2004 Aviator

Consumer Reviews

2004 Lincoln Aviator

$2,140 - $9,280  MSRP Range
2004 Lincoln Aviator

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

24 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Lincoln Aviator?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Glad I Have One

by proud owner from St. Louis Missouri on Fri May 06 2011

The Aviator is the only vehicle I have fallen in love with. It?s elegant, it?s classy, it?s beautiful and it is the perfect size! I?ve had mine for two years now and I am not giving it up any time soon. Only complaint is the gas mileage, but I can live with that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Aviator

by Great Family Car from on Fri Aug 12 2011

This car has been wonderful for carting around my young children... and all their belongings! Very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!!!!!! Love It

by Slick from Ver Beach Florida on Thu Jan 25 2007

Just got a used Aviator and am very happy with it ......it is a Great car the safety features are fantastic and it handles great it is like riding and driving a cloud

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxurious, Classy, Dependable with Power

by Executive Lady from Ottawa, Canada on Thu May 31 2007

I bought this over a Mercedes because the base package included a lot of extras that Mercedes charged extra for -- eg running boards. I've had it for 3 years and will be buying out my lease because I did get good value for the "higher" cost these types of vehicles demand. Only problem I had is an electrical feature that freezes the car in park when it's brake lights go out. Sometimes, you don't want to be stuck in a dark parking lot at night (I'm a woman) just because the car won't move because your brake light has gone out! I'd think that this feature should have been a flashing warning on the driver panel but to render the car undriveable is ridiculous! There was a way to release the brakes manually with a flashlight and a pen or screwdriver, but this is silly. This has happened to me 3 times -- once because the brake light was not functioning and twice because there was some electrical short or problem that caused the vehicle to think the brake lights were not working properly. Once I was stuck in front of a car wash entrance on a very busy weekend with a whole line of cars behind me! Anyways, this was the only issue so far and I still think the Aviator's performance and look was well worth the cost. Glad I didn't opt for the Navigator because of its size and gas consumption. Too bad this Aviator is being phased out. I get tons of compliments on it. Very impressive when I use it for business trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable!

by Cubmaster from Smiths Station, AL on Wed Jan 08 2014

I purchased this vehicle when as a Cub Scout Leader I needed more room for gear and Scouts than an automobile had to offer, and needed towing capacity to haul a unit trailer. Aviator has been great, and fellow scouters now call me the "redneck with class" when I show up with it at camping events. Safely and comfortably hauls six scouts and two adults to and from events, and has no problem towing 8 x 10 enclosed trailer loaded with gear to and from camp sites. Currently have @ 120,000 miles on the SUV, and with standard maintenance have had no major problems. Look forward to driving this vehicle until it just won't go any more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent design and reliability. Very Happy.

by peyton from dallas, tx on Thu Feb 22 2007

Extremely well designed. I am a previous Navigator owner and found it to be a much better car overall. I do not think comfort is the same as the longer wheel base Navigator, and I know I am in the minority here, but that is my opinion. The SUV drives well, handles well, is priced right and has provided me with very reliable transportation with no mechanical problems. Only in the shop for regular service & once for seat belt adjustment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great for the money, and the name

by Off roader from Denver, CO on Wed Feb 06 2008

This is a great SUV with great features that can take it all and look good in the city. The comfort is great and the center front console and on board computer is very convenient. The stylistic Aviator stands out from is sister SUV Explorer and Mountaineer with legendary Lincoln reliability and the grill that makes a true statement of dependability. The Aviator is for the true enthusiast, making your dreams take off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Practical, Durable, but Still Average

by DJ on the Highway from St Charles, IL on Thu Jul 13 2017

Aviator gave me the step up from my Explorer experience I was looking for in a used SUV. No problem there! However, after three years and 30,000 more miles, this ride is looking a little prematurely outdated. I have to admit a similar year Explorer Limited or Eddie Bauer if far more handsome even now in 2017. Front end suspension rotted out and parts were a challenge to find now. The limited 3 year run of this model is now a drawback. Premium fuel is a drawback; Ford should have engineered without that requirement. Shifter problems: read blogs on this noted defect for all Aviators. Over-rated V8 in my opinion, Ford's 4.0 V6 just as good. Fair resale value, but not a workhorse lux truck that is worthy of continually investing in ongoing repairs after 130k miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

focus on the vehicle features

by lito from md on Sun Dec 11 2011

It's a very nice SUV, I had one and it's apropiate for vacations w/ family or friends, confortalbe seats

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the greatest mid-siz SUV ever made

by el cachorro from chicago on Tue May 01 2007

this truck is the best! its got looks, style, confort, control, reliability, you name it. and the msrp price is defenitly worth it. i would recommend this suve to anyone who can afford it. it is truly the best looking cars, truck , SUV or anything i have ever seen! this wuz ma first official car that i bought with my own money. and i don't regret anything at all! it's just awesome

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2004 Lincoln Aviator

When it comes to siblings, it seems the middle child always seems to get less attention.

And so it goes with the new Lincoln Aviator SUV.

Just as the Navigator is an upscale interpretation of the Ford Expedition, the Aviator is an upscale interpretation of the Ford Explorer and Mercury Mountaineer.

The Navigator's base price ranges from $49,050 to $62,910. The Aviator starts at $39,995 and runs to $54,635.

But a slightly less luxurious Mercury Mountaineer ranges in base price from $29,950 to $40,125.

The Aviator hit dealer showrooms in November 2002, but it hasn't taken flight. Lincoln has sold 6,789 Aviators through the end of March, according to the industry trade publication Automotive News... Read More