1999 LS 400

Consumer Reviews

1999 Lexus LS 400

$678 - $10,294  MSRP Range
1999 Lexus LS 400

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Lexus LS 400?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by Love My Lexus! from Arizona on Wed Aug 29 2007

I absolutely belive that the quality of this vehicle is immediately evident as soon as it is driven. The quality workmenship and engineering combines to make for the best car on the road. I have just purchased by second LS and see no change in the quality I experienced in the 99 LS. You will not be disappointed!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by goyo from Concord, Ca. on Mon Nov 25 2013

great car, I owned a 98 LS 400 for 10 years it had 258,000 miles when it got totaled. I immedietely went out and bought a 99 LS 400 with 118,000 miles. I look forward to many years of great driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by lexus owner from Brentwood, TN on Mon Sep 26 2011

I have owned a LS400 since 2004 and it has been the best vehicle for the money I have purchased and that includes a long list!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Reliable Runs Forever

by desertrat748 from Arizona on Thu Jun 12 2014

Best Car I've owned..fewer problems than anything i've had. I've had 3. For a car, the LS400 is hard to beat and worth every penny for the amount you get in return. Can't believe they last 20 years and still look new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A pure joy to own

by embrya005 from San Antonio, TX on Mon Feb 27 2017

I recently made my purchase for the 99 LS 400 over the newer 01 models wanting around the same price. I know that mechanically, there is no comparison between models as you get superior quality and reliability in these cars. I just like the slightly sleeker look of the 99 model over the bulky look of the next generation. Great vehicles...a pure joy to own and drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 lexus ls400 with 72000k, best car i have had!

by rick from blairsville, ga on Sun Oct 06 2013

if you can find ls400 or ls430 you better grab it, i am 69 and this baby is going to the grave with me! lol

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Happy Lexus owner from Greenville SC on Wed May 29 2013

I drove the 1999 Lexus listed off the lot and I couldn't be happier. Danny Walker and Ron Farrow jumped through hoops to see that I drove out of the dealership in this car. I highly recommend anyone to go see these guys they will take good care of you and your needs. Whole there be sure to go visit the lounge there is a very special young man named Bradley that runs the counter he is autistic and a doll. Thank you Lexus of Greenville, also Danny and Ron y'all rock.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable comfortable car

by ex BMW owner from Sacramento, Ca. on Wed Jul 23 2008

It is a great car. totally reliable and comfortable on long drives. It's not exciting to drive and does not handle like a BMW, but you won't have to take it to the dealer very often.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!

by sweet sue from Pasadena, Ca on Sat Dec 16 2006

This is a wonderful car and my 4th Lexus! I am sold on Lexus cars and wouldn't consider any other. The navigation system is flawless and has helped so many times.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by mtran from NY on Thu Jun 29 2017

This is the best car I have ever owned. The name Lexus speaks for itself. At the age the car is at now, it is still running smoothly. Only had 1 issue which was the original alternator the freaking car came with which is impressive. Classic styling that will never get old. Plenty of legroom for the passengers in the back with very comfortable cushioning on the seats as well. Overall, I wanted this car and it was the best decision I ever made.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2