1998 LS 400

Consumer Reviews

1998 Lexus LS 400

$3,044 - $8,412  MSRP Range
1998 Lexus LS 400

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 Lexus LS 400?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A very fine and nice car

by Lexus Fan from Puerto Rico on Sun Jul 02 2006

I have for the past year owned a used 1998 Lexus LS 400. The car runs very good. Even as when I bought it had a problem with a sensor that was quickly resolved. After that nothing else has gone wrong. It is not as silent as they said in the early commercials. The Throttle response is not as crisp as I would love, it is great on gas and far trips. I still remember a 1987 Cougar that had most of the same capabilities but the materials were not as good as the ones employed by Lexus. It is not a car that everyday you have to fix something. All you have to do is cranked it on and get it to go anywhere. I bought an insurance for towing not knowing what to expect, I feel a lost my money. The car is just very dependable, well balanced. Well built to last. I would buy another, without thinking much. Parts can be expensive, but since it does not break often, it is practical. I spend good part of the day shining the machine, because it looks so nice when it is shining. People think is a brand new car, when I tell them is a 98 they cannot believe it." I have been researching the Lexus brand since 1995, and found that they do not break up very often contrary to other Luxury brands out there.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fuggetabowdit.

by Peter Big Block from West Des Moines, IA on Mon Nov 28 2011

What's not to like? The LS400 is the perfect car for anyone like me. I don't want the latest (or even the last couple iterations of) baubles, gizmos, gee-gaws, etc. that adorn newer cars, confounding their owners. I want a clean, classic design; a comfortable, quiet ride; a great sounding, simple stereo with CD changer and -- gasp! -- tape deck; soft leather seats; a large back seat and a huge trunk; and a V8 with just a little burble from the exhaust. Why spend $50k on a car that will be worth $10k in ten years, when you can spend $8k on a car that will be worth $5k in ten years? And it has a bulletproof reputation for reliability. It's the perfect car for people who want to relax and just drive. Powerful engine, iconic styling, super-handling, fun-to-drive? That's what my Porsche is for. The Lexus LS400 is soothing and affordable and beautiful. What more could you want?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big comfortable luxury cruiser

by Luxury car lover from Utica, NY on Wed Apr 22 2015

I inherited this car from my Dad in 2012. It had always run well for him and I haven't had any major issues. Did the timing belt and water pump at 125,000 miles for the first time. Excellent highway cruiser-gets 26 mile per gallon at a steady 70 miles per hour. Gets about 19 in the city. With just all season tires, can be a handful in the winter, but I've never been stuck. Still looks good and is very comfortable. I have the navigation which is quite outdated and can't be updated, 6 disc cd changer, moonroof, wood steering wheel and xenon headlights.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Drove

by GStarJackie from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Mar 21 2017

This car has done me wonders. It has had minimal things needing to be done so far as maintenance is concerned. Since buying the vehicle in 2007, the only major things that the car needed to have replaced was the starter in 09' and the alternator in 15'. Besides this the car has driven flawlessly. No issues, just made sure to have oil changes and filters replaced and it ran like a charm. Many road trips with the car and drives so smooth on the highway. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone wanting a low maintenance car at a impeccable value. They also hold their value to be a import type of car unlike a lot of foreign cars which depreciates greatly only after a few years of ownership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best car every I've owned

by LEXUS & HONDA LOVER from Raleigh, NC on Thu Apr 23 2009

Very reliable and worth the price . I bought my 98 lexus 3 years ago and only replaced a power steering pump, I have 256 miles on it and it still drives and handles like a new car with power and the gas mileage is unbeleivable for a car that size I get about 25 mpg honestly. most people can't beleive it is a 98 they assume it is a 02 or newer, if you looking for a luxury used car you can't go wrong with the 98-2002 Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Transportation

by Doc from Nazareth Pa on Thu Aug 23 2012

Excellent auto in all ways. Regular maintenance followed-- one repair in 123000 miles, a control arm was replace recently. Easy driving highway 30 mpg at 68 mph, city about 20 mpg on REGULAR gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Understated Luxury

by Doctor D. from Nazareth Penna on Fri Jun 18 2010

Purchased used. Previous owner had private mechanic near his estate who kept it like new. Lexus dealer now provides excellent service. 12 year old "new" car with 112000 miles and is flawless. Find one like this and enjoy an economical luxury car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

400 STANDS FOR 400,000 MILES

by 'OL GOAT from FLORIDA on Wed Aug 14 2013

I BAUGHT MY 400 IN 2010 WITH 72,000 MILES. IT NOW HAS 130,000 MILES AND DRIVES BETTER NOW THAN 60,000 MILES AGO. FOR THE MONEY, THIS CAR IS THE BEST ON THE PLANET, MY HONDA PILOT IS #2.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR OF MY LIFE

by LEXI from Sun City West, AZ on Fri Apr 20 2018

I have had this car since 2002 and have cherished it ever since. I hope it lasts as long as I do, because I want no other!!! It's been a "wonderful marriage".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

understated sophistication and comfort

by Dr. D. from Nazareth, Pa on Sun Mar 31 2013

125000 miles and still drives like new. Only repair--control arm. 30+ mpg highway @ 67 mph or 28 mpg a@ 70+mph, on regular gas .Considered newer LS but prefer this style and rear window visibility

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2