2009 Cooper

Consumer Reviews

2009 MINI Cooper

$2,572 - $10,492  MSRP Range
2009 MINI Cooper

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

34 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 MINI Cooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Long time since I feel in love with a car.

by Sheldon Cooper from Myrtle Beach on Fri May 30 2014

After finally paying off my 2004 Xterra I knew I wanted something a little more gas friendly. The Mini's always caught my eye (always been a car guy) and seen a few around town in the "wild" but not up close. I checked out a couple and although they were nice they were all 2006-2007 models with automatics and sun roofs and in the standard color/ vinyl stripe scheme. I seen my mini 2009 s series with 44K miles. Red with black top and trim, but with white rally stripes on the hood. It has a 6 speed manual trans with a water cooled turbo, leather seats with black/ gery and chrome checkered interior. Just Beautiful. Quicker than ever imagined, and even though you have to run premium in them the trade off in gas mileage is well worth it. Love it, the maintenance is a little higher, (synthetic oil premium gas) and it is not a shade tree mechanic service car but it is a great piece of kid gloves machinery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small Car With Big Value

by MMM from CT on Tue Jan 31 2012

My MINI has a sporty feel with great handling and, even though premium fuel is recommended, it seems to go further on a tankful of gas. It has a surprisingly comfortable ride for a small car and is just plain fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast, Fun, kidney busting stiff ride

by Cooper S Owner from Denver Co on Fri Aug 15 2008

Great run around town car, fun to drive, but trips over 30 min become tedious because of the kidney busting stiff ride and the hard seats.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by NH Cooper from NH on Thu Jul 09 2009

Love the looks, I get excited to drive just seeing it in the garage. Zippy and sticky, great in the twisties. Quirky interior grows on you quickly. Heated leather sport seats, very comfortable around town and on long drives (my record 26 hours straight, gas stops only). The automatic climate control is great. 10k miles and not a single problem. Averages about 38 mpg, and up to 44 on long highway trips, well over 500 miles on a tank.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, great city car, fantastics MPG

by Mini Commuter from Denver, CO on Sun Mar 22 2009

I bought the base cooper fully loaded and can't be happier. After 9500 miles with 0 issues and averaging a combined 36 mpg while commuting 48 miles per day, I am convinced that this is the best commuter car I've ever owned. Handles like a go cart and brakes on a dime. The interior is very comfortable (at least for the driver) and controls are easy to get used to. Even though it gets better gas mileage that most econocars, there is no comparison. The daily commute in a Mini is much more rewarding that driving an appliance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute Fun Car

by vvanvlym from Martinsville, In on Sun Jan 03 2010

I bought my 2009 mini cooper s 3 mths ago. This car is really fun to drive and feels firm on the road. Every where I go people take a double look. Handling is excelant & I like my interior which has the beige leather, brushed aluminum & chrome trim . Interior pace is better than most people think (for people in front). Can't wait for the new 2011 Sports Coupe. My only complaint would be the transparent screen that covers the sun roof. When its hot & sunny would be nice to stop the sun rays completely. So far so good. As long as this cars holds up on repairs, this will be my car (or the sports coupe) for some time, Way to go mini!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My new to me mini Cooper

by Mini on Mon Jan 22 2018

I love the look of this car. It is great on gas and it handles great. I love to feel like I can zip in and out of traffic and fit to park anywhere. The convertible top is easy to put up and down. I am very pleased with this fun car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for commuting around

by AussieDingo from Denver, CO on Sun Aug 23 2009

Love this car, always wanted a mini and couldn't afford it until now. Such a fun little car to drive around. Lots of space to fit the shopping in and the kids. Just take a test drive and you will know how much fun it is to drive these little cute cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorite cars I've owned!

by JGerm2 from Rochester, New York on Fri Jan 26 2018

I think this vehicle is so much fun to drive! It's so much more spacious on the inside then it looks from the outside. The features are great! Loved my heated seats! Everything about this car I absolutely love!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I've owned

by Pop66 on Sat Jul 15 2017

Averaged 39MPG, made those pain in the butt roundabouts a gas. Drove it from Wisconsin to Miami, Fl once and to Colorado Springs twice. Handled and rode great. Looking for another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2009 MINI Cooper


What’s an “Openometer” gauge?

Answer: About the most useless item on a Mini Cooper convertible.

It’s a gauge right in front of the driver that gives a truly useless bit of automotive driving feedback: The time you’ve been driving with the convertible top down. Sorry, we’re not making this up.

We learned to love a convertible the old-fashioned way. If the sun’s too hot, put the top up and turn on the A/C. (Hmmm. My ’54 Ford Sunliner didn’t have A/C, either). If it’s too cold, put the top up and turn on the heat. If you’re too windblown for your evening out, put up the top and use the visor mirror to brush your hair.

An Openometer? C’mon.

The... Read More