2002 Protege

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mazda Protege

$243 - $6,331  MSRP Range
2002 Mazda Protege

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Mazda Protege?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best car i have ever owned

by jeremy from verona, ny on Thu Dec 15 2011

i got this car in spetember, it has been the best car i have ever owned, i have a stick shift. it is fun to drive, sips gas. just an all around great car. for me. i am a college student adn it fulfills all my needs, it can get a little crowded, being i am 6'4" and my friends are not exacly small, but for my use it works well!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy and Satisfied

by Jim from Tehachapi, Ca on Fri Jan 29 2010

Bought my 2002 Protoge sedan new, and have been very happy ever since. A simple, 4-door, roomy vehicle with all the power features (even a moon-roof, which I use almost everyday), and purchased for a lot less than a comparable Honda Civic. The car has get up and go when you need it (a 2.0 liter motor), and gets decent fuel economy when you get off the pedal (up to approx 30 mpg). Have just shy of 200,000 miles on it, and have had no problems at all with simple regular maintenance. Will buy Mazda again, maybe the "3". Hope this was helpful!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Reliability and Great Handling

by Economical Enthusiast from Worcester, MA on Mon Mar 30 2009

This car is perfect for anyone that enjoys taking corners quickly but is also looking for a car that is cheap, reliable, and socially acceptable. Engine noise does become noticeable above 60 MPH, which is also the point where your highway mileage will start dipping below a generous 32 mpg. The front disc brake calipers may become rusty and need replacement if the brakes are worked on sloppily (the piston seal may become damaged.) Rear passenger often comment on how quiet the car is (since they can't hear the engine noise.) I like this car much more than the two civics I have owned previously (1989 and 1995).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever owned

by city driver from Philly on Tue Aug 16 2016

We bought this car new almost 15 years ago and have had no unexpected problems short of a few plastic parts that have cracked. Very inexpensive to replace what parts have needed replacing. This car has spent its entire life outside and used on short daily commutes in stop and go traffic. I will keep this car until the wheels fall off if that ever does happen!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value and Reliability

by Happy Mazda Owner from San Francisco, CA on Mon May 24 2010

The ES has so many great features! Have had mine for 6+ years and 90k with very few issues. Great gas mileage too (30+ mpg)!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good zip, but nothing special

by ChiCarsGuy from Chicago on Thu May 18 2006

I picked the Mazda Protege instead of the Civic and Corolla because I found the accelaration much better in the Protege. It has been a workhorse for me, easily handling the 82,000 miles I put on it in the 3+ years I've owned it. It's been a great highway ride, but its transmission is a little sticky when the engine is cold.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car.

by LX02 from Virginia on Mon Jan 05 2009

I bought a new LX (manual transmission) in 2002. Have had the car for the last 7 years and have put over 120,000 miles on it. Only non-routine work has been the timing belt, which I had replaced at 70,000. Some of the interior features weren't put together well and knobs fell of the radio. All minor interior issues, but for the price, I feel this is a great car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still going at 200,000 miles!

by Lizzy from Arizona on Sun Feb 06 2011

Bought the car new and it has been very reliable. I have a long commute and it averages 31 mpg on highway. And for a 4 cylinder, it has a lot of pep to it! This car is one that could be handed down to other family members. Truly is a GLC (great little car).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car

by Cat girl from Beverly Hills, 90210 on Wed Aug 18 2010

Bought new and love it. I will buy another Mazda. Fits all my friends. I love the stereo and sunroof.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable

by mr. commute from cocoa,fl. on Wed Mar 25 2009

This car never breaks down 145.000 miles new fan belts and timing belt.but radios seem to stop working . I would buy another

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3