2000 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$685 - $7,593  MSRP Range
2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes Benz 2000 was very reliable and all

by JGem from Seneca on Sun May 28 2017

This car me too all of my important needs , to work , home , Anderson or any other places , best car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The C280-Class / W202 Is A Future Modern Classic

by Norwegianstyle from Valencia, CA on Mon Jul 31 2017

It's next in line to the 190E / W201 which has started to climb in value. With either the L6 and or the V6 engine you will be surprised with engine response when you put your foot on the gasoline pedal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Once a Mercedes Always a Mercedes

by Alex from Ca on Mon Dec 18 2017

It has been a wonderful car. I love how it drives. Its good on gas as well as speed since its supercharged when u want to feel the thrust it will obay.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Love it... from Chicago, Il on Sun Jun 20 2010

This car is awsome due to lasting a lot meaning realiabilty. My C class is a 2000 and it currently has 302,000 miles. Just did normal maintainace and had a brake light switch to change. This car still runs great. I had it checked out for rust and not even a spot of rust in 302k miles. Around a half of its miles are highway miles but still. Would reccomend the older model not new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Trader Guy from New York on Thu Feb 17 2011

I owned the C-230 Kompressor for a few years that I bought used from the MB dealership. As it was the last of the old body style, they wanted it out of their show room and I got a pretty good deal on it. The driving is incredibly smooth & fluid. I tweaked it a bit with a K&N Air Filter, and hotter sparkplugs but otherwise left it stock. Problems: first was a sputtering noise coming from the passenger side airbag that no one could explain. The dealership said it was the AC unit and put it an entire new one but the noise continued. I guess it was the airbag warming up. At about 90k miles, the odometer digits, etc., became too smeared to read, and the single wiper would no longer move. The dash digits problem was a pricey replacement of the dash cluster that I opted to skip and the wiper turned out to be a single bolt coming loose disconnecting the wiper motor from the movement arms (referred to as the transmission). The final problem came from my high level of deep u-turns. I noticed a sort of metalic stretching noise when executing a U turn. Eventually, a front (passenger) strut connection snapped probably from all the hard u-turns. Overall, it was an excellent car. Fairly easy to work on if you're reasonably handy with decent amount of tools.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my 2000 c-230!!

by SilverBenz from St Petersburg on Mon Feb 19 2018

I have put 560,000 miles on my 2000 Mercedes Benz c-230 Kompressor. It still runs like the day I bought her. Keep up the maintenance and get things fixed when they break and you too can get as many miles as I have on my little baby. After all those miles would you believe that the air-conditioning has never had a problem. Choose Mercedes-Benz or choose nothing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The most expensive car to fix I ever owned

by Former C-Class Owner from Detroit, MI on Fri Jan 08 2010

Ok, look. The car looked great. Then the rust started. Then a few very minor equipment failures that cost about a grand to fix, EACH. The problem with this car is that it is just too expensive to operate once it begins to need repairs. Averaged about 3 grand per year for each of the 5 years owned. Better to go Volvo. MB also stands for major bucks repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fantastic little car (perfect size)

by moha from detroit MI on Sun May 24 2009

the cr is built like little tank.the quality of material is super.just get inside the car and you will notice that you are inside a mercedes.the people who build this car they put mind and heart in it.no doubt I recomand this car,machanicaly and estheticaly.every things is special about this car.if you can find one from 1997to2000.because after 2000 model,mercedes change the whole concept of the C230 model.NB.The body of the car doesn't rust,it's galvanised at 30% of metal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes C-230 The BEST Economical car!!!

by Macfrank from Overland Park, KS on Mon Aug 28 2017

After 17 years we sold this car. It is the ONLY CAR never left us. The most reliable car we ever had. We liked it so much that we bought another Brand New one Mercedes C-300. We sold the car well over the retail value, because of the condition we had it. The new owner is very happy with the Mercedes C-230. EXCELLENT CAR = EXCELLENT VALUE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 C230 Kompressor

by Stevo from Nor Cal on Sun Jan 20 2008

Fantastic Car! And now with the 2008 C Class out, this car is even more of a bargain. Great hwy mileage (29 mpg) and with a 16.6 gallon tank that's about a 450 mile range! This car doesn't ride quite as nice or as quiet as it's 2008 namesake but the ride and handeling are still quite good. The 4 channel ABS, Traction Control, Stability Program and brake assist make this a safe car to drive, especially for the inexpericed driver (How may of you have heard of a person in their teens or 20's being killed in a single vehicle accident because they lost control of their vehicle?). The Supercharged 4 cylinder performs like a V-6 without the extra weight. The Flexible Service System tells you when the car needs servicing (Usually between 8-13k miles). And to top it off this Car still has classic Mercedes-Benz styling. If you have a college student on a budget that needs a safe and reliable car, this one will fit the bill. Oh and it's fun to drive too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

The Mercedes-Benz C-Class is the smallest of the esteemed marque's U.S. product line. It's not in the same league as the midsize E-Class sedan, and wouldn't get the time of day from its snooty cousin, the magnificent S-Class. But it still must be held to a very high standard, considering not only the historic associations of the three-pointed star it wears, but also the price.

This humblest of Benzes, with just a smattering of options, still costs what 10 serviceable clunkers would, or perhaps one and a half very nice new compact cars. The bottom line on the sticker of the one I tested was $38,195, about 50 percent more than the current average transaction price of all new cars and trucks... Read More