2002 IS 300

Consumer Reviews
2002 Lexus IS 300

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
2002 Lexus IS 300
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Motor is electric smooth, Bullet Proof

by Fritz from Melbourne, FL on April 2, 2008

Very smooth car, engine barely audible. 5 speed makes for great fun, plus its easy to turn off traction control. Handles nicely, if not quite as well as a 3 Series BMW, it makes up for it in reliability and low cost of operation. After 100,000 miles only repairs have been two O2 sensors. Still original brakes, clutch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Very Good

by Realist from Los Angeles, CA on January 28, 2010

We have a fully optioned 5-speed w/nav and full leather. It was a special order because of the color combo, options, and the 5-speed manual. Waited 3-months for the car and it was worth the wait! Nimble and quick in the city yet great on long road trips. Totally reliable and a kick in the pants to drive. I wish we had memory settings for the seats, mirror, etc. and also could use dual zone climate as well as rear seat side curtain air bags. These were added to later models. The only weakness is the gas mileage. It's not terrible, but it's not that good and requires premium fuel. Overall the car rocks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive, Great Looking Dependable Car

by Market from LA on October 18, 2006

Everyone comments on what a great looking car I have but the best part about owning this car is that it's fun to drive. If you're interested in this vehicle you should know that it is a considerably bumpy ride for a luxury car (it was built for speed not luxury) and that there are several blind spots that you'll have to get used to. Having said that, I must reiterate that it is fun to drive and great for road trips! I highly recommend checking it out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Loved My IS 300

by Sports Fan from SLC, UT on November 26, 2007

This was a very fun car! I especially liked the stylish looks inside and out. The car is loaded with features and always turns heads. The ability to switch from automatic to manual and shift on the steering wheel is excellent when you need a little punch!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought this model twice

by lexushead from denver,co on November 17, 2013

I had so much fun drivig this car that a year after i sold my firs one i bought another. Great bang for the buck at this time just get one with a clean title.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable Fun car to Drive.

by ronniedbigm from Lexington, KY on May 20, 2017

My 2002 IS300 has 180k Miles and only thing other than routine maintenance Ive had to do is 1 sensor. Only complaint I have is the suede interior didnt hold up over the years. I would recommend this car to ANYONE!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favortie car that I have owned

by mmmcd from Cincinnati, OH on May 15, 2009

I have to say I was a bit worried about the size and such but you'll be pleasantly surprised. the back seat is still very roomy for a compact and the front seats hug you very nicely when you have to take the corners hard. the engine is plenty for this little vehicle and the torque will snap your neck from a stop. this car is awful in the snow especially with the standard tires I got some all season bridgestones and they work better but honestly don't expect to get far with more than 2 inches on the ground. Overall this a very fun car to drive and I smile every time i race in and out of traffic. oh did I mention I have 120,000 miles on it and it still runs perfectly... Honestly this is one of the greatest cars ever sold in the US for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

is300

by DailyDriver from Chantilly, VA on July 16, 2006

worthwile purchase for someone looking to keep the car for a long time...very reliable and predictable car could use some more features, rear space, and power...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 LEXUS IS300

by Sharunas from Alsip, IL on September 1, 2007

Lexus came up with really nice and sporty car. It is reliable, fun to drive, smooth quiet ride. It also has some bad things. First it is missing such simple features as Distance to empty, or some information about your trip. Second on automatic models Trac control does not shut off all the way. If you turn it off, traction assist is still on. Third terrible on miles per gallon. Fourth easy to fishtail at winter and/or wet conditions. IS300 is the cheapest creation of Lexus so it doesn't provide much luxury. For those with back problems like me, you will hate adjustable seats.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet Car

by TheRock from on May 5, 2011

Great Car, just dont let Junaid drive it, and don't even let angel look at it, I love this car, great drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2002 Lexus IS 300