2009 Mazda3

Consumer Reviews

2009 Mazda Mazda3

$2,896 - $9,792  MSRP Range
2009 Mazda Mazda3

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

36 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Mazda Mazda3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive - great features-great value

by Texas' driver from Dallas,TX on Sun Feb 15 2009

After driving a Toyota for 12 years, and after test driving the 09 Corolla, 09 Civic and the 09 Mazda 3, no doubt the Mazda 3 has the best features, more power and nice gas economy. The engine (manual trans) responds extremely well. The Radio sound quality is excellent. Both heater and A/C are very powerfull. Am driving 50% highway and 50% city and fuel consumption is about 30 mpg. Great handling and did I mention that it's fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Mazda 3 2.0L I Sport Sedan

by Ricrick12298 from Florida on Mon Apr 18 2016

My Mother bought this car in 2010 , todays date is April 18th 2016, this car has been a very reliable car so far we have put 75k miles on it, this car now has 107k, it has had only 1 problem the whole time she has owned it, she had to change the mass air flow sensor other than that she have never had to replace anything else, this car has all original parts other than that sensor, it has never broke down on her ever!!! she would rate this car a 5 out of 5, she is very satisfied with her car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Mazda 3

by Loves Zip from Methuen, MA on Mon Nov 04 2013

I did a lot of research before buying this car and it paid off. I love mine. It handles great and is super fun to drive. The only complaint I have is the cooling and heating are both awful. I live in New England and this tiny care takes for ever to heat up. If that is important then look somewhere else. As for me the rest of the good out ways that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car and value for the money

by Mazda3 Lover from Sanford,Fl on Thu Jun 29 2017

I love my car I've had for almost 2 years and in those 2 years I've replaced minor things like brakes and tires and two motor mounts for this car, I am very happy and satisfied with my purchase it definitely has a lot of features that I can use. And now I have to replace a mass air sensor and I had to replace the ac but all of this was covered under warranty so I really only spent like 500 on tires and brakes and oil changes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Thecarmanmanman from Ventura, ca on Mon Jan 23 2012

Great car great on gas! Looks good smooth drive. Wish it had a bit more power. Great value for your money. Good car for teens first car. Cheap to insure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by C.D. from CA on Thu Aug 17 2017

It might be an old car, but I love it! I was never into Hatchbacks, I thought they were beyond ugly until I saw this one. It's curvy in the right places, it fits A LOT of things in it. I'm 163,000 miles in on this car driving all over the west coast and she still drives amazing. The only downside I would say is that everyone Ive met that's owned a Mazda3 seems to have trouble with smog tests. I'm in that current situation but she'll be up and running soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most economic car i owned

by Eli from Montreal on Mon Aug 28 2017

This car is really good to own. Rust can get to it easily because of the snow but when it comes on the gas consumption, handling, reliability i recommend it. It's basic so not lot of gadgets and complications.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest on gas

by Mwala from Fort Worth, TX on Sat Jun 30 2018

It handled very well in the mountains of Colorado. A Must own vehicle. It is extremely good in gas. Its quieter at night. The handling is great even at high speed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Car To Drive

by Bill W. from Tulsa OK on Tue Jan 30 2018

For a 4 cylinder, it's got nice go power. Like the old commercials used to say...zoom, zoom! It handles great and has a very good MPG rating. All the reviews I read online were testimonials of reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressed

by kscookie6 from Kansas City on Sat Aug 19 2017

We just bought this car used and so far very impressed with it. Nice looking and fun to drive! Great little car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2009 Mazda Mazda3

The first-generation Mazda3's viability shows automakers that this is how you do it: Come out with a car that's so competitive when it's new that it's still a good choice years down the line. It also shows car shoppers that they don't necessarily have to wait for the redesigned 2010 Mazda3, due in the first quarter of 2009. Mazda ceased production of 2009 models at the beginning of November, but given the slow state of car sales right now, they should be readily available. Building one to order isn't an option, but Mazda says you should be able to find what you're looking for through its dealer network. A quick new-car search on Cars.com found almost 200 of them within 20 miles of our headquarters.

By way... Read More