2001 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2001 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$2,387 - $11,303  MSRP Range
2001 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Affordable Ride

by Road and Sun Worshiper from Texas on Wed Jan 30 2008

After 45K miles, I still enjoy driving my '01 Miata. It is as good as advertised--modestly priced, attractive inside and out, superb handling, reliable, economical to maintain and operate, and just plain fun to drive. Its flaws are few, but noteworthy. Without side body moldings, it is extremely suceptible to parking lot dings and dents. The top latches are poorly designed, wear out quickly, and are expensive to replace. I have to use the sun visors to pin the latches shut. They were the subject of a dealer alert but not a recall. The leather seats are fragile, prone to tears and cracking despite my meticulous care. Overall, though, I love this car and would buy another one without hesitation.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

**Best Roadster***

by Roadster Enthusiast from Brooklyn, New York on Thu Jun 26 2008

I have a 2001 Miata LS, red/tan, which is just a FANTASTIC car. I enjoy driving around New York with the convertible down. Even though it is 5 years old (in mint condition) someone always says "What a beautiful car". This car is FUN TO DRIVE and not bad on gas mileage. RECOMMEND HIGHLY!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 Mazda Miata Automatic Transmission

by Biloxi Steve from Mississippi on Fri Jul 29 2011

I purchased a 2001 Mazda Miata LS with 69,000 miles. I am getting 20 mpg in city driving with a lead foot. The auto transmission shifts smoothly but lacks mid range power. The handling is incredible. It is like driving a racing go-kart. The air conditioner is very good after initial 3-mile cool down. Make sure that the ECM has been upgraded before purchasing a 2001 or 2002 model. The upgrade will cost you $1000+. Routine maintenance items such as tires, brakes, sensors, and filters are very cheap for miatas. I would also recommend using non-ethanol gas. The ethanol will corrode the fuel line inside the fuel tank. I found this out with my car. Two hours of labor and $150 worth of parts to fix.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Agile, stylish, and dependable

by AlisonAZ from Seattle WA on Thu Apr 11 2013

I've found Miata's with lowish mileage are not too hard to find. They are often clean and well cared for. Miata owners love their cars. My final pick was a 2001 green with tan top beauty. 76,000 miles. It runs very well and has more zip than my recently totaled 99. The seats are more comfortable. (the 99 was t-boned by a red light runner) There are a couple of minor disappointments. There is an aftermarket remote door lock alarm system that has quirks. I am alarmaphobic - this makes me nervous. The 2001 reccomends premium gas . . . . Really? I've owned an Alfa spyder and an older Porsche. This is my favorite of the 3 sports cars. It is cheaper to maintain. It has very good dependability rating. The roof does not leak - like the Alfa. Handling is wonderful! Seating is a little tight - I am 6' tall - but limber. I have only had this little gem a couple of weeks. I hope for a long term relationship.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car

by EBNB from Muncie, IN on Wed Mar 15 2017

I found this car on Cars.com for $5,000. It has been worth every cent. The handling, 6-speed manual transmission, and design are all excellent. The only downsides to any Miata are the lack of space and horsepower. I can run a consistent 7-second 0-60 time, which shows that it has plenty of power for any practical application. Other than that it's a great sportscar. It even handles surprisingly well on ice. I haven driven it daily since July and it has stayed reliable and fun. No issues so far and hoping that it stays reliable. Definitely one of the most fun per dollar cars out there on the market today, especially because it will hopefully maintain quite a bit of its value over the next few years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Continues to run like a dream after 16 years!

by JWoodAbq from Albuquerque, NM on Sun May 21 2017

This car is fun to drive, especially with the top down on sunny days. It corners well, and get good gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Miata - lived up to all expectations

by new Miata owner from Chestnut Ridge on Mon Dec 26 2011

Great little car. Really fun to drive - 6 speed manual transmission shifts very smoothly. Great cornering and handling; very responsive; not a lot of pick up though - not slow, but not really fast due to its 4 cylinder engine. Best looking roadster around. I'll have this car forever....

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the price

by los69 from Cherry Hill on Tue May 23 2017

We have owned this car for seven years and other than the AC, this car has had no issues. What a fun car to drive with the top down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The car I've wanted all my life

by Mymimiata from Southwest Colorado on Tue Sep 04 2012

My MX5 is a dream to drive. It's the fun car I didn't know I wanted for many years. It's my once in a lifetime purchase: plenty of value for the money. And I got the buy of the decade through the Cars.com listing. Thank you. Thank you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SECOND OWNER ONLY!!

by ZOOM from Denver,Colorado on Fri Jun 03 2011

GREAT CAR TO DRIVE FUN IN THE SUMMER WITH THE TOP DOWN!! GREAT ON GAS WITH PRICES ON GAS PERFECT TO HAVE DURING THE GAS INCREASE.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Mazda MX-5 Miata

The 2001 Mazda Miata, like the original roadster that appeared as a 1990 model, hardly has enough room inside to carry a tune.

Doesn't really matter how quick the Miata is when, as has been the case since the day Miata bowed to show up all the British roadsters ever built, there's no way to look at an 18-wheeler through your rearview mirror without developing a case of the yipes.

Sure Miata is a lot of fun when you sneak out to one of those few stretches of deserted country road untouched by construction barricades, drop the top (manual, no power, so drop it is) and cruise.

With its Munchkin size, Miata is like playing with a Go-Kart.

Unfortunately, when you have to share the pavement with... Read More