2018 LS 500

Consumer Reviews

2018 Lexus LS 500

$75,000 - $84,220  MSRP Range
2018 Lexus LS 500

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

15 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2018 Lexus LS 500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

quite a performer, but not perfect

by Keep 'em two years on Mon Mar 12 2018

I owned the previous LS 460 FSPORT - the engine and transmission were sluggish. This current model is quite the performer. The engine and transmission are nearly perfect. I am having issues with the active noise cancellation. Causes ear pressure and the need to pop my ears frequently. Ruins the listening experience to the upgraded sound system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus LS500

by Chet Hayes from San Jose, CA on Wed Mar 07 2018

This Lexus is more luxurious than my previous Lexus and includes many more safety features that are invaluable. This is the most comfortable auto to drive and its handling is outstanding. Although it is a bit pricey, it is worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My 4th Lexus

by JoeS from Southern Illinois on Thu May 03 2018

Good tight comfortable car with plenty of room. Not a good handling car as it is heavy. Extremely quiet with excellent stereo system. Big change coming from an E63 Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I didn't think Lexus couldn't get any better!

by Margie from Chino Hills, CA on Wed Aug 22 2018

This is my fifth Lexus and each and every time I can't believe Lexus could improve over the last model! Really, what can they improve upon? It rides even smoother than before, air and heat in the back seats, more room in the back seat for passengers. The new mouse works great for searches and the voice control is great as well. I can't say enough for the standard of Lexus, not only is it a beautiful car inside and out; it performs in the exceptional category!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Surprise from Lexus! Not a good one

by Smooth as Lexus on Sun Jan 14 2018

Excellent sales experience. Well done on design and comfort. Loaded with tech. Sadly that's where the fun ends. 3 weeks into owning it the transmission is super aggressive, jerks so hard passengers regularly ask " facing problems with your new car". Things get worse when the car rattles if you accelerate on turning. Lexus service states all 2018 are built like this. Luckily I still have my 2008 ls460. I am selling this one, as Lexus won't own it and I am embarrassed to own it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great purchase!

by Chad Thomas from Houston Texas on Sun Nov 12 2017

I recently surprised my wife with this car for her birthday. She absolutely adores it. It's horsepower is unprecedented and it does extremely well with gas. It is definitely a car that you would want. The Luxury features of this car is beyond imagination. It is just all around an amazing car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My lexus ls 500 f sport is a miracle dream car.

by Skylinegtr from Kissimmee fl on Sun May 13 2018

My lexus ls 500 f sport is the best car I've driven .the car is awesome and has every features desired by anyone.it is fast..beautiful classy sexy and the handling is great.best car of 2018.?????

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

lexus gs 350

by jayspike from 'Massachuesetts, North Andover on Fri Apr 28 2017

I would recommend the lexus IS 500 2018 its a very nice car and its mileage is good.and personly i like the car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Jules from New jersey on Thu Apr 27 2017

Connie was my sales person he was very knowlegable he gave me the best deal he could. I tell all my friends to use hom

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding work manship

by Jfurb631 from Lubbock Texas on Thu Jun 28 2018

The attention of detail and workmanship is outstanding vehicle Having owned prior Lexus vehicles this is the most outstanding product that they have produced year to date

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2018 Lexus LS 500

The verdict:

With the exception of a frustrating touchpad control system, the redesigned 2018 LS sedan is a quantum leap into the 21st century for the model that launched Lexus.

Versus the competition:

With modern technology and interior design innovations, the new 2018 LS 500 is far more competitive and the LS 500h is finally a respectable hybrid.

A decade since its last full redesign, the Lexus LS sedan is all-new, going on sale in February 2018 for roughly $75,000. The long-wheelbase version has been discontinued, but the LS 500h hybrid returns, now offering rear- as well as all-wheel drive, just like the regular LS 500. This review covers both vehicles.

I drove three versions: an LS 500 with optional AWD, an F Sport version with standard RWD, and an LS 500h hybrid with RWD at a Lexus event in and around San Francisco. (Per our ethics policy, Cars.com pays for its airfare and lodging for such events.)

Barrier to Entry

There's something you'll have to get past if you're going to buy a Lexus LS, and it's not... Read More