2005 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$7 - $12,727  MSRP Range
2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

40 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes C230 Kompressor

by LoveMyMerc from Pittsburgh, PA on Mon Aug 08 2011

I spent a lot of time online reviewing cars and was split between the BMW and MB. I finally decided upon the MB and I love it!. I love the exterior look of the Kompressor, the sporty look always has heads turning. I am very pleased with all the options that are provided with this lower end MB. It rides very nice and handles the road with ease. I think my only negative about the car is that there is road noise at lower speeds. I have been told by the dealer that it is the sports wheels that creates the noise in the cabin. Other than that, I am in love!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Buy

by Bogie from Chicago on Sun Jul 17 2011

This is MBs best value in the last 20 years! We easily get over 30 MPG and can perform with any common "sports sedans" on the road! The interior is durable and classy/sporty, while the exterior paint and trim are solid as a rock. No rattles or fading, everything that is supposed to be with a sports/luxury car from Germany. The only problem I see is they are hard to find with mileage under 60k. If you can find one, snap it up, get it checked out, do regualer check-ups, and enjoy the ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second "C" class for me

by Tennessee hillbilly from Panama City Beach, FL on Fri Dec 03 2010

This vehicle, costing about the same as any well equipped American or Japanese sedan offers much better styling, fuel economy, safety and reliability for the money. I routinely get 33 miles per gallon on the interstates and freeways. Routine maintenance is expensive, but I have spent nothing on repairs, and have not experienced any part failures. Even with 80,000 miles, this car looks and behaves the same as when it was brand new. Paint holds up well in spite of beachfront weather and strong sun. the "C" includes many parts and features from the "E" class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

C230 Compressor 05

by Tiberiu from Dublin, CA on Fri Nov 23 2012

I bought this car as used in early 2009 with 35K miles, now it has 90K miles and other then regular maintenance (change break pads - rotor, water pump, at around 50-60K) this car simply just works flawless. Maintenance and repairs on this car at high end garages/dealers can be expensive, but if you find the right place/person, it can be reasonable. Great mileage (around 30MPG combined - normally driven), handling, quite powerful for a 4 cyl, interior and exterior design is simply a mercedes benz. I gave only 4 stars at comfort, as for long trips (10+ hours) it can become tiring, but this is a sport car, sport chairs ..etc so I don't know if it's really right to expect 5 star comfort out of it. I would buy again this car without hesitation ! I feel that it's going to stay with me for long time to come.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love my Kompressor Sport!

by Queenie from Bloomfield Hills, MI on Tue Jul 15 2008

This car is one of the best I have ever owned. It handles as good as it looks. Love the styling, handling, and ease of maintenance. Came with all the features I needed and then some. Still looks as good as the day I drove it out of the showroom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amg C55

by AMG 362HP from on Mon Sep 22 2014

A true sleeper. No one expects a little class to rocket past with over 360 hp...(362 to be exact) AMG really makes this c class a muscle car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

C230 Sport

by RoyS from SF, CA on Fri Aug 04 2006

Great fun to drive, very quick off the line Quite and just plain fun. The interior is clean and freah, use of alum. trim is just right. Seats support well even in tight turns.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice and Affordable

by Luxury Car Lover from Atlanta, Ga on Thu Mar 26 2015

The purchase of my new vehicle was painless. Christina Jones was very personable and made me feel confident that I made the right decision. The test drive sealed the deal. The car road very smoothly. After the deal, the detailing was immacuate and I was beyond pleased. I would definitely recommend her and this dealership to family and friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 C230 Komp Sport

by Jeffbx from Bergen County, NJ on Mon Aug 26 2013

Found a one owner 34k miles for $13k. Car is in excellent condition as since its a 4 cylinder car with a turbo it is the best of both worlds. Fast as i need want to be and 30+ MPG on the hwy. So far the car is as solid as you would expect a MB to be. Little noisy but I'm getting used to that.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Dependable

by Oedge1 on Tue Aug 22 2017

Car has never let me down. Very reliable and fun to drive. Great car for anyone to own. Never any major issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

MERCEDES' LINE GETS NEW LOOK AND FEATURES

In the duke-it-out near-luxe segment of the car business, Mercedes-Benz has reloaded for the 2005 model year.

That means the C-Class sedans, coupes and wagon get a new look and new features. They went on sale earlier this summer.

"The competitive landscape is tough," Bart Herring, C-Class product manager for Mercedes-Benz USA, said recently in San Jose. "We have to have something to talk about every year."

Oh, and how's a $54,000 C-Class sedan with a 368-horsepower V-8 engine for something to talk about?

But while the C55 AMG that arrived last month is for a select few -- Mercedes says it'll sell about 1,200 of them during the second half of this... Read More