2000 LX 470

Consumer Reviews

2000 Lexus LX 470

$5,020 - $14,240  MSRP Range
2000 Lexus LX 470

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Lexus LX 470?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Cost of Ownership

by Colorado Ski & Hockey Dad from Masonville, Colorado on Sun Feb 28 2010

We live in the mountains of Colorado. Most flatlanders won't even attempt to come up my driveway (12 degree grade), much less the switchbacks that lead to my house. I use my 4Low and ride the gears daily. I have 122K on my 2000 LX470 and aside from replacing the timing chain at 100K and the occasional change of fluids,brakes and tires I have never had an unexpected maintenance cost or unplanned downtime - which, for me, could be the difference between sleeping in my car 'til help arrives or getting home safe. My Lexus has been on the desert trails of Moab and the two track trails of Leadville, Gunnison and beyond. My only wish would be the one piece axle of the older Cruiser's but, since I have never had a problem and it's a capable four-wheeler, no big deal. Occasionally I'll wash it and take it to a fancy restaurant in Vail or Aspen wher it fits in just fine. It's a great value too - at 10 yrs old mine looks good, runs great and I'm pretty sure will easily go another 120K w/ no problem. They should give people 20 yr loans on these cars. Yes, they're expensive but when you consider the cost of ownership, over the long haul they're cheaper to own than just about any other car out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Ever

by Ricky from Houston, Texas on Thu Oct 02 2008

For the money, the is simply the best luxury SUV on the market. We purchased ours new in 2000 and have absolutely had no problems- -none. I have owned a 2003 Lexus SC 430 and this Lexus beats it hands down for ride and comfort. Features are unmatched in any other SUV. I also own a 2007 Mercedes G500 and I prefer the Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this car sight unseen.

by truth2ak from Unalakleet, AK on Wed Jan 17 2018

I live in Alaska and had to come in for a few months so I purchased this auto because I was going have to rent one for 3 months and could't find a luxury suv less then $10,000. I found this one and because of the Carfax, service records and maintenance I knew it had been taken care of I purchased it sight unseen. I was not disappointed. Although the vehicle handles like a much smaller vehicle, looks smaller on the outside, is actually considered a full size suv, and has tons of room on the inside. The leather is in excellent condition, and looks more like a 2012 then a 2002 model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very poor long term

by Barneyhyphen from Nashville, TN on Sun Jan 28 2007

We have owned this car from new in Feb 2000. This large SUV drives like a car and is extremely comfortable. However... At 72,000 the Transmission self destructed. Lexus supplied the new tranny and we agreed to pay the labor. At 86,000 the driver's seat totally split along two seams. Lexus has refused to stand any of the repair replacement cost. At 102,000 tohe internal termination block/fusebox started a high pitched whistle. Lexus stood the part, we stood the labor. 105,000 the paint starting to show very extreme deterioration. Ongoing conversation with Lexus to repaint the car. Manufacturing fault with 99/00 LX470's in Smokey Topaz.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The finest vehicle I've ever owned!

by Indy LX470 from Indianapolis, Indiana on Sun Jul 11 2010

I've owned Jaguars and Mercedes and this is by far the best vehicle I've EVER owned. Maintenance isn't cheap but it's nothing compared to a Mercedes. The body style is almost identical from 98-2007 so it's timeless. Great truck, comfortable, and the height level adjustable suspension is great for ease of getting in and out of my parents. If you want luxury but safety of an SUV...this is the vehicle. You will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

here is 70% of tire life left on this auto.

by Lisa from on Sun May 14 2017

The mileage represented on this vehicle is accurate.This is a smoke-free automobile.Vehicle has minor dings on the exterior body.This vehicle has a smooth shifting transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best trucks ever made

by Rayn from Wayzata, MN on Sun Aug 20 2017

Everyone knows lexus is the best and this is the best truck for the money. It has adjustable suspension for rock climbing or snow with a push of a button. The 4x4 system is stronger and better than anyone else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus luxury

by Mike from Newark Delaware on Tue Nov 14 2017

Great 4x4 and awesome. Ride. Luv the style Could. Not have been happier lexus lives up to its name. And style

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Lexus, zero problems even with this mileage

by Fojno from Ohio on Tue Oct 03 2017

Great reliable 8 passenger SUV. Low miles for a 17 year old truck. It has been well maintained. Next buyer is getting a well kept car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best SUV!

by Euroflipn from Jacksonville Florida on Wed Nov 08 2017

This vehicle is one of the best vehicle ever own a very reliable Toyota Lexus powered you can always depend on you will not regret and is very comfortable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1