Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$3,044 - $11,172  MSRP Range
2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

21 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Just basic good clean FUN.....

by Silver Bullet from central PA on Sun Aug 25 2013

My 2002 Miata LS has everything I need to enjoy the drive and none of the boring, useless, unnecessary junk that most car manufacturers push. Cup holders, Bluetooth, backup cameras, and other expensive electronic gizmos are not my cup of tea! If you are interested in a reliable, fun, 2 seat, old school roadster the 2nd generation 99-05 Miata is your ride!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mazda did a great job on this sportscar

by FastEddie from Loganville Ga on Fri Oct 21 2011

Great little car,I'm 5'8" tall and I don't have any problem with interior room,it may be an issue with some folks though.Very dependable ,strong running 4 cyl. engine.Mine is a 5 spd.Never had so much fun with a car.Only 4 cyl I ever drove that I liked.Handles great.No downside to the car for me.I can see why people might want to race/drift this car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

14 years old and still going Strong

by Hombre from Somewhere USA on Thu Dec 08 2016

As stated in the title my 2002 LS is a survivor. The dark green exterior has a few bumps and bruises but she looks great for her age. Original tan leather interior is aging well, no rips or problems anywhere. Great car. Engine and trans perform like new. 80,000 miles and nothing other than routine maintenance. All OEM equipment still works like it did in 2002, except for the owner. Aways liked the looks of the 2001 thru 2005 the best.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Addicting to Drive

by Trav from Des Moines, IA on Sun Sep 28 2008

No problems what so ever in the 9 months I've had it so far. It can handle a lead foot driver, but won't punish with bad gas mileage. Car has a lot of performance potential and handles like a go-kart, but I recommend not driving it during winter. Just an f.y.i. those who say this is a "girl" car have no room to speak when they have not driven one before.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Fun car I've ever owned

by River Runner from Great Falls, MT on Mon Jan 07 2008

Simply a ball to drive! Six speeds on the floor and crisp handling. If you don't have to take more than yourself plus one other, and don't have to take the kitchen sink with you, you'll loves this car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love my Miata!

by TheOlyGuy from Olympia, Wa on Wed Mar 27 2013

Overall the best bang for the buck! So upgradeable! I am always getting compliments on it. I am a die hard Miata fan now!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A+++ OUTSTANDING

by Earl from Cincinnati on Thu Nov 27 2008

I have never had so much fun driving a car. The handeling is precise and the comfort and layout is supurb. Mazda really hit a home run with this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classy looks

by Silver LS from Southwestern Utah on Sat Jun 17 2017

If you've always wanted a convertible, this is the right vehicle for you. Excellent gas mileage, 5 speed transmission gives the extra feeling of power on the roadway. Sleek lines since its inception. Has been a trouble free auto over the last 10 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable & fun convertible car I ever had

by TascaniMiatafan from Madison WI on Sat Sep 15 2018

The car is way more stronger I thought it was. I traveled for 3 hours under heavy rain from MKE ato Madison WI ( 8/20/2018) at night and the Miata not just survived , performed like a champion . A not the car, my skills and luck ! I huge nothing but respect for this car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Newest edition

by TheDude on Thu Sep 28 2017

One of the purest driving experiences. With the increasing push of automotive enthusiasts who want cheap fun cars they are increasing in value and have gone up roughly 60% in the past two years. The things to watch out for is frame rail rust which will result in exponential repair costs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata

It's not every day that people tuck little notes under the windshield wiper of our test-drive cars, asking us to call them for a product chat. But that's exactly what happened with the 2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata Special Edition.

The little Japanese roadster tends to evoke emotional responses from drivers, passengers and passers-by.

The Miata has been around since 1989. The Guinness World Records says it's the best-selling, two-seat convertible of all time, with more than 250,000 sold in North America alone.

We are both longtime Miata fans, although the Special Edition's $27,790 sticker price gave us pause -- despite the fact that it came with a gift set that included goodies like a Miata badge and... Read More