2011 Cooper

Consumer Reviews

2011 MINI Cooper

$4,556 - $14,132  MSRP Range
2011 MINI Cooper

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 MINI Cooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best comfort and Great Mileage

by Once Confused Now Know from West Palm Beach on Sun Apr 03 2011

I owned a BMW before and was using over $60 in gas a week. I wanted something more economical and considered other vehicles. I didn't consider a Mini until I saw a few around town. I went to the dealer and they were terrific and I described what I was looking for and they refered me to the Mini. The outside was exactly what I wanted and the interior was more than I thought. The ride is very smooth, you don't feel the bumps as I thought or even holes. The interior offers so much comfort and the back seas has more room than I imagined. Even though it doesn't have the pick up as my BMW it is a great vehicle even for long trips. The gas mileage is wonderful! Good things come in small packages.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

OK car, but there are more pratical alternatives.

by Practical Sam from Omaha, NE on Sat Aug 20 2011

A very cute car that handles like a go-kart. MPG averaging 35, but Mini specifies premium fuel. So, that reduces economy. Car has 47K with few major problems. Appears to wear out tires quickly, especially original run-flats. Just changed front brakes. Expected harsh ride with short wheelbase and stiff suspension. Didn't expect it to be as uncomforable on highway as it is. Ride makes it difficult to enjoy longer trips. Interior controls are illogical and difficult to use. I do some of my own maintenance, and have found even changing oil requires special tools and is more difficult than my Hondas. Buy it as a sports car, not for utility or economy. Would not recommend the Mini as a #1 car. There are more versatile models available.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A nice change of pace...and car.

by simple car driver from dallas, tx on Wed May 11 2011

I traded in my lux station wagon for a more pure-driving machine. The mileage is great! I am seeing as-good if not better-than rated mileage. The space reduction is a little tough, but I rarely-- if ever-- needed all of the space in the wagon. I got the standard transmission, and man is it fun to drive. I now have a lot more space in the garage too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mini Cooper S

by Mini cooper #1 fan from Huntsville, Al on Mon Oct 31 2011

Awesome car, great mpg, looks great super fast, makes me feel young again lol!!!! Great for long trips or just getting around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun

by Cutie from East Haddam, Ct. on Fri May 20 2011

I bought this car for fun times and so far it has been a great conversation starter. People love the "cuteness" of it and other cooper drivers want to talk about their positive experiences.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Roll cage and made very well quality steel

by Kat-lulu mini from Copperopolis, ca. on Wed Oct 26 2011

This is a very well made Auto, wish it had larger cup holders phone dock and sun glass holder. Something a lot of other made vehicles have but the doors r very heavy, I feel very safe compared to my moms rava Toyota.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW Visalia

by Scruffdog from Visalia California on Mon Feb 17 2014

I was driving a Fiat for roughly 5 months to commute 2 1/2 hours to work for the week. Although I liked the gas mpg's, I found myself sore after riding this distance. I began looking for a more comfortable car with good mpg's and found my 2011 dealer owned Mini at Visalia BMW. My experience shopping and test driving the vehicle was great. No pressure sales and professional service. Thanks Shayne and Brad for delivering to me a stylish, comfortable, economical, and affordable Mini Cooper. The ride is unbelievable as well as the acceleration and handling. I have been driving for over 30 years and find my Mini the most enjoyable ride I have purchased. I give an A+ to the team at Visalia BMW!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very expensive to maintain

by SoMuchFur on Fri Dec 22 2017

I love the look of it, but after about two years it really goes downhill. It needs a lot of maintenance and it costs a lot of money. If you have the money to drop thousands of dollars a year to maintain it, then it’s a fantastic car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Much more fun than a sedan

by Chris from Martinsburg on Sun Feb 11 2018

I've had it for a couple of weeks now, and there hasn't been any troubles. The only quirk so far is when I try to close the door, I have to do it just right or it doesn't close; too much power or too little just refuses to make a seal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

6'4" and still have plenty of room

by Mini Convert from Austin, TX on Tue Aug 16 2011

2011 MINI Cooper Hardtop is a blast to drive. It feels like a true sports car but is functional and has plenty of room. Pros- Ride is comfortable Iphone Compatible Push Button Start Racing Stripes!!!! Plenty of Power Great Gas Mileage Cons- Back seats are a little small Cargo area is a little small Overall a great car that is fun to drive. With almost 40mpg you can't beat it. The warrantee is unmatched by any other car company. Definitely something I always wanted. Even my wife became a fan after driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2