2013 Mazda5

Consumer Reviews
2013 Mazda Mazda5

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

11 Reviews
2013 Mazda Mazda5
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Putting the "Mini" back in Minivan

by Mystro78 from Bronx, NY on September 9, 2013

I have a growing family (soon to be 4 in all), and did not want a large car to drive in the city. This car Drives live a Civic and gives me the extra space I need when Moving with the family and a friend or 2.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value, fun to drive.

by jd from on August 29, 2013

This is a great car/van. Really fun to drive. The hidden storage is great. I am 6'4" and I fit in all the seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If you run on a low budget

by Chepe from Fort Lauderdale, FL on October 3, 2013

Useful, best you can get for the money if you have just 2 children. Drives like a sedan. Feels better than a Camry.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like my compact mini-van

by MrsV from on June 24, 2015

I've had my Mazda 5 for two years, bought it new. So far, I haven't had any problems with it. I am happy I bought it simply because I prefer driving small cars, but I needed something with a little more room for my two kids. It's great for getting the kids in and out, especially with the sliding rear doors. We rarely use the seats in the third row, but they're nice to have when we have an extra passenger. It's really easy to park since it's small and has a good turning radius. Here's my list of dislikes: My husband complains about not enough leg room. He is 6'2". He seems very uncomfortable on long trips. Not enough storage space. Too much road noise. We have car seats on both of the seats in the second row, which makes it a big pain to try to get into the third row. Have to remove one of the car seats when getting in and out. I wish there was an option for a V6. When I first bought the car, I felt like the acceleration was too slow, but now it doesn't bother me. The radio display kind of bugs me. It doesn't display the song information on regular (terrestrial) radio stations. For Sirius/XM, it shows the song info, but you have to press the Scroll button to see the whole name of the song. Even with my dislikes, I would still recommend buying. Make sure you purchase a roof rack because there is not enough room for luggage for a whole family when you're on a roadtrip. You should also know that the manufacturer recommends using synthetic oil, which isn't cheap, although you don't have to change your oil as frequently.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value, seats 6, roomy and easy on gas

by lochardo from toronto on December 13, 2017

It has the capability of a minivan whit sliding doors, 3erd row seating, flat boxy cargo area (when seats down) without the burden of a 6 cyl engine. It still a Mazda 3 platform with a 2.5 L engine but with added flexibility for things like going camping or light moving

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty driving micro van

by Bennetdj from Vancouver, WA on December 14, 2017

This car has a very sorry feel when driving it. Very responsive steering and suspension. Drivers more like a sports car than a van. Could use a little more leg room in the driver's seat (I am 6'1"). Has an amazing amount of room for such a small vehicle. I have 2 saint Bernards who got easily into the back (with the back seats folded down. Has seating for 6 people. Be

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Poor paint adhesion, bad warranty

by stowevter from Colorado on October 14, 2014

We have a 2013 Mazda5 Sport with 22,000 miles and the paint is coming off the car to bare metal around the wheel wells. It is also flaking off both rocker panels and about 18 inches up the doors on both sides. Mazda North America says this is not covered. We own two Mazdas, this plus a 2013 CX9. We will never buy another one because Mazda does not stand behind their warranty.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty smaller van

by Mazdafan from Cleveland Ohio on February 20, 2018

The Mazda5 is perfect for a smaller person who doesn't like big gas guzzling cars but still wants some extra room (holds 6 ) or cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not really worth it

by Jayrobert from Allentown, pa on April 11, 2015

I bought one and traded it in a year for my Scion XB. Much better value for the money, better price too.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for small families - Not enough storage

by LB Mom from Long Beach, CA on September 28, 2012

Second row captains chairs are great for getting kids in/out. Third row bench seat is very small, but usable when needed and can fold down for good amount of 'trunk' space. The one BIG down side is the lack of storage space for the driver. The doors don't have pockets, there is no center console (except for a tiny open box), there is a shelf above the glove compartment that is too small to hold anything - though the glove compartment is large.. Overall, I like the car and am happy with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2013 Mazda Mazda5