NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 LS 500

Consumer Reviews

2018 Lexus LS 500

$63,923 - $110,886  MSRP Range
2018 Lexus LS 500

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

19 Reviews
74% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Lexus LS 500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

quite a performer, but not perfect

by Keep 'em two years on Mon Mar 12 2018

I owned the previous LS 460 FSPORT - the engine and transmission were sluggish. This current model is quite the performer. The engine and transmission are nearly perfect. I am having issues with the active noise cancellation. Causes ear pressure and the need to pop my ears frequently. Ruins the listening experience to the upgraded sound system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus LS500

by Chet Hayes from San Jose, CA on Wed Mar 07 2018

This Lexus is more luxurious than my previous Lexus and includes many more safety features that are invaluable. This is the most comfortable auto to drive and its handling is outstanding. Although it is a bit pricey, it is worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My 4th Lexus

by JoeS from Southern Illinois on Thu May 03 2018

Good tight comfortable car with plenty of room. Not a good handling car as it is heavy. Extremely quiet with excellent stereo system. Big change coming from an E63 Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I didn't think Lexus couldn't get any better!

by Margie from Chino Hills, CA on Wed Aug 22 2018

This is my fifth Lexus and each and every time I can't believe Lexus could improve over the last model! Really, what can they improve upon? It rides even smoother than before, air and heat in the back seats, more room in the back seat for passengers. The new mouse works great for searches and the voice control is great as well. I can't say enough for the standard of Lexus, not only is it a beautiful car inside and out; it performs in the exceptional category!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will continue to be Lexus owners

by Long Time Lexus Owners from Oxnard on Mon Jul 30 2018

Easy to drive, comfortable ride for passengers, all the newest safety technology - makes driving a great experience. Many years of Lexus ownership, this one tops them all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I’ve owned

by Kyates66 from Chicago Illinois on Mon Aug 13 2018

The car met all my needs, it has plenty legroom it also has 3 usb cords. Has all the features I need and love the cruise control and it’s functions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most bang for your buck

by Joedr5 from Remsenberg on Mon Nov 26 2018

A perfect mix of Comfort, styling and performance. The twin turbo V-6 is smooth and powerful, a perfect match with the 10 speed transmission. The interior is beautifully appointed with a very organic layout of the controls. The Styling is heads above the competition, as well as it's value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable and Comfortable

by Lexus Owner from Oconomowoc, WI on Thu Dec 27 2018

This car has terrific comfort, and the drive is smooth and quiet. It feels very safe, and the styling inside and out is sleek and modern. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not happy with transmission kicks

by Dallas from Dallas,Tx on Sun Oct 14 2018

jerks in transmission on low gears, terrible, had one returned it and the newer one is doing the same thing, This maybe my last lexus

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Surprise from Lexus! Not a good one

by Smooth as Lexus on Sun Jan 14 2018

Excellent sales experience. Well done on design and comfort. Loaded with tech. Sadly that's where the fun ends. 3 weeks into owning it the transmission is super aggressive, jerks so hard passengers regularly ask " facing problems with your new car". Things get worse when the car rattles if you accelerate on turning. Lexus service states all 2018 are built like this. Luckily I still have my 2008 ls460. I am selling this one, as Lexus won't own it and I am embarrassed to own it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2018 Lexus LS 500

The verdict:

With the exception of a frustrating touchpad control system, the redesigned 2018 LS sedan is a quantum leap into the 21st century for the model that launched Lexus.

Versus the competition:

With modern technology and interior design innovations, the new 2018 LS 500 is far more competitive and the LS 500h is finally a respectable hybrid.

A decade since its last full redesign, the Lexus LS sedan is all-new, going on sale in February 2018 for roughly $75,000. The long-wheelbase version has been discontinued, but the LS 500h hybrid returns, now offering rear- as well as all-wheel drive, just like the regular LS 500. This review covers both vehicles.

I drove three versions: an LS 500 with optional AWD, an F Sport version with standard RWD, and an LS 500h hybrid with RWD at a Lexus event in and around San Francisco. (Per our ethics policy, Cars.com pays for its airfare and lodging for such events.)

Barrier to Entry

There's something you'll have to get past if you're going to buy a Lexus LS, and it's not... Read More