2008 E-Class

Consumer Reviews

2008 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

$3,876 - $17,160  MSRP Range
2008 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

63 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Mercedes-Benz E-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A car to "drive into the sunset"

by Retired from Philadelphia, PA on Tue Sep 06 2011

We let the first owner take the new car amortization hit. We get comfort and performance that will last for another 100,000 miles - which is 10 to 12 years at the rate we drive. Which means one of our grandkids may fall heir to this luxury ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car value and queslity

by Jonny from Los Gatos <CA on Wed Nov 04 2015

Great fit and finish. The wood work is fantastic. The leather still has no cracks or sign f wear. No mechanical issues so far. I love this model year E350. It has the classic look of original benz.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

E-350, excitement of this car hasn't gone away

by Rbm1993 from on Wed Apr 26 2017

Bought one used with 80,000 miles on it, have had no issues with it 20,000 miles later, so im having good luck with E-500 4matic. It handled the New-England winter just fine. 4matic(all wheel drive). The interior is really gorgeous it has good quality wood-grain on steering wheel, stick shift and part of the radio and dashboard. Good quality leather on the seats and on the dashboard and door-panels. This car is f****** smooth, the way it looks and the way it drives. Only thing I don't like about it is that it has VERY touchy breaks. You have to drive it smoothly at all times. The excitement for this car hasn't gone away after a year of driving. Once you go Benz, you never go back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2 wagon

by daddy'0 from Walnut Creek, CA on Tue Aug 23 2011

It was a lease return, low miles, real clean in and out. We had an older 2002 and this car is so much nicer. I got a good deal, would liked to have paid less, but wanted a good car. So I guess you can say you get what you pay for. Put 10,000 miles on it and so far no problems. The E-350 gets real good gas mileage for a car that size and sporty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CLASSY

by MK from Long Island on Tue Jun 24 2008

What a car ! Classy, smooth, powerful. Everything a luxury car should be. Just the right size and power combo. Huge trunk ! Great features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

E63 is the best car I ever owned!!!

by Igor from NC on Thu Mar 31 2011

I had BMW M5 2006 and E55 2006 and E63, the 6.2 engine is the best, the car is comfortable, fast and I love it!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My E350 RWD

by Seba from bloomingdale, IL on Tue Dec 01 2015

This engine is now famous for reliability, performance, and comfort. One of the last nice Bod styles... A living room inside.. And a Mercedes Star sticking out! Best Regards Sebastiano

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really cool car!

by E-class girl from Madison, MS on Mon Apr 11 2011

I have had several Mercedes over the years and decided it was time to pass my 2001 E class down to my husband and get something a little newer. I decided to go with the E350 Sport instead of the sedan. I am loving it! It drives more like a BMW but still has the beautiful interior I expect of the Mercedes. The only negative is that the mileage isn't quite as good as my 2001. I averaged 30mpg with the 2001 traveling and with the 2008 I get 27-28. Still great but wish it was better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

E-350 Wagon - Fantastic Car for family with kids

by Trifecta from Minneapolis on Tue Dec 23 2014

Bought 2008 E-350 Wagon 4Matic (6years old). This is my first luxury car. Definitely recommend getting pre-purchase inspection by Mercedes dealer. It takes 2.5 hours to complete but you will know everything about your future car. Car is comfortable to drive (drove for 8 hours on highway), plush inside, and looks great outside. By far the most favorite feature is the 3rd row seat - kids are constantly fighting to sit there. Due to car's weight, it is not the fastest car but if you want one, get E-500 version. That said E-350's power is quite adequate. Drawback (just one) - navigation screen graphics by 2014 standards look quite outdated. In summary, this is the best wagon you can get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Quick Sedan

by Former 911 Owner from Ky on Fri Oct 12 2007

Steering could have a better feedback. The brakes are strong but could have a little better modulation, they are a little grabby at times.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2008 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

The Mercedes-Benz E-Class includes a midsize sedan and wagon, offered with a choice of engines and all-wheel or rear-wheel drive. Apart from the V6 and two V-8 gasoline engines, a diesel version is also available: the E320 Bluetec. That's the 2008 model I tested. I'll address the E-Class sedan overall, along with the performance and implications of its diesel engine in these days of high gas prices, even higher diesel prices and technology that blasts any misconceptions you might hold about its power, noise, smell and pollution levels. See the feature differences among Mercedes-Benz E-Class trim levels in this side-by-side comparison.

 

Diesel vs. Gas
Why should you even consider a... Read More