2008 R-Class

Consumer Reviews

2008 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

$4,688 - $13,512  MSRP Range
2008 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2008 Mercedes-Benz R-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Dads limo

by R Class fan from Arizona on May 24, 2011

I purchased the R Class after looking for vehicle that had a useable third row without being a huge SUV. Now the R Class is no tiny car, it easily accommodates 6 adults in comfort, but I also turns on a dime and fits in my garage nicely. The gas mileage was a pleasant surprise at about 19 mpg in the city and about 26-28 mpg on the highway. I would buy one of these all over again. The ride is smooth and the interior is spacious and comfortable. The MB Tex leather cleans up with windex, so it's perfect for kids too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Satisfying

by The Family Car from Franklin Square, NY on December 28, 2010

The car is definitely a beautiful, and does live up to the standards of a Mercedes. The panaromic roof is amazing, and the all wheel drive is definitely good for the snow (have had first-hand experience). Compared to my previous car (Nissan Quest), it has less interior space, and can be tiring after a while. Regardless, it is definitely a great car for a small family. The luggage space is also a problem. If the rear seats are up, you do not have much space to place anything but 2 or three duffel bags. However, with the rear seats down, you have an ample amount of space.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very comfortable

by mercedes man from new jersey on April 28, 2011

Three members of my family have R-Class now. The all love the car and would buy one again. The children love the space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

R class rules!

by scottst from Atherton CA on September 24, 2012

R class is a wagon, it's (not) a minivan, it's a limo. Super comfortable, great seating all around, no sliding doors and Americans can't figure it out. That's why they are cheap and discontinued by Mercedes for USA. But still Built in Alabama for the world. You get a Mercedes Benz that is longer, lower and wider than an SUV. These are all things you want in a vehicle. It can seat 7 in comfort, three couples and a driver. It's our party machine. It's the car you want if you are sometimes going to be driven. It's a great hauler, somewhere between a 5 series wagon and a Sprinter. In Europe they have the Vito. Here we have the R Class. Well, we did anyway. We love this Mercedes!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MBenz R Class

by Consumer from California on January 20, 2008

Huge difference between loaded and non/ Also pay attention to the sun roof. It adds enormouse style and value to the car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by mrg from Jackson, MS on April 14, 2014

We were a little hesitant about buying this car after reading a few of the reviews in the R350 but the test drive and a review of the service record were great so we moved ahead and had it checked out. No issues and I can't think of a nicer car that I have ever owned for comfort, performance, or value. The cabin of the vehicle is designed to be a people mover and it does that better than any vehicle. We have recently owned or still have a T&C minivan, an Excursion, and a suburban. even though they all do an excellent job, the R500 is our preference. What was MB thinking when they discontinued them?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car for family

by Hi from CA Sacramento on June 24, 2017

best comfort for family and more spase airmatic navigation haman cordone aux best sound best selection PRND very smart car car take care about you you can shift comfort or sport best AC very cold and compfort best best best seats if you drive this car you will very relax if you need speed - car can to be fast! good car for this prise

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A car for everyone

by Just Love Cars from San Francisco, NY on December 3, 2012

We absolutely love this car. It's the most bang you'll get for you bucks. This car is perfect for everyday from going to work, meetings, pickup/drop off, to family events. It's spacious interior and stylish exterior won us over. I would highly recommend this car to everyone, especially to families. It's a great car to keep!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE Green Luxury Family Utility Vehicle

by JR from Princeton, NJ on September 26, 2007

With the 7 seat option now, if you are in the market for a luxury brand to haul a family of 5 + occasional/regular (!!!) guests, this is the must have. Having done my share of research on 7-Seater SUVs (MDX, Q7, GL etc.), I am not regretting my decision to buy this "Van or SUV" vehicle at all. I waited for 2 months after hearing about the 7 Seat option before picking up my 2008 R320 CDI on August 29th. We get all the 4WD benefits that the SUVs bring and most of the family comforts of a 7 seater Van including, most importantly, a good rear seat which seats adults and not people under 5' alone. Also, the Mercedes brand has its fair share of luxury inputs to this vehicle, which I can clearly see as distinguishing from the "real competition" of Siennas and Odysseys. There is no comparable competition for this unique vehicle which is defining its own category, which I think should be Family Utility Vehicle. They should club all those "Waanabe Cool Dude Vehicles" such as MDX, X5, Q7 et al in this category and make them poor runners-up for the R-Class. My suggestion, pay the additional $ 1,000 for the Diesel and you will not regret the fewer trips to the Gas Station. Its a little noisier and slower upto the 20 MPH zone, but after that, you cannot differentiate from a Gas Engine both in quiteness and power. The gain of 25% in fuel efficiency is worth it. You will also be happy on your being Green when you see your neighbours crib about Gas Mileage on their equivalent family hauling 4WDs!!! One con and a solution - The trunk is rather small. We have two kids and their Strollers eat into the trunk if we are fully loaded with 7 passengers. However, that did not stop us from our first long outing in this feature loaded car. We just decided to change the way we pack...more Soft Bags than structured rectangular suitcases and you should be all set.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car that I have ever owned

by youngblood from Kansas City, MO on August 20, 2010

We travel about 400 miles each weekend going back and forth to the lake where we keep a boat. This car is the best road vehicle I have ever owned. I traded a volvo cross county wagon that we loved for this car and find the R350 comfort and performance far superior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2