1998 E-Class

Consumer Reviews

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

$353 - $8,429  MSRP Range
1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

25 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable-efficient car I've Owned-Mercedes

by Decoder from Michigan on Tue Dec 20 2011

I purchased a 1998 E320 Mercedes from the 3rd owner. At first I was reluctant thinking that being an older year this car would become a "nickel & time" drain on my wallet. It turns out this vehicle is the best used vehicle I have ever bought! It is great on gas, handles the best of any I have had, still isn't rusting out and I get alot of looks from the younger crowd (at least until they get close enough to see I'm in my 60s !! Ha!) This is German engineering at it's best! Recommend this model to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car overall

by 1998 E320 4matic sedan from Bay Area, California on Tue Apr 07 2009

What's the truth? People complain about maintenance costs, but it's no different than a Honda. Oil changes are at 10,000 mile intervals, while a similar 1998 Honda is every 3,000 miles. The Mercedes is roughly 9-10 quarts of oil. The Honda is roughly 4.5 quarts. Three oil changes in a Honda total 13.5 quarts of oil. It all averages out the same. It's a give-and-take. So quit whining about repair bills. Buy your own parts, then have a trusted independent repair shop replace the part and save some money. Based on a similar engine and transmission platform, my 1999 C280 is still going 240,000 miles strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great ride!

by 305 from Miami, Fl on Tue Jan 10 2012

Bought from original owner with 76,000 miles. This car was obviously not a daily driver. Now it is. Will back up newer kid-hauler. Drives wonderfully...especially for a 14 yr old car! Look is still current. Only negative is that I had to replace the alternator. Found reliable MB Mechanic who did the job (new Bosch alternator, new battery, reprogramming fault codes, labor) for $900. Dealer would have cost $2000. Everything is solid on the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far!

by RecentPurchaser from MD on Mon Mar 05 2012

I just bought a used 1998 E320 wagon. Overall, I love the car so far. Pros: quiet and smooth ride, spacious, 7 seats (two fold down in the rear), comfort, beautiful to look at, BOSE sound system. Cons: needs premium gas, getting 18 miles per gallon city; 25 highway; window controls in center console instead of on the door. Needed to buy an extra seat cushion for lumbar back support. I can't comment on reliability yet.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sporty yet practical(wagon)

by Benz boy from NYC on Thu Dec 17 2009

I do not understand why people crying so much about maintenance costs. There is no such a thing as cheap maintenance. Just like someone did in here math already, fewer oil changes more money saving. And I would absolutely agree with many here that if you not a car person and can't do a single thing yourself then be ready to open up your wallet for a guy who loves taking care of cars. I love this car - it serves well, runs strong even at 145K, has 5 speed trans and saves gas. Not to mention that name speaks for itself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Hearts Desire

by Luvin' my Benz from California on Mon Nov 22 2010

This is a beautiful older model vehicle. I chose it specifically for the body style and exterior appearance but found it loaded with extras, particularly all wheel drive which is great for rain and snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have owned

by hdjoe84 from carteret on Tue Sep 05 2017

This car meets all you needs. handling,room,safety, value for the money, reliability. well design car with some great features. All doors have airbags for the safety of all passengers. press button on key all windows and sunroof open. brake replacement warning light, low oil warning,keeps track of oil change intervals,lots of power and great fuel milage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very reliable car with low maintenance

by pkngunyi-macfun from Berkeley CA on Wed Oct 11 2017

The interior is very functional and comfortable....all gadgets are at hands reach. The leg room is comfortable. The car handles very well. The maintenance is suprisingly low.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

by xabrinax from Newtown, CT on Sun Oct 29 2017

This car is a beautiful midnight blue with comfortable gray interior. It has nice wood paneling. It also has power

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have owned

by hdjoe84 from carteret on Wed Aug 16 2017

great car for the price, very reliable . meticulously maintained, great handling and v8 power.this car has a lot of life left.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

With the new E320 Station Wagon, Mercedes-Benz has introduced a car that is essentially obsolete.

The dramatic rise in minivans and then sport-utility vehicles in the last 15 years has made the station wagon almost extinct. Only Subaru's sporty all-wheel drive Outback wagons are selling well. Nearly all other automakers have thrown in the towel and switched from wagons to vans and sport-utilities.

As I test-drove the E320 Station Wagon, I couldn't help but think of Mercedes' own sport-utility, the ML320, and how much more it offers.

The ML320 comes with the same V-6 engine and five-speed transmission as well as standard all-wheel drive. It offers about the same level of equipment, yet... Read More