2005 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

$4,172 - $32,968  MSRP Range
2005 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best convertible ever

by BlackSL55AMG from Seattle, WA on Mon Aug 29 2011

I started looking for a hard top convertible at the beginning of the year and settled on the Mercedes SL class after driving many others (including the SLK series). From there, it was just a quest to find the right options (pano roof, burl walnut interior, KeylessGO, and black on black). Originally debated between the SL500 and newer SL550 models but then drove one of the SL55 AMG's. OMG! There's no comparison. True...the SL500 or 550 is no slouch but with such a heavy car, all the added horsepower (493HP!) in the SL55 makes it sing. Honestly, it's really hard to drive it without a big, stupid grin on my face. :) I got pulled over once and, after giving me a warning, the cop dropped the official act and said, "So...how do you like it?" and we talked about cars for a few before he had to go. If you buy either of these models, be sure to invest in a battery charger, especially one of those that can provide a jump start when traveling. I had a slow drain going and had to call road service way out in a remote area since it wouldn't start. Lesson learned. All in all, if you're looking for a finely made convertible that will turn heads and give your friends serious car envy, invest in a 2005 or newer SL class. If you want all that PLUS neck snapping G force, paddle shifters, and 0 to 60 in 4.6 seconds, make it an SL55 AMG.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If you only do it once

by Bead Man from Mesa, AZ/ BC Canada on Sat Feb 19 2011

I did not realize how good the SL500 was until I had one! It is a finely made smooth running 'machine' - not just a car. Wow - I smile every time I even look at it, get at least one 'nice car' comment a day and am amazed at the solid feel, strong acceleration and way it stops and sticks to the corners. Throw it into a tight turn and no tilt, no roll - just like on rails. A beautiful work of engineering and convenience features that exceeded my expectations. Parts prices are expensive, but durability is good, so long term it's worth every penny. I bought a higher mileage one owner 2005 as it was in my budget and expect it will satisfy me for years - don't see how you could improve on an automobile more than the SL500 Certainly, if circumstances ever allow - go for it, this car will satisfy your every automobile need!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes does it again

by kap21650 from Signal Hill, Ca on Tue Apr 15 2008

I have owned 3 SL models, this car is nothing like previous SL's. What a car, handling is amazing, performance is great, I smile every time I drive the car. Quality is first class, dealer support is great. The Sport package is well worth the extra cost. Great deal used, under warrenty 50% of new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I ever owned

by mercedes 3 tony from Ohio on Sat Nov 05 2011

This my third Mercedes! I still have the other two and love them all. I bought my first Mercedes E class new in 1985 . My 500 ML is great! This Sl-500 is outrageous!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Used 2005 Mercedes SL500 with 63k miles

by Sam Cranders from Houston, TX on Sun May 21 2017

Very clean vehicle, had lots of previous owners, but all the history was present and fully disclosed, 2005 SL500 with only 63k miles was a rare find, great value, great price ($18,000), great performance, and free oil changes for life from Bemer Motorcars in Houston, TX.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing ride!! Best car I've ever driven

by Cory from North Carolina on Sat May 07 2016

This car is not only beautiful but fun to drive. It is definitely an eye catcher. I have had people stop me in parking lots to ask me about it. I love to be the first car at a stop light and to feel the power what I hit the gas pedal. Putting the top down is like watching the movie Transformers, with the push of a button you feel like you are in a completely different vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by GAC from Chicago on Mon Jun 04 2012

i have had a BMW650, but this SL600 so far and 2700 miles later is something else. The V12 and twin turbo will make you feel young specially with the hard top down. What a car.....Enjoy if you can

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Mercedes SL 500 dream car.

by MBSL500 from Dover,NH on Sun Oct 01 2017

This SL 500 is the smoothest, peppiest and most comfortable automobile I have ever owned. It is a dream to drive. Even the glove compartment is air-conditioned and the seats have massage up & down your back resulting in the ultimate comfort when driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Tonygcc from frederick md on Mon May 08 2017

It's an amazing car to drive, it takes a little getting use to. I like it how easy it is to let the top down. It is very fast and very sweet and also great on corners

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Convertible Cruiser

by Benz Lover from Cleveland, OH on Tue May 15 2018

Fun to Drive. Drives well. Nice interior. Not the biggest fan of Active Body Control. Wheel balancing is extremely sensitive on this car and not all shops, even dealers (KC comes to mind), can get it right. A highly engineered vehicle means often expensive repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

There is something distinctly epochal about the Mercedes-Benz SL65 AMG, the twin-turbocharged, 12-cylinder, 604-horsepower version of the company's quantum-luxury roadster. More powerful than the Ford GT and quicker than a Ferrari 360, the SL65 - an SL600 with gene-doping enhancement by AMG, the company's tuner division - feels like a final, conflict-ending fusillade in the decade-long horsepower wars.

What comes after a car like this? More horsepower? I don't think so. While it's certainly possible to wring more horsepower out of an emissions-legal gasoline engine, such pursuits grow increasingly expensive and irrelevant, if not vain and silly. The SL65 is less than a second slower to 60 mph than... Read More