1997 LS 400

Consumer Reviews

1997 Lexus LS 400

$2,329 - $7,093  MSRP Range
1997 Lexus LS 400

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Lexus LS 400?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus LS: the way it should be done

by Drivenitall from Philadelphia on Fri Feb 02 2007

Lexus knows how to build a car. Toyota took all of their knowledge and constructed an even better vehicle. This is best observed in the flagship LS. The engine is silent and smooth, the quality of the materials is excellent, and it is designed with the user in mind. It's not complicated to use systems in the car, although many other vehicles these days have started the trend of building enormously complex and cumbersome systems into them. (Think about BMWs idrive and mercedes' similar system). Some may consider its interior looks mundane, but this is a pleasure in comparison to using the Germans' dreaded control systems and poorly designed functions. The fit and finish is impeccable. Leather hydes are thick and controls robust. even after 100,000 miles, most interiors look like new. It's also not unreasonable or even unusual that these cars clock 250,000-300,000 miles on them when properly taken care of and maintained. Handling is not particularly agile or outstanding, but this is to be somewhat expected of a large luxury car. It is also dissapointing that lexus still doesn't offer AWD on the LS, although it will soon. Also, many second generation lexus owners (1995-2000) will notice problems with the LCD displays. Many times the pixels will burn out and it's a common problem. It's also fairly minor although it can be pricey to fix. Overall the car is incredibly comfortable, ultra silent and a joy to drive. It's full of useful technology that won't confuse the driver and keep his or her mind away from the task at hand: driving. It should give its owners MANY years of worry free driving. Enjoy, this is the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 LS400 is excellent car

by mjohnson from Denver, CO on Tue Oct 25 2011

Well designed, highly maintainable, which means that a well-maintained LS400 can still operate as new many years later. I get about 30 MPG on the road with my 1997 LS400, if I take it easy on the accelerator. I plan to buy another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most smooth & quiet car ever owned.

by Luxury Car Enthusiast from Indiana on Mon Jan 02 2012

Beautiful design with top quality throughout. Rides better than any brand new car I have been in. Plan to drive it to at least 300,000 miles. Have talked to people that have gotten many more miles than that. It has just 60,000 miles on it so I have a lot of wonderful driving yet to do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by chocol8 from Raleigh N.C on Wed Dec 20 2006

I don't think i could find another vehicle that handles and performs the way this car does. This car is roomey yet not to big for the shortest or smallest lady to drive. It has good gas mileage and very affordable. It has not gven any major problems but my battery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best of the Best

by bcurtis9927 from Fairfax VA on Tue Aug 15 2017

I have driven this car for almost 20 years, and it is as quiet and comfortable today as it was on Day 1. Loaded with comfort and luxury, fabulous on gas, quiet, superb sound system and looks just beautiful inside and out. We took our usual great care of her, regular oil changes, almost zero dollars for any maintenance (the rear antenna needed to be replaced after being broken at the car wash), and always out of the weather in a garage or covered parking. I have adored this car and will always think of it as the very best car I have ever had the privilege to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finest Car We Ever Owned

by LizC from Fairfax va on Thu Aug 24 2017

Purchased new to lease, we purchased it at the end of the lease because we liked it so well. I continued to drive the car from 1999 until 2017 mostly around town, which accounts for the very low mileage of 148,700 miles. It was kept in a garage at all times, and never driven in bad weather like snow or ice. We were considering replacing it with a current model year Lexus LS 450, but at $80,000 plus, it was more than we wanted to spend. We replaced the car with a Mercedes, and love it, so parting with the Lexus LS400 has been bittersweet. Anyone who Who purchases this car will certainly get years more luxurious driving from it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

"I Love My First Car"

by BAllen01 from St. Louis, MO. on Wed Jun 14 2017

What I can say about my car is that, It feels good not to ride the bus or beg for a ride anymore. My car gets to places I need to go on time. Other than that I love it, so what more could I ask for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

25mpg? More like 30-33 mpg hiway

by DD from New york on Thu Oct 18 2012

Kind of strange, i read quite a few reviews on this car. some say 18 mpg city 22 hiway etc etc. After 60K miles, our lexus gets 30 mpg hiway @ an average of 75 Mph. & i get an average of 24 mpg city. if i cruise 60 mph i can get 33-35 mpg. That was on par with our lincoln. The V8s get better mileage than the underpowered V6...... Its a great smooth reliable car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FASTEST MAN

by Shah from Dubai on Fri May 02 2014

Mr. Danny, is the fastest man ever. I woke Mr Danny on 2 May 2014 so early, I think 7 am, instead he was soooooo much kind, he was dealing with me very gently. I am from foreign country, he finished the deal with me very very briskly. Here I must say I'm lovin' it. ;) And he deserves 5 stars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent safe car

by Wendy from Carmel on Tue Apr 03 2018

Most reliable car we have owned. Safe and easy to drive with all the luxury’s a Lexus has to offer. A perfect combination to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1