2005 IS 300

Consumer Reviews
2005 Lexus IS 300

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
2005 Lexus IS 300
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My first Lexus

by Phoenix_Lexus from Phoenix, AZ on December 8, 2010

First - a caveat. I am a longtime Toyota owner, having driven almost nothing but Tacomas (or the pre-Tacoma pick-up) for nearly 20 years, so I may be somewhat biased to the Lexus. I am thoroughly pleased with the Lexus IS300! I was looking for a nice compact luxury sports car, and narrowed the field to the BMW 3 series, Mercedes C-class, and the Lexus. I am thrilled with my decision. I have had absolutely no buyers remorse. I've struggled to find a meaningful flaw with the car. Right now the best I can come up with is that the front cabin cup-holders don't accommodate some of my larger coffee mugs, but I'm learning to adapt. The car's performance has been better than expected, reliability is outstanding, and most maintenance is cheaper because everything can be service by any Toyota dealership or qualified mechanic - dodging the unnecessary cost inflation because it's a "luxury" brand. The exterior styling is somewhat plain - a feature I rather like, but others may want something more distinctive. The interior is also somewhat plain, although the seats (with perforated leather) are very comfortable, and surprisingly, I haven't had trouble with them getting too hot - not an easy feat during the 110+ degree summers of Phoenix. In short - I LOVE this car, and cannot recommend it more enthusiastically!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Little Lexus that Could

by P Money from Ohio on July 19, 2006

I use the IS as my primary vehicle, and it never lets me down. It's hip, quick, and always entertaining. I enjoy the thrill of comfortable acceleration, feeling secure as the car inhales pavement during tight corners, while listening to a live symphony courtesy of the Lexus Sound System. I love the car in Red with Ivory interior...very distinctive on cold, grey Ohio mornings. Yes, the rear wheel drive can be a bit tricky when snow is on the ground, but it's all a matter of getting used to the car and how much acceleration to put in. If you've got all weather tires..you should be fine. But once spring and summer arrive, it's time to role down that sunroof and windows and cruise while others stare as you pass by. This car is well rounded, lots of fun, and incredibly reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Lexus IS 300

by Toyota Lover from Florida on November 30, 2014

I had a 2002 Lexus IS300,and it was a great car.In 2006,the new IS came out.Made the mistake of trading mine for a new 2006 IS 250.Great car,but not even close to the old IS300.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned!

by armysniper6 from Indianapolis on November 2, 2017

From the exterior styling to the simplicity of the interior functionality you cannot go wrong. The engine and transmission are buttery smooth. Mine developed a significant oil leak at the VVT pulley o ring. Timing belt, valve covers, plugs, hoses, and a vac hose AFTER 150K MILES! Even with those maitenance issues it still ran perfect. Once fixed I would have drove accross the nation without concern. In many ways it still drove better than a brand new car. I may buy another if I can find one. 2JZ Lexus was the best. They should bring it back. Inspection showed zero issues after 150k mile service. Most other cars would be junk by then. Hope this helps.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Something to satisfy unusual tastes

by Laser Engineer from Santa Clara, CA on October 14, 2007

Well, this thing is the best-handling sedan I've ever driven. With the right tires, it casually takes turns that make normal cars screech and plow. But it comes with a large dose of strangeness, starting with an unreadable instrument panel (including the speedometer), continuing with a transmission that seems to let you upshift or downshift with buttons on the steering wheel except that it really won't stay in the gear that you pick and ending with an automatic climate control that knows better than you what you want. Besides that, it has an unholy appetite for premium gas. I average about 18 MPG, which is pathetic for a small sedan with 200 horsepower. I put up with it because it handles perfectly and it has a reputation for not breaking. Besides that, the seats are supremely comfortable, visibility is excellent and the engine is smooth as glass. So the car is a blast to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nimble car

by motown from north carolina on November 13, 2007

I have had mine for 2 yrs. It is 5spd which is hard to find. I enjoy going around corners fast. The engine in this car is very smooth. The seats are ergonomic and the steering wheel is perfectly placed. This car is very nice, I have not gotten tired of it yet!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Luisdejesus from Worcester ma on October 5, 2017

Good car to drive very fast feels like it got turbo in it i own two of these cars black & white good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely awesome drive. Beats BMW.

by Jack from San Diego, CA on March 5, 2008

Awesome handling, nice smooth ride, great manuverability, looks great. Awesome handling, nice smooth ride, great manuverability, looks great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability at it's best

by ymaksimuk from Rocklin, CA on April 4, 2018

After 4 years of ownership, this car has served fantastically. No issues ever. Pros: Good looks and handling, very reliable, good power output. Cons: MPG is poor, not very comfortable on long trips.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth, quite and powerful.

by Djdolph31 from La Puente ca on March 13, 2018

This vehicle is very quite. Drives very smooth and yet still has power. The interior is both luxurious and sporty at the same time. The same could be said about the exterior. To me, the car looks best in black, gray and blue. I drove a black one. Remember! Lexus is made by Toyota so you know your getting the most reliable car there is. Buy one if you can!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2