Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 RX-8

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mazda RX-8

$2,460 - $9,300  MSRP Range
2005 Mazda RX-8

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

30 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mazda RX-8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car rocks

by Rotary Fan from Southern California on Sun Jan 29 2012

60,000 miles and completely reliable. A blast to drive and it seats 4 adults. There are a few quarks to the care and feeding of the RX8, like never shut it down cold and drive it like you stole it. Follow these simple important guidelines and the car is as trouble free as any I've owned. Could use a few more ponies, but that it a small negative compared to all the benefits. Very comfortable ride and handles like an Indy car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The way to drive is the RX-8 Revolution

by RX-8-ER from Ann Arbor, MI on Tue Jun 27 2006

There is not a single feature of this vehicle that I can truly complain about. It is truly awesome and in its own class. I have a 2005 RX-8 6/Speed Grand Touring. Every sports car enthusiast I have let drive it feel the same, some are at a loss for words, but heir faces tell the true tale they just want more! One guy didn't want to give me back my key. It is really what a sports car is meant to be! The gas mileage is the only thing that could be better, but it is directly proportional to the way I drive it (the way it was meant to be driven.) Rotary engines are true road racers not necessarily dragsters, but with the high R's it can out run many over the distance It handles remarkably well and very balanced. It is a true sports car and needs to be compared at that level to other luxury sports cars it out-performs. I would say it even handles better than some SUV's with snow tires on it in the winter, if you are a good driver. This car is meant for real drivers, the skittish need not consider it for they would have no appreciation for its true attributes. My girlfriend always wants to take though! The style is in its own right a stand-out amongst other vehicles in its class this is a "Drivers Car" and the look of it says "Take me for the ride of your life"!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Mazda Lover from Indiana on Fri Jul 06 2012

Great car! Bought used but held up very nicely. You just need to know a little bit about a rotary engine so you don't blow it up. But it's not that hard. It's a fun car for an awesome price! And the hidden suicide doors in the back are an amazing little suprise. You can't tell from the outside that there are 4 doors but much easier getting people in the back without having to get out of the car everytime. Very useful! Love this car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car short of a Porsche

by I like cheap gas-powered toys from Orlando, FL on Sat Aug 25 2007

Absolutely the best bang for the buck available, period!!!This car is the funnest car to drive short of a GT3 or 911 Turbo for a mere fraction of the price, and I have driven alot of exotic cars. I drove a Nissan 350Z after driving an RX8 and the better car stood out in leaps and bounds; the RX8. The 350Z is noisy and slow for a 3.5 liter. Don't waste your money on the Nissan. I even drove a 2007 Shelby Mustang. If you want coarse, harsh, noise, and a plastic, low-class interior, go ahead an waste your money. The engine vibration on the RX8 is non-existent, and the noise sounds similar to a turbine-jet engine and just as smooth. A S2000 is just as fun, but has NO-torque and is amazingly small and expensive. Do yourself a favor, find a used RX-8 and you will not get a better car for your money. A true DRIVER'S CAR !!! The only downfall is the gas-mileage, but if you expect sports car performance you can afford a little more gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by MazdaLover from Vancouver, WA on Mon Aug 20 2012

I recently purchased this car and am very satisfied with my purchase. The price was lower than most and the condition of the car was great! The service was quick and friendly. I left very happy and would recommend this dealer to any of my friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Didn't know driving could be this much fun!

by Nickname (Example: Sports Car Enthusiast) from Location (Example: New York, NY) on Tue Jul 03 2007

Just bought my 2005 RX8. This is the most fun driving I've ever had. I can't believe how many people have approached me and told me they love the car. It is fast, sporty, and very comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mobile man cave redline at 9000 rpm's!

by RX8_man_date on Sat Aug 26 2017

One of the most well balanced and best handling cars out there to drive. Comfy seats and fun to drive. You need room to get it up to the higher gears, so open roads and highways is where you can appreciate the value of the car. Stop and go traffic is not ideal for this car as the fuel economy is a little low for this type of car. It is a sporty car so it's a give and take trade off. Overall a good car and reliable if you do regular oil maintenance. It needs a minute to warm up but then you are good to go to enjoy shifting gears on the 6-speed that actually drives better the higher the rpms.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sweet little speedster

by jonny boy from Hudson Florida on Thu Sep 30 2010

6 speed is the only way to go Not quick off the line but holds it own with the big boys I feel right at home in the drivers seat the 1.3 liter, 80 cubic inch power plant delivers every time

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

buy

by money from Georgetown on Sat Mar 05 2011

I have a Rx8 with 28,500 miles. Never a problem. I was sceptical about buying this but am glad I did. There is alot of bad reviews from this car but people dont know how to take care of them. If you can maintain it like required it is a perfect car. Rx8 for life for me : )

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Don't listen to the NaySayers

by Lovthe8 from on Thu Feb 05 2009

This is a Sports Car through and through. People that know how a car should handle talk about the 8 all the time. The rotory isn't the torkiest but its way more fun to drive. Keep the RPMs up and it pulls hard straight through 4th. Its also super practical as "sports cars" go. Nice size trunk, and back seats that even have tie points for child seats. Take CARE of your Rotory and it will out last a piston engine everytime. If you want a a real sports car, you can't match the performance for the price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3