2009 Cooper

Consumer Reviews
2009 MINI Cooper

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

29 Reviews
2009 MINI Cooper
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Adore this car

by MiniFan from Seattle on December 4, 2009

This is such a fantastic car to own. I reluctantly had to sell mine because I got a car with my job but when i need a car again, I will invest in another Mini. When you add the options you want, you couldn't have a better car (of course that is my opinion). Safe, reliable, great re-sale value, fun, easy to park, great mileage & the list goes on!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Long time since I feel in love with a car.

by Sheldon Cooper from Myrtle Beach on May 30, 2014

After finally paying off my 2004 Xterra I knew I wanted something a little more gas friendly. The Mini's always caught my eye (always been a car guy) and seen a few around town in the "wild" but not up close. I checked out a couple and although they were nice they were all 2006-2007 models with automatics and sun roofs and in the standard color/ vinyl stripe scheme. I seen my mini 2009 s series with 44K miles. Red with black top and trim, but with white rally stripes on the hood. It has a 6 speed manual trans with a water cooled turbo, leather seats with black/ gery and chrome checkered interior. Just Beautiful. Quicker than ever imagined, and even though you have to run premium in them the trade off in gas mileage is well worth it. Love it, the maintenance is a little higher, (synthetic oil premium gas) and it is not a shade tree mechanic service car but it is a great piece of kid gloves machinery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small Car With Big Value

by MMM from CT on January 31, 2012

My MINI has a sporty feel with great handling and, even though premium fuel is recommended, it seems to go further on a tankful of gas. It has a surprisingly comfortable ride for a small car and is just plain fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super small car

by Mini mad lady from Wakefield on December 16, 2012

I have had my Mini Cooper diesel for 2 months and I cant praise it enough ! Its fun to drive, very nippy when needed, holds the road brilliantly and it's cheap to run..what more can you ask for !! The boot holds my weekly shopping with no problem and I just love it... best car I've ever bought..cant praise it enough.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast, Fun, kidney busting stiff ride

by Cooper S Owner from Denver Co on August 15, 2008

Great run around town car, fun to drive, but trips over 30 min become tedious because of the kidney busting stiff ride and the hard seats.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by NH Cooper from NH on July 9, 2009

Love the looks, I get excited to drive just seeing it in the garage. Zippy and sticky, great in the twisties. Quirky interior grows on you quickly. Heated leather sport seats, very comfortable around town and on long drives (my record 26 hours straight, gas stops only). The automatic climate control is great. 10k miles and not a single problem. Averages about 38 mpg, and up to 44 on long highway trips, well over 500 miles on a tank.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most car for the money that I could find.

by JT from Chicago, IL on April 27, 2017

Built by BMW and very nicely designed, styled, and well-built. Very fun to drive. If you feel the need for speed opt for the S model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for commuting around

by AussieDingo from Denver, CO on August 23, 2009

Love this car, always wanted a mini and couldn't afford it until now. Such a fun little car to drive around. Lots of space to fit the shopping in and the kids. Just take a test drive and you will know how much fun it is to drive these little cute cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, great city car, fantastics MPG

by Mini Commuter from Denver, CO on March 22, 2009

I bought the base cooper fully loaded and can't be happier. After 9500 miles with 0 issues and averaging a combined 36 mpg while commuting 48 miles per day, I am convinced that this is the best commuter car I've ever owned. Handles like a go cart and brakes on a dime. The interior is very comfortable (at least for the driver) and controls are easy to get used to. Even though it gets better gas mileage that most econocars, there is no comparison. The daily commute in a Mini is much more rewarding that driving an appliance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute Fun Car

by vvanvlym from Martinsville, In on January 3, 2010

I bought my 2009 mini cooper s 3 mths ago. This car is really fun to drive and feels firm on the road. Every where I go people take a double look. Handling is excelant & I like my interior which has the beige leather, brushed aluminum & chrome trim . Interior pace is better than most people think (for people in front). Can't wait for the new 2011 Sports Coupe. My only complaint would be the transparent screen that covers the sun roof. When its hot & sunny would be nice to stop the sun rays completely. So far so good. As long as this cars holds up on repairs, this will be my car (or the sports coupe) for some time, Way to go mini!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2009 MINI Cooper