2012 IS 250

Consumer Reviews

2012 Lexus IS 250

$11,128 - $22,352  MSRP Range
2012 Lexus IS 250

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Lexus IS 250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

one of the most reliable cars I have had

by serb1389 from Aventura, FL on Wed May 10 2017

Sport elegance, comfortable and very stable vehicle. F sport package doing its thing. Super satisfied

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Luxury Car

by Mare10 from Atlanta GA on Sat Mar 18 2017

This Lexus IS 250 is in great condition, I hate to part with it.. moving across the country and unfortunately cannot take with me. Would recommend to anybody looking for a sport sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I Miss This Car

by Maybery85 from Rayville, LA on Thu Jul 13 2017

This car was purchased for my wife as an anniversary gift, used with 6,000 miles on the odometer. It was silver, with a grey interior trimmed with a green tinted wood grain on the console. This was the first car I had ever owned with heated and cooled seats; it spoiled me to them. Though a compact sport-sedan, the rear seat had adequate room for adults, with even my six-foot four father able to comfortably sit in back. The six speed automatic had steering wheel paddles as well as sport-shifting at the gear shift. This particular vehicle has a basic stereo layout, with no touch screen or infotainment system- yet it did not seem lacking without. As far as driving and handling goes, this vehicle is second to none. With rear wheel drive, and all season tires on 18 inch staggered fitment wheels, the car could still brave rain and even mild snow admirably. Frozen expansion joints on I-40 in Arkansas during the winter did not phase it one bit. Even with 30-40 less horsepower than competitively classed BMWs, the car still felt like a sport sedan. It accelerated quite well, but if one is not paying attention to the dash you will be breaking the speed limit before you know it. The car is quiet. The motor makes barely a peep even at wide open throttle. Fuel consumption was right at 30 mpg on the highway, around 22 in town. With the tank full, 300-400 miles could be found with well mannered driving. Here is what confused me about this car. It had a 2.5 liter V6. Not only is that a small displacement number for a V6, but the power was lacking compared to other V6 engines. It was low even compared to other V6 engines in the Toyota family. The 3.5 from the ES series/Camry put out 260ish horsepower in a front drive family sedan. The V6 in Nissan/Infiniti performance sedans and coupes at the time were rated at anywhere from 300-330 horsepower at a similar price point. The 2.5 liter V6 in the IS series was rated at 205hp, with fuel mileage that was on par with the competition at 100hp less. Even the Turbo fours from Europe had the IS beat by 30 horsepower or more with better gas mileage. With that being the only mild criticism of the car (power is not everything), I miss this car. I had no maintenance problems over the 4 years spent with this car (the Mrs got it in the divorce and still drives it daily 2 years later). Sure, there is a premium for the brand name, but on this platform there is no claim to a lower priced equivalent from the parent company. Toyota showrooms in the US offer no rear wheel drive cars, save the 86. Styling has changed since this 2012 model, and the current styling of the Lexus family and IS series in particular has been polarizing. This generation of the IS is an attractive car, comfortable, fun to drive when pushed, gets good mileage, and stylish to boot!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and drives very smooth.

by BigBossBK from Houston on Thu May 18 2017

Great vehicle worth every dollar. The reliability & smooth drive will make you fall in love with Lexus. Not to mention it's a gas saver I get up to 25 mpg!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never had any problems

by Falafelhut415 on Wed Aug 22 2018

Best reliable car. The 2012 Lexus IS 250 is powered by a 2.5-liter V6 that produces 204 hp and 185 pound-feet of torque. Buyers can choose between rear- or all-wheel-drive variants.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty, Luxurious, and an Eye-Catcher

by Ryannb26 from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Jun 21 2017

This car is an amazing ride! It has mostly everything the driver will every need suck as navigation, heated seats, a mighty V-6 engine, soft leather seats, etc, etc... My particular model has the F sport package which boasts major styling and minor performance upgrades which makes the vehicle even better. The ride is very comfortable and quiet, and the V-6 makes it an even more fun car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best luxury car I could have purchased used!!

by Lexus Fan.. from Palm Springs. California on Mon Jul 30 2018

Exceptional handling...style and performance... Purchased used in July 2017...48,448 miles on it...was 3 weeks passed the 5 year man so could not be certified preowned but passed the dealers 161 point inspection. Was a one owner car purchased from Lexus dealer in Catherdral City Ca and traded back in to that dealer 5 years later. Car was taken care of very well and still today a year later looks unbelievable. Will be driving this car for many many years. Car is the nice light blue color with creme interior....rear spoiler and chrome Lexus wheels along with all the other creature comforts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with my IS 250

by Ecstatic New Lexus Ownee from Texas on Sat Jan 11 2014

Pros- Very stylish. Love that I can bluetooth my phone to my car for music and hands-free calls. Love the heated and cooled seats. The interior is beautiful. Overall I am extremely pleased with the car. Con- the front seats aren't very comfortable. It's ok for short rides but longer rides I've noticed my comfort level isn't great. I find myself readjusting the seat multiple times or shifting back and forth. Also, not much leg room in the back seats but I have young children so it works....for now. Texas

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car, wish I could keep it!

by bear0526 from Colorado on Thu Jun 15 2017

Met all my needs, except I needed an SUV for 2 car seats and 2 kids! Only reason I'm selling is becasue family is expanding

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned!

by Kayna Elayne from San Antonio, Tx on Thu Jul 27 2017

I love my car so much, the style is sporty and yet super comfortable. Lexus is definitely the way to go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 Lexus IS 250

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2011 about the 2011 Lexus IS 250. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

For more than 10 years, Lexus has presented luxury shoppers an unlikely offering in the IS, a rear-wheel-drive sport sedan from a brand best known for cushy comfort. The gamble worked: The IS drives better than most of its Lexus siblings. It does not, however, get there without a penalty.

While the Lexus IS sedan performs well, it makes drivers give up ride comfort and roominess in ways that its competitors don't.

Lexus restyled a few elements on the IS for 2011... Read More