2000 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

$3,051 - $20,479  MSRP Range
2000 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

MOVING ON UP

by PREVIOUS JAGMAN from Wilmette, IL on Sun Sep 02 2012

With a one-time business bonus of $17 several years ago, I bought a fully restored, cherry '59 MGA roadster. Two years later, I sold it and bought a cherry '96 Jaguar XJS 6 cyl. convertible. Then sold that and bought a new Mitsubishi Eclipse V6 convertible. It was a pocket rocket, but better for a 17 yr old (I'm 74). I was pining for an '83 Fiat Spider roadster when I found the car of my dreams at a local Cadillac dealer. I traded the Mitsu w/ 5K miles for a 2000 Mercedes Benz SL500 V8 roadster with only 17K miles (!), which I've owned since February 2012. In retrospect, if I could have afforded it and had the garage space, I should have kept all of them. Let me tell you, when people speak reverently about German engineering, they are understating it. This car is sooo much more of a car than the Mitsu. It is solid! It is comfortable! It is beautiful! It is, as my wife says, "therapy" within which to drive and ride. The Jaguar was more suave in its looks, power and ride, but the Mercedes is every bit as good in a more Germanic way (and I'm Italian). I may revert to another Jaguar someday, but only after clocking many, many miles on the SL500.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highest Quality Convertible you can own.

by Top down from MO on Sun Apr 08 2018

Solid and unshakable. Nobody does it better than Mercedes. German engineering with a twist of fun. This body style is classic and built better than later models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Danijetpilot on Thu Jun 14 2018

Excellent engineering, makes it a technologically advanced car always ahead of it's time in safety features; beautiful styling gives it a timeless beauty no mater how old it is; exhilarating drive, great handling and great performance. Very reliable mechanically with no issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Dave from Indiana on Mon Apr 17 2017

Fun to drive and reliable. Gets pretty good mileage on the highway and respectable mileage in town.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DREAM CAR

by HOLLYWOOD from MANSFIELD,OHIO on Mon Apr 23 2012

DREAM COME TRUE NO DISAPPOINTMENTS AT ALL. CAR IS EVERYTHING I EXPECTED IT TO BE PLUS SOME. THE SL 600 IS AWESOME

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car with a couple problems

by Doc T from Palm Harbor, FL on Mon May 10 2010

I've had the car, a very low milage one, for about a year. It has great power and comfort. There were a couple problems, radio display, CD changer, and a plastic wheel well piece that needed repair. I guess it was just the age of the car. Overall, a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head turner!

by Coffey from Chg, il on Tue Apr 21 2009

I had a 03 S55, which i like very much, great performance, but give me a engine with row power over a Supercharge or Turbo engine any day! meanwhile this car will hold it value a lot longer and is much better to bet up on and a lot smaller. Both cars are a dream.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for a nice day

by Mr Merc from San Diego, CA on Thu Jul 07 2011

Love my SL500 convertible. Wonderfully balanced ride and power. The car has all the bells and whistles - heated seats, CD changer, hard top and soft top.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by SL experience from Delray Bch, FL. on Wed Oct 04 2017

what needs to be said about an SL500 that you don't know? It has been a sign of class ans style since it's inception!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

it wasnt how i thought it would be..

by akaferrari from sacramento, ca on Thu Sep 14 2017

the vehicle i test drove a 2000 sl500 and was a disappointment. the dealership didnt bother fixing the upholstery, so the interior wasnt good.besides a couple dings on da cosmetic the exterior was in an ok shape.performance wasnt what i expected it.the car is heavy n not enough H.P from take off,but did a lot better on the freeway. pick up speed is very good.handleling is very easy n rides nice...but i dont like the gas milage .i was payin attention to the fuel gauge n saw it move...the dealership had it priced at 3950 dollars as it...needs a new upholstery or fix the old one..minor dings but body is in very good condition..i wouldve bought it but couldnt come to an agreement.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2000 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

This car's got a mind of its own.

I am coming into Boston from the north on a wet day, up on the bridge just before the Fleet Center. Traffic's not bad, but there are vast puddles.

Don't tell my last driving instructor this, but I do not have my hands at the 10- and 2-o'clock positions on the wheel. I've got one hand draped over the wheel, trying to gently coax the car through the slop, feeling what it wants to do. But something else is driving the car. I hit a puddle, and the car slows and corrects itself to keep going straight ahead.

I hit a steel expansion joint on the bridge, and whatever slight traces of spin that wet steel imparts to the rear-drive wheels is picked up and the car goes into... Read More