Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$3,393 - $13,461  MSRP Range
2004 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love it

by puffin from Louisiana on Tue Feb 28 2012

I am 63 yrs old. I have owned 4 earlier sports cars, from a 35 whopping HP Fiat 850 spider to an XKE Jag. I love this car. It is peppy with 140 HP and corners very well. I have found no defects or problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mazda MX-6 Miata

by MX-5 monster from Tampa, FL on Sat Nov 04 2006

Very good quality car, great handling, and awesome feel driving. The car is extremely reilable and is quite comfortable. Space is limited, but you get over it after driving the car and realizing how nice it really is. it is a very strong car for its size, and looks very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun!! Fun!!

by topdown sally from Virginia Beach, VA on Mon Dec 08 2008

Love this car-I get the same feeling I had when I got my drivers license- when I couldn't WAIT to drive somewhere. After a hard day at work-all is forgotten and a smile returns. Some cars get you from point a to b-but this one gets thru all the bumps in life!! It's like an old friend. Buy one-enjoy life!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun!

by Slingshot from Phoenix, AZ on Wed Oct 28 2009

I love this car! It has the sleek appearance of a much more expensive sports car and great reliability. I have owned one before and will def own one again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like new

by Feltf1 from Panama City, Florida on Tue Oct 25 2011

Finally found a used Miata that looked and drove like new. Had a smooth buying experience with the dealership and have had no issues since we drove it home. Overall, very pleased with the whole process.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Fun Fun

by PopTop from North AL on Mon Jun 09 2008

The Miata is very enjoyable to drive. While the ride might be stiff thru certain rough road conditions, I can overlook this w/the top down. I bought this Miata "used" on June 7, 2008. Traded in a 2000 Miata. I own a "family" vehicle (SUV). But everyone needs a "toy". Life is too short. And the Miata puts a smile on my face. FUN FUN!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing first car its so much fun

by Zues on Fri Aug 04 2017

The miata is just a perfect first car; it's cheap, reliable and loves to be revved. It has little power but driving it you can't tell unless ur just gunning it in a straight line against something thats not 20 years old. Putting the top down on a sunny day is so amazing and quick. Its a fun manual car that u wont really need to put money into to maintain. Although, its so fun as is that u almost want to put some money into it and make it even more perfect. Buy this car in manual with a soft top i doubt ull find something more fun.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun, great value

by JVL from Rutherford, NJ on Mon Jul 31 2017

Very fun car to drive. Not very practical because it has 2 seats and small trunk, but it is very reliable and a lot of fun to drive. Amazing value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Miata is a car you fall in love with.

by Zoom zoom Carl from Milford on Sat Feb 03 2018

My Miata is just ausome to drive. Reliable and well made. I never had any problems with it. Definitely use premium gas for better performance.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Legal & Moral Great Fun

by Polo Duck from Temecula, CA on Sat Jun 24 2017

My Miata is one of two sports' cars that I own (the other being a Corvette) and I love it just as much as its big brother. I can toss this car on the back country twisties in a way that the Corvette just can't match. When I want to go "canyon carving", the Miata is my car of choice. Sure it could use some more ponies, but on a road course, autocross course of twisty mountain roads, there aren't many cars that can hang with a Miata. My Miata is my lithe little "scat back" and my Corvette is my big bull "fullback".

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Miata moves into fast lane

Without so much of a rev of the engine, the guy in the hot-rod, silver Honda S2000 next to me seemed to sense there was something sinister lurking under the hood of my 2004 Mazdaspeed MX-5 Miata.

Maybe it was the cool 17-inch Racing Hart wheels wrapped with Toyo Proxes high performance radials. (Fancy talk for nice tires.)

Maybe it was air dam under the front bumper. The spoiler on the trunk. Or the Velocity Mica Red and tinted headlamps. (Fancy talk for souped-up looks.)

"A Miata?" he asked, rolling down the window at a stoplight and pointing to my test car.

As the Dodge Hemi ads say, he was about to find out.

A thrust into first gear, a drop of the clutch and... Read More