2009 MazdaSpeed3

Consumer Reviews

2009 Mazda MazdaSpeed3

$4,880 - $15,332  MSRP Range
2009 Mazda MazdaSpeed3

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Mazda MazdaSpeed3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Lot of Car for the Money

by Audifan from NH on Mon Mar 08 2010

My son asked me to find him a car so that he has one when he returns to the US. He gave me four options - WRX, GTI, A3 and Speed3. I have had cars from all four manufacturers but am an Audi fan at heart. After I drove the Speed3 the search was over. Absolutely no doubt that the Speed3 had performance, comfort, design features and space advantages over the other three. The interior is devoid of all the little needless stuff that looks old and weary after 2-3 years - this car has a lot of understated style. Red stitching and highlights are perfectly presented. Too many small cars, and hatchbacks in particular, suffer from obstructed visibility - you have blind spots just where least need them in a small car. The Speed3 does not have this problem. Driving in traffic will not leave you with a tension headache because you can not see anything when making a lane change. From a visual-perceptual standpoint, this is a very comfortable car to drive. Transmission is superb - nice tight shift pattern for a 6 speed and reasonably short throws. The clutch engages just off of the floor so you can shift heel-toe. All of the instrumentation is simple, convenient and easy to reach while driving - except the radio. Until you learn the position of all of the sound system controls, you can spend way too much time looking at them rather than the road. The gas filler cap cover is a nice accent but it could be a bit beefier. Same for the wiper blades -they are a bit cheap for a car this nice. You can get a much nicer set for $20 at an auto parts store. The MP3 input is inside the center console so no one will see it if you forget and leave your iPod in the car. And before my son gets his car he will have to pry my fingers off of the steering wheel.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent deal for the money

by DarkMob from Missouri on Wed Aug 26 2009

Have had this car for a little over 2 months. I have the GT model and the HID headlamps are nice. Ride is a little rough, but i blame the OEM tires more then the car design. Only gripe i have about the interior features is that i can't switch over to defrost without the auto climate control coming on and blowing at full force. Reliability for me has been good except for one CEL(Check engine light) that came on at 1.5k miles. Ended up being a mis-fire in cylinder #4. No big deal. Except that this car is a very good car for the money, highly recomend it. Fun to drive, good exaust note, and very sleeper design. Most people don't know what they are looking at until they see your rear bumper pulling away from them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hot Hatch

by Four Banger Love from on Mon Dec 01 2008

Late Last month I found myself in a bind, should I go with an 09 civic si, a cobalt ss, or go all out for WRX Sti... I was confused untill the moment i took the Speed3 on a test drive, After that moment i fell in love. I would have never expected so much for such a small price tag. It has all the performance yet the versatility of a hatch, this is a must buy!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lot of fun, for a small price tag.

by shaunx from fredvegas va on Thu Jan 28 2010

Fast, well handling, fun to drive and not bad to look at. I have owned everything from diesel trucks to zo6 corvettes. I would compare this to my mini cooper S, with far more room and a more pep. Now if mazda can improve on the gas milage a little they would have the literally the perfect car in the speed3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You've got to be kidding

by Country Lawyer from Healdsburg, CA on Sun Jan 04 2009

This car looks like a cute little economy car, but it is a tiger under the hood. I have never had so much fun driving. It handles like a charm, and the engine purrs like music. It is affordable, and amazing. I am 6'2" and it is roomy, and carries whatever I need. I agree that it could use a sunroof. But, it drives like a zooming sports car. Your only regret will be if your radar detector doesn't warn you soon enough.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most bang for the buck

by MS3-007 from Minnesota on Wed Oct 08 2008

I was stuck in a boring Toyota Corolla before I discovered the Speed3. I had to wait to get one but it was worth it. The performance in the Speed3 costs thousands more in other cars. The 2.3 liter engine starts pulling strong at 2,000rpm and that makes it easy to drive in slower traffic so there is not a lot of low end shifting. It's easy to stay in second or third gear in rush hour traffic. The only draw back is the torque steer when you really want to get on the gas. The exhaust note and engine noise aren't intrusive to any person who likes the experience of just driving no matter if its just to the store or a trip on the winding roads of Western Wisconsin. The interior is top notch. The seats are nice and supportive without being uncomfortable. The interior materials are top notch and compete with the likes of VW for the right textures and feel. I like the solid feel of all the controls too. Getting in and out of the car is easy even for me. I'm 6'4" and the steering wheel tilts and telescopes so finding a comfortable driving position is simple. The back seat can be a little cramped for tall passengers. Thanks goes to Mazda for making the Speed 3 practical too. The hatch is great and lifts out of the way and the rear seats fold down for plenty of cargo space if you need it. The only thing I think the car lacks is a sunroof, but it didn't effect my decision to buy it after the first test drive. Overall I think this may be the last car that I ever buy. That's how much I love the performance and comfort of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Your Moneys worth

by skydiver from PA on Wed Apr 22 2009

having owned this car for a few months now i have to say that besides for its great power,. Im more impressed with the handling. I took a turn at 100 mph in this car that i have never taken over 80 in any other car i have ever owned and it felt safer. It truly is awsom. Not only that the aftermarket world makes lots of fun oodies for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive for the money

by socal5990 from Jurupa Valley, CA on Mon Nov 27 2017

Now I'm going to be a Mazda owner for life because this car was so much fun. Over 200lbs of torque and for less than $15k it's a steal than most cars coming off the line now. It's a very under rated car and so I'm so glad to have the opportunity to own one. It feels very luxurious with the leather seating and modern dash. Low maintenance for a fast car. The only constructive feedback I can give is to put synthetic oil because the turbo burns oil fast and it would nice if it was all wheel drive, but for the price point I'm not complaining at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never had an issue with the car

by Eoncars from Tampa, FL on Thu Jun 29 2017

I am currently considering buying a newer version of this car or a similar car like a Mazda 6 from Mazda. I like the foot room in it being someone who is over 6 foot tall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ive owned

by Ballislife from Cottage Grove, MN on Thu Aug 02 2018

This car has met the requirements of how i expected it to be. Everything through out was just the best for me. Runs like a dream, smooth and sporty just the way i like it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2