2011 Cooper S Countryman

Consumer Reviews
2011 MINI Cooper S Countryman

Change Vehicle
4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

22 Reviews
2011 MINI Cooper S Countryman
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My dream car!

by minilove from Baltimore, MD on February 22, 2013

I've always loved the old british mini's and when the Countryman came out, I thought it was too good to be true! Since we had a baby, I didn't thing a standard cooper would be big enough, but the Countryman is perfect and SEXY! First of all, people who buy automatic transmission cars should not buy a mini. They are meant to be performance vehicles and they are definitely WAY more fun to drive with a manual transmission! I am a woman and even I know its a travesty to opt for a transmission when buying a motor like this! My only two negatives are relatively minor things: the cup holders are in a bad spot where you often can't comfortably fit a drink (especially when driving manual) and the visors are two small to really be helpful in blocking the sun if its coming from the side. Other than that - this car is the best!! And you would not believe how many strangers come up to me and ask about it all the time! If you want average, go get a camry. If you want something you will LOVE driving, get a MINI!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Nice Car but Unreliable

by RegretbuyingaMini from Florida on July 24, 2013

Car was great during 1rst year of ownership and the styling is quite attractive. Once my teenage daughter got a hold of it and racked on miles, frequent visits to the dealer started to happen. I bought the Countryman S in Feb of 2011. So far this year 2013, it has been in the shop 3 times for warranty work, and once for service. Considering the dealer is about 50 minute drive from my home or business, I am considering to unload this vehicle due to reliability issues. I own 4 other vehicles and none give me problems like this Mini has. I was suspicious of the French engine that is installed in these Minis, made by Peugot & BMW. The Peugot engines are not known for building quality product. If you like frequent visits to the dealer and wasting your time, then this is the car for you.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Functional and Fun

by Bimmer Devotee from Colorado on February 1, 2012

I recently acquired a previously owned 2011 MINI Cooper Countryman S. I was looking for a fun, moderately priced, well outfitted vehicle that would perform well in the mountains and in inclement weather. I own a couple of BMWs and was ready to "branch out" to a MINI Cooper. I wanted an all wheel drive vehicle that I could get in and out of without being a contortionist. The Countryman S fit the bill. Interestingly during the course of my search, there were only 3 vehicles in the state of Colorado within the classification I was looking for. Using Cars.com to locate suitable examples made my search much easier and negotiating a price faster. I am entirely satisfied with the vehicle I purcased, the purchase price and the acquisition process.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Mini Countryman

by Scottreay from Denver, CO on April 18, 2018

Man, You really do feel the power behind this weightless all wheel drive countryman S. Efficient and competitive in so many angles. Super comfortable inside with multicolored lighting options to really the mood. I also like the interior/exterior products online. Best all around car I own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MINI 4ever

by More thank just a Car from Md on January 2, 2012

The best AWD around, not too small not too big its just right. You will not stop smiling. I hoe they make this car for a long time to come!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun you could have in a daily driver

by Mark from Pepperwood on June 18, 2018

For the last 5 years, I've daily drove a MINI Countryman S and it has been the best daily ever I could ask for. The Countryman also offers plenty of space for my wife and two kids on the weekends if we take a road trip or just hop in for a drive. The MINI has never let me down and always put a smile on my face. I'd highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Blast to drive

by Mario from Miami, Fl on October 21, 2013

Went from an AUDI A4 2.8 and find more punch out of the turbo 1.6 liter engine. It is also more responsive than most european cars. Love driving it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car with many options

by Kendall from Denver, CO on June 24, 2011

1) If you are going to buy the car make sure to try the standard and upgraded seats. I think people with the standard seats are the ones saying it's uncomfortable to sit in, I have cloth/leather seats and they are great. 2) The AWD works really well, even though it's not full time. 3) I find the car way easier to get in and out of than the standard MINI. 4) MINI Connected with the backup sensor option gives you a really cool backing up display showing where things are behind you, great if you have small kids. Basically, I am really enjoying this car and think it's the perfect mid ground of size between larger SUV's and compacts. If you are thinking to buy do some research beforehand as there are a LOT of possible options for any MINI!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Countryman is the best Mini I have owned

by Luv my mini from Scottsdale, AZ on January 4, 2011

I have had a Cooper, Cooper S Conv. and now the Countryman. The ride is luxurious, it is fun to drive and fits the whole family. Way to go Mini!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Car rides like a Jeep

by Gymbuddy2 from Texas on August 1, 2011

-Stationary Cup Holder location (front)-too small for all but exact fitting cups. Spring loaded holders tear styrofoam cups. -Removable cup holders-too wide externally to fit in front rail. Emergency Brake cant fully engage. -Cell phone holder not real world pratical. Opt for different options- don?t get the cup holder package-money wasted, aftermarket cheaper, better. -Sun visors are too small and don't cover enough of side window. Are not adjustable to slide, like in a Volkswagon or Kia. -AC vents sit back in hole and when turned down to cool body, only hits upper chest and not the body. -Window controls are awkward and have to take eye off road to see which ones control which window. -Rear view mirror hangs lower than expected and not adjustable (move back up against glass) and blocks traffic light view- have to move my head to look around rearview. Plastic housing is too wide. I removed to increase view-helps some. -Glove box is square box and everything falls out when open unless its contents are completely flat. Dealer options include shelves, but takes up lots of space. AC in glove box serves no real purpose. -Difficult viewing out rear window with rear head rest. Dealer option is rear sensor-no camera, add another $1,000k -Rear seats do not fold flat and have to adjust front seats forward. Awkward method to engage. Have to reach into vehicle and pull strap from inside -Poor interior night time lighting in trunk. -RIDE: Very Choppy. Dont be fooled by salesman about performance. My Kia Rio had a smoother ride. Lots of pings, loudly, over small potholes and rough road. Lots and lots of road noise heard under the vehicle in the back seats while I was driving. Sounds like a tin can. -TRANSMISSION (Automatic) : There is a about a 1.5 second delay from complete stop to start if you try to jack-rabbit the gas pedal when, for example, pulling out into traffic or trying to make a quick turn from oncoming traffic. MUST have a rolling start in this situation. Tester Vehicle from lot has been broken in 10k miles. Mine new and still problem with delay at 3k(2 months). Test drive in stop and go traffic NOT just on the highway!!! I drive with the DSC (traction control) off, per salesmans? suggestion, to increase responsiveness of transmission. Helps some but now a safety concern. -Next the car transitions between gears very rough when driving in downtown traffic that makes it feel like you?re in a stick shift. Don't be surprised if you think you?re getting motion sickness because until you get used to the vehicle, thats what happens. -Backing up, there is also a delay, almost like the vehicle is thinking before the transmission is engaged. -Side mirrors are position too low on the doors. They need to move up about an inch in next model. -City/Highway driving after 3000 miles is about 22 MPG. Highway driving is about 27 MPG. Far below what the sticker says. -Insurance rate will most like go up because parts are VERY expensive, per State Farm. -Not made for towing anything at all or worth the $600 bike rack option on the rear. Bike Roof rack decreases mileage significantly -Radio features are not touch screen but have to use a mouse-like dial. Takes some getting used to and still not all that great. -Sun roof has no panel to close off light from coming in just the screen. In hot sun car gets hot because it never covers completely. Don?t park in sun with moon roof or prepare to bake. Takes long time to cool down car. -Shifter panels on steering wheel are awkward. -Not enough compartment space in front or rear to hold stuff. -Rear brake lights lowly dimmed during the day. Hard to see brake lights if sun light is hitting them until you are up close. -No lock on glove box. -No beep on security door lock with remote, just flashing parking lights. -Opening door from inside, you have to pull twice. -Plastic on bumper really soft plastic. you can push your fingernail into plastic and make a mark. Overall-Definitely over priced. Try leasing, not

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

29 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3