1996 LS 400

Consumer Reviews

1996 Lexus LS 400

$533 - $6,685  MSRP Range

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Lexus LS 400?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus 400LS Best Car I've Owned

by IndyDMan from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Jul 21 2009

I bought this five years ago from a fellow moving to Hong Kong. He bought it new. It rides sooooo well. And, it handles well. Self-leveling. When snow is high I raise the body. When need to manuever flip on the Power setting and the computer adjusts suspension and engine set up. Great comfortable seats and a wonderful sound system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by GKLCPA from PA on Sat Dec 13 2008

I have owned my 1996 LS for two years and it's the best car I've ever owned hands down and that's using Mercedes and BMW as points of comparision. The main thing that distinguishes the LS from these guys is the reliability and build quality. Basically, I have a 12 year old car that drives like new and I've not have to pay anything other than basic maintenance. I must admit however, that one may have to dig deep on some of the basic maintenance items, like the timing belt change, but that's more than offset by the longevity of the car itself. This is an excellent vehicle that I'll be driving for years and when it's done, I'll be getting another LS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by DennistheS from Indianapolis on Sun Aug 15 2010

I bought my '96 LS400 from a man who'd bought it new. I've had it for almost seven years and 55K miles. The same E 96th street dealer's taken care of it since it rolled off the truck new. It's a fine car. Solid, quick and a joy to drive in the city or on the interstate. The maintenance has been reasonable and, even though I drive too aggressively, the mileage is good. It's ten years from becoming a classic and I still feel good about driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real solid car!

by Fred from Maryland on Fri Dec 13 2013

I bought my 1996 LS400 from a private owner about 4 years ago and am very proud of it. The previous owner advertised it on cars.com "This is a good one" and as a matter of fact he was telling the truth. This turned out to be the best car I've ever owned. Everyone i gave a ride always give compliments about its interior comfort. The car has been very reliable, its doors are like iron casts, very heavy, I always feel safe in the car. Toyota did an awesome job building this handsome horse!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by mujchuj from Ill on Sat Apr 07 2007

great performance and reliability. smooth ride with no bumbs. have this car for 11 years without any problems (engine).. runs like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely the Most Reliable Car We Have Owned

by Roadrunner from Little Rock, Arkansas on Sat Aug 18 2012

We bought this car when it had about 300 miles under 48,000 miles on it. Bought it to give my wife a smooth ride because of health problems and it did not disappoint. I sold it with almost 190,000 miles on the car. Yet, I would not have hesitated to drive it across the country because of its reliability. It never gave us any problems...none! We drove this car to Minneapolis, Seattle, Atlanta, El Paso, TX, Savannah, Jacksonville, FL and would not have hesitated driving it that far again. Most reliable, comfortable, inexpensive to maintain, and drive of any car we have owned. We bought another Lexus but this time an RX-330 and just drove it to El Paso, TX and was a JOY to ride and drive it. The LS400 gave us 27 MPG at 70 MPH on interstate and 26 MPG at 80 (yes TX has a lot of 80) MPH. That was with a big V-8!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by kobaltwars from seattle on Mon Jan 06 2014

2nd owner bought at 70k now have 145k on this car here is what I have done 90k timing belt oh tires at 80k oil changes every 5k lets see thats it brakes still good get 25 mpg average lots of highway miles in my comute been a great car my next car is going to be a truck but ifI was going to get another car it would be a lexus for sure

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The very best car that I have ever owned

by Lexus for life from Chicago, Il on Mon Oct 19 2009

I brought this car as a second owner in 2006. I have driven it since. I have it serviced about once a year. If you do routine maintance this car will last a very long time. I am up to 160,000 miles and only major repair has been a fuel pump. Just brought a new RX and must admit the old LS is a more comfortable driving car. It brakes my heart to get rid of the LS 400.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car made in its time

by molen on Mon Oct 16 2017

This has been a great and reliable car. It is the smoothest car I have had. We have never had to do any major repairs and it is very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent First Time Car!

by trevolly1027 from Denver, CO on Sun Jul 30 2017

I had this car as my first car in high school, and it was the perfect starter car. Great performance and comfort!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2