1998 E-Class

Consumer Reviews
1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

24 Reviews
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable-efficient car I've Owned-Mercedes

by Decoder from Michigan on December 20, 2011

I purchased a 1998 E320 Mercedes from the 3rd owner. At first I was reluctant thinking that being an older year this car would become a "nickel & time" drain on my wallet. It turns out this vehicle is the best used vehicle I have ever bought! It is great on gas, handles the best of any I have had, still isn't rusting out and I get alot of looks from the younger crowd (at least until they get close enough to see I'm in my 60s !! Ha!) This is German engineering at it's best! Recommend this model to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great ride!

by 305 from Miami, Fl on January 10, 2012

Bought from original owner with 76,000 miles. This car was obviously not a daily driver. Now it is. Will back up newer kid-hauler. Drives wonderfully...especially for a 14 yr old car! Look is still current. Only negative is that I had to replace the alternator. Found reliable MB Mechanic who did the job (new Bosch alternator, new battery, reprogramming fault codes, labor) for $900. Dealer would have cost $2000. Everything is solid on the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car overall

by 1998 E320 4matic sedan from Bay Area, California on April 7, 2009

What's the truth? People complain about maintenance costs, but it's no different than a Honda. Oil changes are at 10,000 mile intervals, while a similar 1998 Honda is every 3,000 miles. The Mercedes is roughly 9-10 quarts of oil. The Honda is roughly 4.5 quarts. Three oil changes in a Honda total 13.5 quarts of oil. It all averages out the same. It's a give-and-take. So quit whining about repair bills. Buy your own parts, then have a trusted independent repair shop replace the part and save some money. Based on a similar engine and transmission platform, my 1999 C280 is still going 240,000 miles strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far!

by RecentPurchaser from MD on March 5, 2012

I just bought a used 1998 E320 wagon. Overall, I love the car so far. Pros: quiet and smooth ride, spacious, 7 seats (two fold down in the rear), comfort, beautiful to look at, BOSE sound system. Cons: needs premium gas, getting 18 miles per gallon city; 25 highway; window controls in center console instead of on the door. Needed to buy an extra seat cushion for lumbar back support. I can't comment on reliability yet.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sporty yet practical(wagon)

by Benz boy from NYC on December 17, 2009

I do not understand why people crying so much about maintenance costs. There is no such a thing as cheap maintenance. Just like someone did in here math already, fewer oil changes more money saving. And I would absolutely agree with many here that if you not a car person and can't do a single thing yourself then be ready to open up your wallet for a guy who loves taking care of cars. I love this car - it serves well, runs strong even at 145K, has 5 speed trans and saves gas. Not to mention that name speaks for itself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Hearts Desire

by Luvin' my Benz from California on November 22, 2010

This is a beautiful older model vehicle. I chose it specifically for the body style and exterior appearance but found it loaded with extras, particularly all wheel drive which is great for rain and snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have owned

by hdjoe84 from carteret on September 5, 2017

This car meets all you needs. handling,room,safety, value for the money, reliability. well design car with some great features. All doors have airbags for the safety of all passengers. press button on key all windows and sunroof open. brake replacement warning light, low oil warning,keeps track of oil change intervals,lots of power and great fuel milage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very reliable car with low maintenance

by pkngunyi-macfun from Berkeley CA on October 11, 2017

The interior is very functional and comfortable....all gadgets are at hands reach. The leg room is comfortable. The car handles very well. The maintenance is suprisingly low.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by Jimbo from Brandon Ms on May 7, 2010

This is the best car I have own. I don't have to fix something very month with the high miles. This car get well over 200,000 miles and be ready for another 100,000 if you just keep the oil change. It is made to last a long time if you take care of it. I plan to buy another one soon!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Ride

by Repoman from Newport RI on March 8, 2010

It's now 12 yrs old. w/122k mi. Looks good rides very well and as it's so old there are hardly any taxes to pay on it. When something does go wrong the dealers extract a fortune to repair it. Fortunately, it has been relatively trouble free for all the years I've owned it. I hear horror stories about the electrical system but knock on wood, I'm fine. Mileage for last year averaged out to 26.4 mpg for 12 months. It used to be better before the Gument decided they wanted us to put alcohol in the gas tank as well - like about 28 mpg. Best car I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class