights. The car has very good steering, excellent brakes, very good views of the road, and European-like road feedback that is not surprising since it is built on a frame used by Toyota in Europe. The acceleration is good but more pedal push is needed than in a gas car to get to a fast speed quickly. On steep upward hyway grades I needed to kick in the hybrid power mode only once to maintain speed. The car has every possilbe safety feature. Every seat in the car is very comfortable and the heated seats work well. Most of the controls are easy to reach and are intuitive to use. The radio is excellent, the climate control system is quiet and very effective, and the information displayed on the dash is easy to read and is informative. The interior looks and feels large with seats set about three inches higher than most other midsize cars. The truck looks small at first but with an optional net can swallow three midsize pieces of luggage with some room to spare. If this was the end of the review this would be a nice luxary car with a reasonable price. However, throw in the hybrid system and this car is excellent. The hybrid system in this car takes a few hours of driving to fully understand and appreciate. With easy accelleration at lights, stop and go traffic will yield about 38 mpg. I get about the same mpg on hyways. However, fast starts from lights and fast acceleration on hyways can lower mpg to about 32. I expect about 35 mpg most of time. The dash can display realtime mpg in one mode and the realtime relationship between pedal push and use of fuel in another mode. A motivated driver can learn to drive greener with this feedback. Overall, this is an excellent hybrid car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the car for higher gas prices.

by LairdLarry from Twin Cities, MN on Thu Feb 24 2011

Have owned by HS 250H for 1000 miles now and I highly recommend it. If you have a heavy right foot, then you will get the EPA mileage. I just finished a 300 mile round trip and averaged 41.2 mpg; I have yet to use the power mode and am getting along just fine thank you. These cars will soon start rising in price; get a discounted one while you still can!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best reliable car so far I ever owned

by John from Quebec city QC Canada on Sun Oct 02 2016

this car is comfortable plus luxury and good in fuel economy and no cost at all for services.So far oil changed every 30000km with synthetic oil and I just look at the brakes at 200000km and the wear was 20 %. Hybrid system does some braking as you slow down and recharged the battery.On traffic jammed this car is phenomenal.Handling is good even in bad snowstorm I was actually really surprised how well the car was reacting on bad weather conditions..Best car I ever had so far.Only problem I have the 2 headlamps burned.6.3l/100 at 117km/hr and low 5 in country road driving 85 to 100 km/hrs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As pretty as it is functional

by RenaK from Topeka, KS on Sun Jun 25 2017

I am a female, 6 feet tall, and wanted a comfortable luxury car that got good gas mileage and would be enjoyable on long road trips. This car perfect! I absolutely love it. There is plenty of leg room and head room in the front seats, a little tight but still comfy in the back seat, but I seldom use the back. On Kansas highways the car averages 35 - 37 miles per gallon. I love the USB ports, air-conditioned seats in the summer, and heated seats in the winter. The mouse-controlled screen is easy to learn to use and helps make driving fun! My car now has 109,000 miles on it and has had no mechanical or other problems whatsoever. It still feels like a new car to me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car with excellent gas mileage

by Lexus owner from Los Anglese, CA on Fri Aug 09 2013

Well appointed in the Lexus tradition. Great gas mileage average around 38 mpg around town. Get the one with the 17in wheels though. The 18 inch wheels look sporty, but the low profile tires hurt the ride comfort.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I've owned

by Car guy from Dallas TX on Tue Jul 12 2011

We bought this car for 3 reasons: Superior customer service with loan cars. Luxury features and benefits. Gas mileage. We have now had the car for 14 months and never been in the shop other than for normal mantaince. The car drives great and very smooth and has a heavy feeling even though its a mid size car. What can I say its a Lexus!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by Paul from Amesbury on Mon Mar 24 2014

its not a prius, its a nice smooth economical ride. Great on gas and a little bit of luxury is tough to come by. Happy with it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by J Hook from Naperville, IL/Tempe, AZ on Fri Oct 11 2013

Purchased this car CPO this past summer after parting with my beloved but problematic 2007 BMW X5. While I miss it dearly, I absolutely love this car and have zero intention of getting rid of it anytime soon. Since purchasing, I have averaged well over 35 MPG (EPA expected number), typically get 37-38 MPG per tank and have had some as high as 42. I don't drive that slow, either - it's all about learning how to drive it. I know I could squeeze a few more MPG out of it, but anything's better than my previous V8. Other than the MPG, my newest favorite feature is the XM's traffic info. Took it to Newport Beach a few weeks ago and it re-routed me to the point where I bypassed (almost) all LA traffic. I also reside in Phoenix from August-May, and the ventilated/air-conditoned seats are much appreciated. I got the Matador Red Mica exterior on Beige interior. While I wasn't so sure about the combo from the start, it has really grown on me, particularly after I got the windows tinted (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - looks sharp). In all, a great value used since resale took a dive after its discontinuation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and comfortable car I ever owned.

by chorh888 from Cleveland, Ohio on Tue May 16 2017

This car rides very smooth and quiet and has terrific fuel economy of about 35 mpg. Very reliable car. Never had any problem with the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2010 Lexus HS250

by RX7-R1 from Piscataway, NJ on Fri Jul 21 2017

Excellent gas mileage. Very weak acceleration. Very expensive to maintain. Not a lot of breaks with maintenance. Tires only last around 30K; car is very heavy and battery replacements are extremely expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2010 Lexus HS 250h

Lexus' new HS 250h is a refined hybrid luxury sedan that delivers plenty of power when you need it and features a high-quality interior. In terms of efficiency, its EPA-estimated gas mileage of 35/34 mpg city/highway vaults it to the head of Lexus' lineup, as well as near the top of the luxury segment.

That's all well and good, but many eco-conscious shoppers will compare the HS 250h's gas mileage and price tag to the more mainstream Toyota Prius, which costs roughly $13,000 less and goes 15 miles further on every gallon of gas. There's no question the HS 250h is more luxurious than the Prius, but it still drives like your average compact sedan, and that's a strike against it.

Ride & Handling
If you've... Read More