2011 IS 250C

Consumer Reviews

2011 Lexus IS 250C

$11,937 - $23,821  MSRP Range
2011 Lexus IS 250C

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

11 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Lexus IS 250C?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good Luxury Convertible

by AtlantaAutoBeat from Atlanta on Tue Feb 08 2011

Sure, it's been a tough winter, even in Atlanta. But some recent time spent with the 2011 Lexus IS 250C convertible gave us a nice moment of sunshine and reminder that spring is just around the corner. This entry-level luxury model is a sweetheart, thanks to its 204-horsepower, 2.5-liter V-6 engine. That power plant is tied to six-speed manual transmission or an optional six-speed automatic with paddle shifters, which the tester had. Lexus says the engine is all aluminum and has direct injection and variable valve timing, which maximize efficiency and performance. Fuel economy is rated at 21 mpg city, 30 highway with the automatic, and 19 and 27 with the manual. The IS 250C, which is the cabrio version of the IS 250 sedan, has a new appearance up front, with a redesigned grille and front bumper. The rear styling has gotten a few tweaks also. The end result is a very well-crafted, handsome vehicle, inside and out. On the inside, the 250C is technically a four-seater, but the two rear seats are pretty tiny. The leather seats do have 10-way power adjustability, though, making at least the front passengers comfortable. Plus, Lexus designers had the presence of mind to make the driving experience with the top down practical. The retractable hardtop takes only 21 seconds to open or close. There are anti-glare gauges that let you still see the dash despite the sunlight when it's open, as well as audio and climate systems that adjust for the added wind noise and temperature change. And for pleasant sounds, enjoy the 13-speaker, 194-watt stereo with six-CD changer that comes with the Lexus Premium Audio System. If you want more goodies inside, there is a Premium Plus Package that features perforated leather seating that heats and cools, a Mark Levinson Premium Surround Sound system with 14 speakers and 10 amplifier stations, a DVD-based navigation system and wood trim. For performance, try the new F Sport Package, featuring a sport suspension, 18-inch wheels and front and rear spoilers. Seventeen-inch alloy wheels are standard. Rain-sensing wipers and a backup camera with front and rear parking sensors are optional. There are good safety features, such as vehicle stability control, antilock brakes, brake-force distribution and brake assist. Lexus offers a Pre-Collision System with Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, which keeps a pre-set following distance behind the vehicle in front of you and prepares the seatbelts and brakes for a collision when necessary. Lexus features its Enform system with Safety Connect to give satellite communications in the event of an accident or if the car is stolen. With its sharp looks, snappy handling and reasonable price, the IS 250C provides a breath of fresh air in the luxury coupe/convertible field.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Convertible!

by Cinderblock from Long Island, NY on Thu Oct 20 2011

If you ever wanted a convertible and in the market to buy one, this is the car to buy. It is a beauty. It has sophisticated styling. The hardtop is the way to go in a convertible. Also, for the size of the car, it is quite good on gas! The only con: small truck when top is down - but you can't have everything.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice convertible

by Top off from Seattle on Fri Apr 22 2011

I bought the IS 250c and am thoroughly enjoying it, after years in an Audi A4 convertible. The top moves quickly, sounds system is excellent and the turning radius makes it quite nimble. On a drive yesterday from Portland to Seattle I was getting 37 miles per gallon, a welcome surprise.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just love my Lexus IS250C

by Tommy McC from Sydney on Fri Feb 24 2017

Ive had Mercedes,BMW and believe me the Lexus leaves them for dead in every aspect the 250c is a fantastic machine quality built great looker and so reliable I've done 60000 klm and not one issue just service and Lexus service is the best in the world if you want a convertible that has it all this is it love it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I?ve never lived a car more.....

by MelissaV from San Antonio, Texas on Mon Nov 06 2017

This car is comfortable, fast, gorgeous & unique. It doesn?t look like every other car on the hwy. The saddle leather is beautiful. Navigation & rear camera screen is awesome! 6disc cd changer, blue tooth, usb connection, seat warming & cooling...The car is sleek & impressive. Lexus are great cars. I expect my new baby to last a long time. Top down, heart happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect combination for commuting and having fun.

by Sean from California on Sat Sep 09 2017

I would like to keep this car for the rest of my life! Handling is great, plenty of electronics for your convenience. Hardtop works great, fast and smooth. Reliability is at the top! Performance: 2.5L V6 slightly under power, but it is more fuel efficient this way, you almost won't feel the engine noise and road noise. I would like to keep this car until I got a kid...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Terrible Experience

by A & N from Boca Raton, FL on Mon May 06 2013

After 30+ years of car buying, our certified 2011 IS250C was by far the worst car choice we ever made. Yes, its a great looking and luxurious car that receives compliments. We read about the poor rear visibility and sluggish power of the smaller engine. We bought one with navigation to mitigate the poor visibility but could never get over how slow and sluggish the car is with the small engine. And the braking is scary since the car is so heavy. The worst issue which we never read about, is how uncomfortable the seats are. Yes, Lexus seats that are the worst we have ever sat in. We took three long road trips and had bad back aches each time. The lumbar support is way too low and the head rest is too far back to use. This was a present for my wife and she hated the car (after driving a Mazda Miata hardtop convertible). It was no way enjoyable to drive but was instead a good looking and quiet car, that was boring to drive. SO, after 4 months, we test drove a BMW and her eyes lit up. So we just too a large loss on the Lexus and swapped it for the BMW. Our worst experience with a Lexus as well as a car. Before you buy, take it for a long test drive.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

So disappointing

by Shuste from New Jersey on Sun Feb 02 2014

I bought a 2010 because I drive a long commute and thought the lexus would provide a comfortable ride. The ride was boring and after a few weeks driving my back and neck started to hurt. I could not get comfortable in the seats and tried different pillows but nothing helped. The seat is very uncomfortable and you feel very cramped in the front seat. I test drove a bmw 328 I and sold my lexus is250c and feel such a difference both in drive and comfort. If you are looking at this car. Do not compromise by the bmw

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good performance vehicle to have!!

by L L from GA on Sun Apr 01 2018

Sporty, sleek, stylish, yet great gas mileage! This car is comfortable and is a smooth ride. While driving down the street, this vehicle is a head turner for many to admire.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Ask questions regarding convertible top

by Unhappy lexus ownet8 from San Antonio, Texas on Tue Apr 03 2018

I was very happy with my is250c until, I learned that every few years I would have to pay put of pocket to have an adjustment to the hardtop convertible in order to stop the rattling noise. The cost $600-$1800, every few years because it's not covered under extended warranty. Wish dealership had told me this upfront.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2011 Lexus IS 250C

For more than 10 years, Lexus has presented luxury shoppers an unlikely offering in the IS, a rear-wheel-drive sport sedan from a brand best known for cushy comfort. The gamble worked: The IS drives better than most of its Lexus siblings. It does not, however, get there without a penalty.

While the Lexus IS sedan performs well, it makes drivers give up ride comfort and roominess in ways that its competitors don't.

Lexus restyled a few elements on the IS for 2011, which you can compare with the 2010 model here. The car comes in IS 250 or IS 350 form, representing the size of each one's V-6 engine. Both are also available as a convertible, denoted by "C" in the model name. Compare them here. The lineup's... Read More