2001 RX 300

Consumer Reviews

2001 Lexus RX 300

$2,318 - $8,330  MSRP Range
2001 Lexus RX 300

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

32 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Lexus RX 300?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever driven

by lexusLUVA from Cary NC on Fri Dec 17 2010

from BMW to Saab/Volvo & Mercedes... this is the one I would POUR money towards to keep on the road... but after slamming more than 120Kmiles onto this SUV - I've put minimal $ into it, surprises me every year! I bought it for the ample rear leg room for growing children - but the car continues to accomodate changing needs from family trips to single passenger transport... this is a great choice for the look, the cost and the feel on the road. I just hope my heart will survive if I ever need to replace it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still looks great

by Davec from Illinois on Sun Sep 02 2012

My wife's car Owned the car for 9 years. Very comfortable, fit and finish first class, still looks very good. Not as reliable as I expected from a Lexus. Replaced wheel bearings, door locks. Replaced the engine at 92,000 miles (free by Lexus). Replaced the transmission at 145,000 miles. We're about to replace it with a RX350

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my RX but...

by Lead Foot from Mt. Laurel, NJ on Wed Dec 06 2006

I traded in my 2003 Infiniti G35 (rwd) for the 2001 RX300 because I was looking for something a little sturdier in the snow and rain with a luxury car-like feel and found it. It was between that and a Murano. Although I gave up horsepower I chose the Lexus and fell in love with it because of the smooth look and feel. It was like driving on air....until the transmission went at 68k. I only had it 8 mos. I asked the dealer if this year model was prone to this and he basically said yes. Out of all my research I did on a 2001 RX300, I did not find anything about the RX's transmission for that year model. Luckily it was still covered under warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all-around car I've ever owned

by Luxury Mom from Northwest Arkansas on Fri Sep 21 2012

I've had my 2001 RX300 for 10 years and have loved this vehicle the entire time. It has seen me through 2 kids (now 9 & 7) and has grown along with us. Very reliable and safe (AWD version). Will be trading it in for GX470, but I'm a little nervous about getting such a big SUV. The RX is really the perfect size for hauling kids, groceries, sports stuff, etc. Had regular maintenance performed at Toyota dealer and feel like it would run forever. No problems with transmission as others have reported, but I admit I drive like a "little old lady". Seats are very comfortable, even on regular trips of 4+ hours. Love that it has lots of pockets and holders for purse, phone, sunglasses, etc. Sorry guys, but it's a well-designed woman's car. Kids, dog and Mom still love this ol' car. The GX is more manly and not designed for a woman driver, but I hope it's as reliable and comfortable as the RX.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

by Lou e g from Gastonia, NC on Mon Jan 17 2011

This is a true luxury vehicle.. bought in Oct 2010 it had 99k miles on it. have put on 4 k miles and no problems. Ride is fantastic. smooth and comfortable change trans fluid and oil.. purchase a ext. warranty just in case.. drink holder is the only bad part of this car. drinks are not secured.. design flaw, but everything else is ok.. on screen computer give mpg, but it should tell how many miles you have left to drive until tank is empty.. visibility is great 25 mpg on highway.. must use prem. gas that sucks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice SUV

by Abby from kenner, LA on Fri Jul 15 2011

I just bought this suv and love it, it runs so great. This is first lexus and i really enjoying it. I will do the next one again lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Car!

by Jlfied88 from Texas on Thu Nov 09 2017

I loved this car! Dependable and luxurious. It had 200k miles when I sold it and was still running great. Only sold to upgrade to a vehicle with newer features such as Bluetooth and backup camera.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Reliable Car

by DC Dman from Simi California on Sat Oct 21 2017

Never a problem and with 163000 on the Odometer it will go another 100000 easy! Fun to drive and very comfortable with all the good features too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun and Reliable

by DC Dman from Simi California on Mon Oct 30 2017

Comfortable, stylish, reliable, excellent stereo system with multi CD, power everything, seats, mirrors, and it is in a fun package great resale value too. The turning radius is the only grip I have if you need to do a U turn on a tight street you will be doing a 3 pointer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth every Penny

by Jim from Chicago, IL on Fri Oct 05 2007

I love my RX 300. Handles great in the snow and is very reliable. I traveled across the US with no problems. Seats could be a little more comfortable and the stereo could have been made easier to reach.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4