Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 RX 400h

Consumer Reviews

2008 Lexus RX 400h

$6,362 - $16,130  MSRP Range
2008 Lexus RX 400h

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

29 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Lexus RX 400h?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wow what a car

by Lovin' the Lexus from Boston on Sat Oct 11 2008

From 1984 until 2008 I have always owned Honda's so when it came time to buy my next car I was sold on the Acura MDX - until I drove the Lexus 400h at my husbands request. The car was so quiet and so smooth. The fit and finish were flawless. The handling superb. It does not have the sports car feel of the MDX but it will save you on money on gas without scrimping on luxury and reliability. We are averaging 27 mpg in a cross between highway and city driving, not bad for an SUV. The touch screen nav system is easy to use, no knobs to fuss with. The only negative is I wish the sound system was a little more up to par with the rest of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, MPG not as advertised

by Hybrid SUV fan from Fort Lee, NJ on Wed Feb 20 2008

First and foremost, it's a Lexus. The quality, performance and design are fantastic. However the mileage falls well short of the advertised government MPG rating. We get at best 23-24 MPG which is well short of the 29-30 MPG. If you're buying a hybrid SUV to save money on fuel, don't buy this one. Get a Ford Escape Hybrid instead. If you're buying this car to own a high quality luxury SUV that's eco-friendly with ultra low emissions and great performance, gadgets, styling and quality, this is your car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Counting on it for the long haul

by Spritle from Island Lake, IL on Fri Nov 19 2010

I was able to find a 2 year old car with only 14000 miles. The mpg is fair for a hybrid but good for an SUV - Around 28-30. There are nice and over the top amenities (Nice - precipation sensitive wipers, Over the top - wipers for the head lights). Overall not much more comfortable than my previous Saturn SUV - also with heated leather seats and moon roof. I am hoping that I am am going to get my money back with the extended certified pre-owned warranty and legendary Lexus reliabilty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lovin' my 400h in Colorado

by ClarkentColo from Firestone, CO on Tue Oct 11 2011

I bought my all wheel drive 400h used with about 36,000 miles on it. I LOVE it! Great acceleration, great power, with my 75 mile mixed route of highway, city and side roads I get about 29.1 mpg. I traded my 2 wheel drive 04' Cadillac SRX. I love my Lexus. I have owned it for three months, it is solid. My only little complaint is that the handling is a little soft or tippy (compared to my SRX), and the road noise is a little high (of course the engine is quiet and sometimes the engine is OFF because of running on the battery) so there is no engine to mask the outside noise.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lexux 400h

by Hybrid Owner from Texas on Mon Oct 10 2011

This is a comfortable car for a 6'3" person -- something seldom found in other vehicles of this type. Excellent gas mileage -- almost as advertised on the sticker. Great cabin electronics -- easy to operate. Excellent (smooth) breaking. The personalized service that is provided by the dealership is beyond anything previously experienced at other dealerships.High road noise coming from rear of car. Remote garage door / gate openers require special attention to program.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Good As Its Reputation

by Luxury Hybrid Owner from Cincinnati, OH on Fri Sep 13 2013

I have been researching foreign hybrids, specifically the Toyota and Lexus brands, for 2 years and having the opportunity to purchase one has been a dream come true! The ride is incredible; the styling, both inside and out, is very classy, and getting 24 MPG saves $$$. The sales experience was no-nonsense and very above board.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Lexus Mama from Fresno, Texas on Sat Dec 29 2012

I was a little apprehensive at first. But once I took the plunge and purchased my first Luxury car, I have no regrets! I love my 2008 Lexus Rx 400h. The drive is so smooth and has all the features that I need. Awesome SUV for a busy mom that is always on the go! Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very safe vehicle

by nsrao from Niskayuna, NY on Wed Oct 18 2017

I bought it as replacement for my first Rx 400h which was totalled due to rear ending by a huge full size truck. I walked away without a single ache in my body.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

9 years old and still feels like new!

by Hcrecruit from Illinois on Wed Aug 02 2017

Comfortable, stylish, rides smooth, quiet, love it! Only negative is it is a hybrid and only gets 24.5 miles per gallon. But, for an suv that's not bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice luxury car To drive

by Crazy from Kyle, Texas on Fri Apr 13 2018

It’s a nice luxury car that you can be comfortable in and very beautiful and drives very well has no issues and is a reliable vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3