Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Tribute

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mazda Tribute

$2,248 - $7,360  MSRP Range
2005 Mazda Tribute

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mazda Tribute?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Jim from Manhattan, KS on Tue Aug 23 2011

I bought this vehicle 7 years ago and all I have done is change the oil and one set of tires and currently at 60,000 miles. Good mileage, very functional, small and maneuverable. I would consider another one depending on how they change it for 2012.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mileage vs cost of each mile

by 2005 tribute standard from on Sat Mar 28 2015

Mileage on car is 222000. Cost me a cluck, tires, oil, air-con compressor. That's it! Think the numbers speak for themselves for the Tribute.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never a complaint

by SUV driver from on Thu Dec 09 2010

Bought new and have never had one problem! Comfortable, reliable, spacious, good gas mileage...what's not to like!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Ramundo from Ross, Oh on Tue Nov 08 2011

We have the 4 cylinder version that gets great mileage while having adequate power with 5 adults and luggage on board. No mechanical problems. Not the most stylish but a great value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by Marcy from Lawton, OK on Sat Mar 03 2018

I've had this vehicle since new (2005 to 2018), and it is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned (compared to new Jeep owned 10 years, and others owned fewer years). It has never left me stranded, and repairs have been normal maintenance (oil, filter, brakes, tires, battery). No problems with motor, power train, power doors and windows, etc. The only negatives are minor issues, such as driver side seat belt recoil, CD player, and rear view mirror adjustments.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mazda Tribute

by morgs98 from BROWNSBURG, IN on Tue Apr 11 2017

I love my Mazda Tribute. I've had it for several years now and it has been very reliable. It was my first car and i love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A comfortable drive.

by anachap from Chicago, IL on Tue Jun 19 2018

Bought this car used. It is almost 15 years old now but still looks new and drives great. The mileage/gallon is decent for an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Mazda Tribute

by Linda L. from Round Rock, TX on Tue May 15 2018

Very comfortable. Easy to drive. Lot's of room inside. Convenient convenient rear hatch. It get very good gas mileage and was very affordable. I highly recommend this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Trouble free and easy to drive.

by Tribute lover from California on Tue Jul 07 2015

I bought the Tribute new in 2005. It now has 88,000 miles on it. Low mileage because I owned 2 cars for 5 of the 10 years I have owned the Tribute. I have only had to buy new tires, brakes, and battery in 10 years. Pretty common replacements. I take excellent care of it and have the oil changed every 3-4 thousand miles. Being a single woman it has been the absolute best car for worry free driving. Most of the miles have been highway miles and I never hesitate to take road trips. I would recommend this car or would sell this car to anyone without any reservations or concerns. My only issue is the road noise. But I will take that over a car that is in the shop every few months.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Mazda Tribute

by Happy Driver from Raleigh, NC on Wed Sep 26 2012

We bought the Tribute new, V6 - Auto. We now have over 167,000 miles on it. Never a problem!! Just changed the front brakes and turned the rotors at 150,000 miles. Back brakes are still great! Smooth ride and lots of power for this vehicle. Front seats are a little short! Changed all coolant, hoses and the transmission fluid at 100,000 miles. Change plugs every 75,000 miles, on the 3rd set. However, I would not have had to, as they were still in fair condition, but I did anyway. I use OEM plugs. Oil and filter are changed on schedule using premium full synthetic oil and a OEM oil filter. Great car! Has to be reliable, my wife drives it and can't have her in a vehicle that breaks done, or leaves her stranded on interstates. It is still fun to drive, we love it and it still rides and drives like new. Key is a good car to begin with, and TLC with on time maintenance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2