2019 CX-5

Consumer Reviews

2019 Mazda CX-5

$16,898 - $31,138  MSRP Range
2019 Mazda CX-5

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

225 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Mazda CX-5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 225 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Mazda is moving on up

by MadMariner from Baltimore, MD on Thu May 16 2019

I traded a Mercedes GLC300 for the 2019 CX-5 and, honestly, this feels like an upgrade, although the Mazda is priced almost $20K below the Benz. The interior is better, sound system just as good, and technology is superior. Also much more entertaining to drive (I have the GTR, which has the turbo engine, although I drove the GT and it was pretty well powered). Thrilled with the Mazda and really happy with the upscale direction they are taking with he product.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CX-5: Best handling mid-size SUV for the money

by ChrisW from Middletown CT on Sat Feb 16 2019

The CX-5 isn’t the most powerful SUV in it’s class, but it’s the most fun to drive, bar none. It’s big enough for everyday, quick, and loaded with electronic goodies. Highly recommended!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied with my chose

by Chrissy187 from Charlotte, NC on Tue Jan 15 2019

This vehicle meant all my needs. It has extra room in the back for my friend and family. And it great on gas. I would recommend vehicle for purchase or even as an rental.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Grand Touring Model

by PDXLEO from Portland, OR. on Tue Jul 09 2019

I LOVE this crossover! There are some things that it does that just make me smile. Heads up display is so nice. You can "customize" your dashboard display, push button start, power lift gate, power seats, power moon roof, heated seats and steering wheel, my iPhone connects to the display screen, lane assist, adaptive cruise control/ brake assist and my 2 favorite things: the side mirrors close inward when you walk away & ventilated seats (think air conditioning for your butt..... really wonderful ..... lol). Seats are comfortable, drives/handles well, everything at your fingertips. Now, I do wish it had more towing capacity and had I gotten the turbo it would have. My mileage around has been good, about 25mpg. I took a trip up to Mt. Hood and back and averaged 28.4. Needles to say I'm happy about that. The biggest plus is that my Black Lab loves it as well, lots of room for him!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great good looking drive loaded with technology.

by jaxman from Jacksonville, FL on Thu Jul 11 2019

Got this new CX-5 to replace my 2102 CX-9 which I gave to my daughter. Decided to down size so chose the CX-5 which still gives me all the passenger seating I need and adequate cargo room. The combination of inline 4 cyl engine and 6 speed automatic transmission deliver all the power and response I need. The new technology in this car is amazing. The color back up camera is like a wide screen color TV. The grid superimposed on the camera view makes back up easy and the cross traffic warning is a great safety feature. Lane keeping and collision avoidance are also great safety features. Apple CarPlay lets me use my iPhone to listen to music and use Apple Maps as a navigation aid. Ride and handling are great and for highway driving I am getting better than 30 mpg. Can't comment on reliability as I have had the car less than a month but my old CX-9 was the most reliable car I ever owned so that's a good indicator.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great new car!

by Big Steve from Blanchard, OK on Tue Mar 12 2019

I had not looked at Mazda in many years, but I was looking for an AWD and really liked the style of the CX-5. The features are great, I highly recommend the premium package, worth every cent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the most fun cars To drive

by Rizzo from Burnaby B.C. Canada lots of fun to drive on Sun Apr 14 2019

Lots of fun to drive the signature model. Very good steering Road feels good above Average Interior easy controls lots of power fairly good Gas Mileage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Handsome, great car

by Lisa from Portland, OR on Mon Jul 22 2019

Traded in 2016 red CX-5 for 2019 model. Color even more gorgeous, some of the detailing gives it a sharper look. Pick up is better, handling is nice. Also really dependable, which was one of the main reasons I bought this model a few years ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super comfortable and quite ride

by Deree from Easton, MD on Tue Apr 23 2019

I love the look of the CX-5 and all of the features it has. But the best part is it has an amazingly smooth and quiet ride. Much better than my previous SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So fun to drive

by Jess from Bristol CT on Thu May 09 2019

So glad I decided to go with this car after comparing and considering similar cross over vehicles. The Mazda CX-5 Touring has some amazing safety features and it is so fun to drive. It also feels like a real luxury vehicle without the huge price tag. If you are thinking of switching from a sedan to a cross over this is definitely a good choice and you will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23