2006 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2006 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$2,476 - $10,400  MSRP Range
2006 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

54 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2006 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love it

by newmb from Chicago on Fri Jan 14 2011

we wanted a bmw but the dealer had this 280-4matic for a great price of 17k with 55k miles. After test driving in Chicago on winter roads decision was made quickly that this is our car. Have it now for 3 month and we love, love love it. Great performance, extremely good winter car (all-wheel-drive) and boy what a smooth ride. I hope this one lasts us for a long time. Try to get a model with seat heating, this is phenomenal comfortable in cold weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first MB and love it

by westchesterman from Croton on Tue May 21 2013

I bought a 2006 C280-4matic in January from a dealer in NJ after I was driving my friends car while he was on vacation and loved it. Now, after 5 month I have to say that I never invested my money better. Rain, Snow, Gusty Winds- no problem. The all-wheel-drive gives you this unmatched feeling of safety when you run into the large water puddles on the highway. At 24MPG for a 3.0 Liter V6 with 230HP you have nothing to complain. I had it in for an oil change and the guy checked my breaks. In the back, at 78K miles still the first rotors. Yes, they are expensive to change on a MB, but the way they last you make up for it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great winter car

by jamy from Buffalo on Sat Dec 25 2010

just got a used 280 4matic with 50K miles. Never had a better winter car. Here in Buffalo you need a reliable winter car and this is the best I ever had in 24 years of driving. 23 mpg , great 3.0 liter engine, very responsive and sooooo silent and smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Winter Car

by Jack1401 from New York City on Fri Feb 26 2010

bought my 2006 280 4matic in November 2009. Rain and snow never a problem, you feel really save.Traction in snow is unbelievable, this car goes always. I get 21.5 MPG in average with 70% city traffic. Highway on longer trips 28 MPG. Always take the 280 and not the 240. The 240 is to heavy and needs more gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Trunk is small but great car

by Tom280 from Ashburn,VA on Wed Apr 14 2010

I just bought this 2007 280matic for my wife. 20MPG in Jersey City, 25MPG Highway. Sometimes she wishes to have a bigger trunk, but that is really all that bugs her. The car is very safe, extremly good handling in snow and rain (4WD). She had a 2006 Cadillac SRX V6 which was a disaster in quality and behaviour. So this is the first Mercedes, and certainly not the last one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 4th MB, and still in love

by Benzboy from Minnesota on Thu Feb 20 2014

Stylish, yet uncontroversial. Luxurious, yet utilitarian. The AWD is incredible. Like a typical MB; every switch, instrument, and gizmo is exactly where it should be. I took a 3 year break from MB, and leased a Honda. It felt like I was driving a go-kart! I won't be straying from my beloved Mercedes again

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car with small flaws

by Pete on Sun Feb 25 2018

I bought the C280 4-matic with 97K miles and hae 175K on it now, The car has been really relible in general. The drivers arm rest plastic has peeled up, the window switch location is lousy, the radio has lost a channel and the base headlights are awful on low beam. I have heard that these cars can have transfer case, cam adjuster and engine issues. I changed the transfer case fluid at 97K and the noise went away and has been fine since, The doors have bubbled from rust along the bottom but the body otherwise has been fine. Overall, I have been verty satisfied with the car and maintenance has been very minimal - no engine issues at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best one yet

by Den from NJ on Thu May 21 2009

I change cars very often as I drive over 40k miles per year. This one I've had for almost 2 years and do not want to let it go. This MB is perfect in every aspect. great fuel economy, easy to get around in the city and it looks awesome! with 4matic all-wheel drive for the winter - this thing goes through stuff that some truck don't! if you're thinking about it - just get it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I ever owned

by mike from swanton,oh on Fri Jan 12 2018

love my 2006 Mercedes C 230 sport . This car combine between luxury ,speed,comfort,relibility and affordability . Yes that car oil change cost around $80.00 but you only need to change it every 8-9k and yes that car takes only premium gas but you get excellent gas millage (up to 30MPG)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks Great and Handles Like a Sports Car

by Steve from KY from Louisville, KY on Tue Mar 10 2009

No complaints. I purchased this C230 from the local Mercedes dealer. It was one of their service loaners with 6,000 miles and it looked like new (was on the showroom floor). The only complaint I have is with the brakes/tires. Front brake pads only lasted 20,000 miles and the tires were about the same. The Continental tires flat spot overnight and it takes a couple of miles to make them round again. The 7 speed auto transmission is a little rough when shifting, but not a big deal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6